Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa Rica

Noone in charge. Ignorance.dishonesty

Posted Dec 10, 2016
They would not provide a receipt because they denied keeping $88.91 that was accidentally overbooked by hotel one. Staff was ignorant or dishonest. Some acted distracted.troubled. credit card is making inquiry/investigation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Good location hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: The location and price.
Cons: The showers need to work better. There was either extremely hot water or there was cold water - no inbetween. The waitresses seem indifferent.
Location: The hotel is right in the middle of the town so it is close to everything.
I stayed for 3 nights and it is a good price along with breakfast. The waitresses seem indifferent to getting your food and they were not serving dinner as it was the low season. The first morning there was only cold showers and after talking with the staff the shower became either extremely hot or very cold - nothing inbetween. The room was clean and had a view of the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Wi-Fi access
Close to everything. In town, clean. Nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great budget option

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Cute, feels vacation-y.
Cons: Staff's knowledge of local information relevant to travelers. Sign says "TV in Every Room," our room lacked a TV as did all the others we saw.
Location: Hiking, surfing, scuba diving, snorkeling, horseback riding, ziplining, fishing...
The room was a great value and offered everything we needed. Given the low price point, we had budget questions that the staff were unable to help with (such as local bus schedules), but overall, they were pleasant and accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very oppresive

Posted Mar 7, 2016
restaurant area was nice, staff ok but rooms had no ventilation, hence mould everywhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with beautiful courtyard

Posted Feb 1, 2016
I really enjoyed this hotel, however, the bedroom we had was on the interior of the hotel and no daylight. Because of that its not a room you'd want to relax in. The room was extremely clean and it had lovely painting, the whole hotel felt very cared for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, but noisy. Surprise key deposit

Posted Mar 3, 2015
The hotel is right in the centre of Montezuma, so you can't beat the location. It's a quick five minute walk to the main beach. Guests also have access to the sister Ylang Ylang resort's pool, but be warned -- it's another 15 minute walk or so, which sounds fine in theory but can be harder under mid-day sun on scorching sand. It's also worth noting that the hotel has a $100 key deposit -- you obviously get your money back, but this surprisingly large deposit is not listed anywhere on Expedia or on the hotel website
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg FL

Convenient location

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach, beach, beach.
We had a great room with a window (overlooking the roof, however) but the couple we were with had a smaller room with a window painted on the wall. We were happy, they were not. We found the hotel a great place to stay for the money. Montezuma doesn't have many options, but even if there were we would consider this hotel. We found it quiet at night and the movies they show a nice alternative for the evening. We ate at other restaurants but liked theirs the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola Beach

Great hotel, right downtown

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: People, food, room, hot water, air conditioning all worked great.
Cons: Ventilation in the bathroom.
Location: Great food throughout town, lots of adventure options but be very careful who you work with.
Montezuma is definitely a funky place. This hotel was a great find. Moderate price, great staff, great food, really good hot water and water pressure, cold air conditioning. If you want a view from your room, this is not the place for you, windows open on walls or interior spaces. However, this makes the rooms very quiet and keeps them cool. Beds were very comfortable, reasonable pillows. Decor is Flintstones meets the rainforest, you feel a bit in a cave, but the murals are nice. Room comes with access to their sister resort, Ylang-ylang. Down the beach a walk, more than twice as expensive, absolutely spectacular but small pool. Great lizards, and monkeys wandering by. Don't pass on going over. Be very careful of the tour arrangers in town multiple reports of ripoffs, particularly on ATV rentals keeping your deposit by claiming damage. We had problems with the one across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, alberta

Perfect hotel in "downtown" montezuma

Posted Jan 14, 2015
We had a wonderful stay here. It's right downtown (which is basically just a road) but is not noisy at all! The staff were so great - very welcoming and friendly every time we saw them. The breakfast is great - you get to pick off of a menu of ~10 items (the banana pancakes were the best) with a drink as well. We didn't eat at the restaurant because there were other great cheaper places in town (soda monte sol is highly recommended). The best part of this hotel is that you pay minimal amounts and get to go to ylang ylang (very fancy resort) to use their beautiful pool when you get sick of the beach!! Overall and excellent experience and I would stay here again for site!