Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad, but could have been cleaner

Posted Apr 3, 2017
The sheets on the bed didn't look like they had been washed for us. Bed was average comfort, not great. Otherwise, hotel and room were in good condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
Hi, We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had with us. Everything should have been washed prior to your arrival. We will certainly pass this on to Housekeeping. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable while here please let us know. We would have been more than happy to change the linens or move you to a different room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very clean hotel, great staff

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The beds were soft, the pool was warm and the hot tub was nice.
Cons: Add biscuits and gravy to the breakfast.
Location: I was in town for equine massage certification classes so I did not spend any time going out and about.
This hotel was amazing for the price. The staff was very helpful when we had questions. The beds were the most comfortable that we have ever stayed in. I would definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to anyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
Good Morning, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to let our staff know your comments. They always like hearing that their efforts were appreciated. We do serve biscuits and gravy on Sunday morning, but I will look into seeing if this is something that is feasible every day or not. Hope to see you again soon! Thanks,
5 out of 5
by Timothy

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you very much for the 5 star review. We certainly appreciate it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know if there is any thing we can do for you in the future. Hope to see you again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

looks good but

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: the staff
Cons: maintenance
Hotel staff very helpful. Room - the side lamps did not work, nor the ice machine on second floor and the pull for drape came down whilst opening drape. Felt like maintenance may be a problem as sign for third floor ice machine was up but no ice machine on this floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
Good Morning, I apologize for the inconvenience of the ice machine not working on second floor. The hotel has nothing to do with the vending machines or the ice machines. We do not collect any money from them nor do we service them. This is provided by the company that supplies the vending equipment and are provided merely as a courtesy to our guests. Thank you for letting us know it does not work, we have contacted them to fix it. We have decided to turn the area where the vending machines were located on 3rd floor into a sitting area for guests. The machines on 3rd floor were hardly ever used and so we decided to make better use of the space. We are aware that the current signage still shows an ice machine being on 3rd floor. New signage has been ordered that no longer shows an ice machine on 3rd floor but it must stay up until the new one arrives. Thank you as well for letting the front desk know about your concerns with the side lamps and the drapes. Sometimes things will break in a room and we aren't always aware of it. We do preventative maintenance every day, but with 68 rooms in the hotel, it takes a month to visit every room. Things can break in the intervening time. Please let the desk know about any issues you have. Maintenance could have stopped in your room for 15 minutes to fix your issues. We could have moved you to a different room if we were unable to fix things immediately. Bottom line there was no reason why you had deal with broken items. We want you to be completely satisfied with your stay, please let us know when their are problems so that we can fix them.
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Andy, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review. We appreciate your staying.
4 out of 5
by gb

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thanks for letting us know what you thought of your stay. We really want you to leave us a 5 star review. Please let us know next time you stay with us how we can make that happen for you. See you again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Overall the stay was good. The only thing that was a bit disconcerting was when my son dropped a peanut on the floor that we didn't see right away. About 10 minutes later the peanut was crawling with ants. I cleaned them up and picked up all of our things off of the floor. Really creeped out after that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review for us. We are sorry to hear your stay was less than satisfactory. Please by all means, if you are unsatisfied with your stay for any reason, we would love the opportunity to make it right for you. Please let the front desk know if there are any issues whatsoever. Once you have left there isn't anything we can do anymore and we don't want you to leave unhappy. We hope we will see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy! Near a railroad track!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Close to Big Lake. Nice breakfast.
Very soft beds and thin walls. Very difficult to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Sorry to hear you didn't have a better stay. I know it can be inconvenient to let the desk know you are not enjoying your stay, but that's what we are here to do. Make sure you enjoy being here. By all means please let us that you are not enjoying your stay so that we can take action to make it better for you. We would be more than happy to move you to a room on the other side of the hotel. It's never inconvenient for us to make this switch for you. Pro Tip-Ask for a room on the other side of the tracks if you are a light sleeper. Usually the train is not a bother to "normal" or heavy sleepers. It doesn't blow its horn while going through town it just passes through on the other side of the highway. Also ear plugs are available if needed. Again we are very sorry to hear about your experience. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Comfortable

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Orbitz
We thought the hotel was clean, comfortable and was good for our needs. We needed a place to stay when roads got icy heading up north, and we thought overall it is very comparable to a Country Inn and Suites type hotel. Staff was friendly during check-in and we have no complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Glad we could accommodate your needs during your stay. Thank you for the kind words and for letting others know how much you enjoyed staying here.
3 out of 5
by Benjamin

not that great. inconvenient location

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
we had issues with 25$ deposit. they didn't accept cash or prepaid credit card. our debit didn't work on their system and I thought we'd have to go find another place to stay even though we already paid for the room. when requesting crib they wanted to charge us for it as well which we've never have been charged for before athe other better hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and leaving a review of the hotel. We are very sorry that you found it inconvenient that we do not accept prepaid debit cards as a form of payment. I don't know any reputable hotel that would accept a prepaid card as a form of payment. To address your concern about cash we do accept cash as a form of payment but only at the time of checkout. You must have a valid debit or credit card on file that pre-authorizes for the length of your stay though before you can check in. A prepaid gift card is not a valid debit or credit card. I would recommend you contact your bank as it was not the hotel that rejected your payment. When traveling from Canada, or any other country, I would highly recommend not using a prepaid card. I would further recommend you inform your bank that you will be traveling so that they can unlock your debit or credit card for use in the US. Many card issuers will block transactions made outside of a certain radius from your home on principal. You live in Canada why would you be making a transaction in Minnesota. Your card issuer blocks it to prevent fraud.