Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Close to Montpasrness station. Easy to travel around paris. Also good restaurants in neighborhoods.
4 out of 5
by Claire

Convenient and functional hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel, toilet seat was broken and wifi didn't work but all other amenities were good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Experience!

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you to post a positive comment. We are touched that your stay was at the live up to your expectations. We and hope to welcome you soon. Best regards. The team of reception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Bastille

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Splendid
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour se soit bien passé et qu'il fut à la hauteur de vos attentes. Nous vous remercions et espérons vous accueillir très prochainement au sein de notre hôtel. Toutes nos plus chaleureuses salutations. L'équipe de l'Hôtel de la Gaité.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Really good location would recommend to anyone, was worried it was not going to be good. So glad I booked it, surrounding area is really nice in terms of bars, cafe, restaurants. Nearest metro is Edgar quinet, found it was cheaper to buy from the people at the counter than a carnet. Only thing is needed to pay on card however rate was better than what I got on getting money out so not to fussed.
3 out of 5
by Clare from Hertfordshire

Basic

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
20 euros in a taxi from the gare de nord. Good location, on a main metro line. First room smelt like something had died in it but helpful staff sorted out a new room with no fuss and were apologetic. Very basic, not suitable for romantic weekend but good if you want something cheap and easy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but room for improvement

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Overall, good value. Room was clean, location was great. Young guy that worked at reception was very helpful and friendly. Room for improvement - this probably won't change but the bathroom shower needs a longer glass door, it's ridiculous how much water gets everywhere. I wish the hotel would splurge on he cost of a soap for the bathroom. I shouldn't have to bring my own. The wifi is terrible. I'm paying for a room, I don't want to watch an advertisement video every 3 hrs, and it was also down for 48 hrs with no urgency to the issue.
3 out of 5
by LU from Uk

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly reception. Clean, great location. Very small.
2 out of 5
by Taras from Brighton

Is it me or is this typical of Paris?

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
Choosing a hotel with a twin room in this area of Paris to be near Gare Montparnasse was very difficult. After reading all the reviews of the other hotels I thought I had chosen a perfect balance between price, a peaceful night sleep, quality and comfort and I got it really wrong. I know Paris rooms tend to be small but our twin room seemed so tiny for two people with one large bag each so that one bag was located in the ' here is a table and chair' area and the other in the small entrance to allow my mate to walk around the bed to the bathroom. The location of the shower and toilet 2ft away from the bedside with a sliding door offered little privacy. Staff were welcoming and helpful and to be fair this hotel is typical of all I have stayed in in Paris so shouldn't be necessarily avoided. Or put another way, if this is the typical budget you're willing to spend in Paris and other places, you'll be disappointed. I would either change areas or set this as your lowest budget in the filters and increase the highest you'd spend.
1 out of 5
by Amerongen from US-

Terrible, such hotels should be OUT

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
Just look above; enough said!!!