Ratings based on 470 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montpelier VT

Econo Lodge in Montpelier

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Olf and over used bed...bad mattres...a tap tap noise in one of the walls, imposible to sleep with.....and the next morning we found bed bags....This bugs were shown to the front desk woman which acknoledged it on writting after seen it ... in our hotel receipt... terrble place !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

One day stay. Lots of road construction

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Hard to get to because of lots of road construction. The staff was okay but not very friendly. The room was clean but old and not very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Lebanon, NH

Annual stay

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Convenient location.
Location: Only attend a conference, Do sightseeing on my own time throughout the year.
Annually I attend the Vermont State Grange Session in Montpelier and have stayed at the Econo Lodge every year for at least 7 years. The rooms are basic, always neat and clean, and the staff has always been friendly and helpful. Their continental breakfast is always good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel on our trip

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
First of all it was the most expensive with the fewest amenities. The hotel itself was run down, rooms were small, poorly lit, the wifi hardly worked. It was way over priced but I guess that is what happens when one waits to book a room. I would not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

A dump-- literally

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: It's very convenient to downtown Montpelier.
Cons: Motel needs to be demolished and rebuild.
Location: Montpelier is a cute little town.
A terrible motel in a beautiful and convenient setting. We were greeted with trash spilling out of the garbage can by the front door. Unpleasant desk clerk. Hallways decorated in a hideous maroon/yellow paint scheme. Room was dark and dreary. (Whoever was in charge of the decorating at this motel should find a new career.) Lousy wifi. Channel line-up on tv was screwed up so we missed game 1 of the NLCS. Only window that opened has no screen. And one more thing: behind the motel was a dump-- old furniture, construction debris, trash.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vienna

convenient for a short stay

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The hotel has everything you need but doesn´t offer more. The room was clean, the beds comfortable. For someone who needs fresh air will this hotel be a little adventure. The windows are infant of the hallway so we did´t open them. The breakfast was not really good but okay for the price All in all- for one night or a short stay totally okay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montpelier, Vermont

Dreadful fro start to finish

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Arrived - staff slow and uncommunicative. No outside window in room other than onto an internal corridor. Room smelled musty - no fresh air. Not clean with dirt on floor and bed. Arrived at 1300 hrs - checked out at 13.10 hrs - still charged for 1 night
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montpiler vermont

Horrible

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Dirty and uncomfortable it was very difficult to sleep
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Affordable and clean

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Clean, affordable, friendly staff
Location: Walking distance to down town Montpelier
Walking distance fron downtown Montpelier. Breakfast and coffee ok. Good parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Val-d'Or, Quebec Canada

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We were there for only one night. This is an older building that has had some upgrading. The room was clean but they could have put more effort cleaning the bathroom floor. They breakfast area is quite small for the number of rooms.