Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA living in UAE

Close to airport MPL

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Close to the airport
Location: Close to the airport
A basic hotel, very close to the Montpellier, France, airport, which we needed for a 6:20 a.m. flight back to Paris.
4 out of 5
by Nigel from Quillan

Good and very friendly

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
This is a good night stop hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are good if not a little tired and there are coffee/ tea making facilities. There is breakfast available if needed and there is a pizza place next door for the evening. It is also pet friendly for a 5 euro charge.
5 out of 5
by chris from Rhayader

great location and excellent value for money

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
The location was excellent and was easy accessible to the parc expo tram stop. I especially liked the fact that also there was an out if town shopping centre within walking distance where you could find a large supermarket and a selection of small restaurants. Regarding the room it was much larger than rooms in the city centre, which I liked and found the bed to be more than comfortable. Balladins is very similar to travelodge in the UK so if you have ever stayed in travelodge you can expect a similar standard.
5 out of 5
by David from London

High quality budget hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
From check in to check out it was a pleasure to stay in this hotel. The multilingual staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable with good air-con and a cozy large bed. The buffet breakfast was the best for variety and quality that we had during our 2 week tour around southern France. The hotel is next to a busy road, but the room was well sound proofed. There is a Pizza restuarant and KFC next door and a Flunch self service restuarant in the shopping centre on the other side of the road. The hotel is perfect for an over night stop before a flight from Montpellier airport. If you have a car it would probably be a good base for exploring the surrounding area. There is a tram that goes into Montpellier.
2 out of 5
by Possum from Australia

Motel

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
This is not a hotel. At best it is a second rate highway motel that we defiantly would have driven past if it had not been booked and paid for. It is extremely difficult to find as it is in a commercial area. On a main road that the trams also roll along it has a view of the car park and a very large shopping centre and is next door to a pizza place and KFC. It needs a good clean, and some staff training in customer service. There is nothing superior about this hotel and I am a little in awe of its Hotels.com rating. If you are taking the under 12's soccer team to an away game it's fine otherwise don't bother
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Palo Alto, CA

Close to Airport..that's it

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: The notion of convenience being near the airport for an early AM flight.
Cons: I probably could have stayed in downtown Montpellier for not much more than the price I paid for the five-minute taxi ride to the airport.
Location: Oh, let me share: You can dine at KFC next door, or cross the road to the giant Flunch big-box store and dine at the buffet. Kind of like Ikea.
This motel (note the "m", not "h") is decidedly unpretentious. It does the job in terms of providing a cheap place near the airport. It was clean, but sparse and some fixtures were broken. The main point is that if you plan to stay to save on time getting to the airport – say, to catch an early-morning flight – beware of the taxis. You'll need one to travel the five-minute drive, but it just cost me over 30 Euros. Why? Because at 5am the taxi that was called for me by the front desk when I checked in the night before, set the meter at 19 Euros when he picked me up. And by the time five minutes elapsed, it was 30 Euros. When I inquired why I was told it was because his meter began running when he left his homebase of Montpellier, 20 minutes away, and then he stated that no other taxis are available at that hour any closer. In other words, it's a scam that visitors can do nothing about. No recourse. What was I going to do?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heavy duty earplugs required!!!!

Posted May 21, 2013
Pros: Location, locality to transport
Cons: Noise levels
In a way, I wanted to give this place a good review. The rooms were like Travelodge quality and were clean and comfortable enough. The staff were helpful and quite friendly. Unfortunately, the main reason to stay in a hotel is to get some sleep and this just wasn't possible here due to the noise levels. I realize that the staff have very little control over the type of guest that stays ( in our case screaming, shouting, running and slamming around all night) but the walls are just so incredibly thin that you can hear everything going on anyway. It's reallya massive let down. If you're deaf or hard of hearing, then you will probably be fine here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Handy for Arena

Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels
Nice basic hotel perfect for our needs. Staff were friendly and helpful. Ideal for gig at the Arena. Room was quite spacious and clean and there is a 24 hour reception service. No kettle in room but drinks available at reception. Free Wifi a bonus. Taxi from airport is 15 euros but we walked back using the gated access road off the roundabout with only hand luggage. Lots of facilities next to hotel. Out of town location (you could travel in by tram very easily) but this did not matter as we were only there for the gig.
5 out of 5
by vgreaves

BALLADINS

Posted Aug 9, 2012 on Hotels
Great loction, great hotel Will be using again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2012 on Hotels