Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Westminster, Canada

Overall Very Good for 2 Star Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Nice warm lobby, accommodating people at the front desk and the restaurant/bar, super-comfortable bed!
Cons: There was damage to the suite that needed repair.
Location: Close to the airport, which was exactly what I needed.
I really liked the ambiance here. Small local hotel, nice staff. The room was clean and relatively well-appointed but had some deficiencies that need to be repaired, including a faulty on-off switch on the heater, a burnt out light bulb beside the bed, a missing drawer knob (with a very sharp screw remaining at ankle height - safety issue there) and a broken panel on the armoire that looked like someone had punched it. I had the impression when we reported these issues to the desk that they would be fixed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Avoid at all cost

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.....service
Location: fair
The front desk has very limited hours. They never clean rooms or change towels, etc. The workers at front desk were rude and not helpful at all. Bed was very uncomfortable and low to floor. They charged me for a night I did not even stay there. I will never stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Jennie from Kent, UK

Rude and Embarrassing

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was not serving food by the time we arrived late afternoon. The lady who was serving in the bar told us we could go and buy food at a local supermarket and eat it when we got back to the hotel. We did this and were just about to start eating our food at an outside table when we were very rudely told we were not allowed to eat our food at the hotel. After being embarrassed in front of hotel guests and a conversation with the manager, we were given permission to eat in our rooms. A very unpleasant experience which totally spoiled our stay. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
by winemaker from England

Decent 2 star hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels
Fairly typical 2 star French hotel. Decent restaurant, very friendly staff, good location with tram line station nearby. Rooms clean and comfortable, but in no way "plush".
3 out of 5
by Andy from Hull

Worth the money

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels
I stayed for 3 nights while here on business, the rooms could do with a refurb as the carpets are very shabby and the bed linen has seen better days! Location is perfect as supermarkets and eateries all around. Staff are friendly and helpful and all speak English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Penny from Kent, Greater London UK

Convenient and charming small hotel on a budget.

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Comfortable and welcoming. Quiet quarter at night. Pleasant surroundings and 5 min. drive to nearest sea resort.
Cons: Redecoration, new bedspreads and curtains. There was a very odd smell in the corridors- a vain attempt to cover smoking smells? Better ventilation.
Location: Although near main drag to the sea, quiet at night. Close to Pavalas la Flot and other nearby coast. Boat hire, nature watching (flocks of flamingoes)
Our welcome was warm, and facilities and meals indicated straight away. English spoken. Small swimming pool and good outside space during summer. Family friendly, and would spend more than one night there. Bed comfortable, but small, and up against the wall. Clean but a bit shabby. A decent choice on the menu. Small bar, quite well stocked. Near a busy road, but quiet at night. Air conditioning. A pleasant experience - would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by rossviews from England

Extremely disappointing

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels
Overall extremely disappointing. The hotel does not come anywhere near to living up to its website profile. The ONLY good points about "Le MeJean" were the hot water was hot, the Internet connection was good and the staff were friendly. In spite of several attempts contact etc., no "complimentary" airport shuttle on arrival. A taxi cost me 16 euros. When I enquired at reception I was just given a dismissive response. Whilst one may understand that being off-season the swimming pool was closed, the hotel generally has an unkempt air. I always consider if an establishment gives value for money. By comparison, for what “Le MeJean” provided, I would have paid half the price in North West of England. The room was almost cell-like overlooking air-conditioning extractors. Room furniture is so basic that even UK social services would not dare allocate it to anyone. I stayed for 12 nights and in that time, even though I asked, the bed sheets were never changed and I resorted to washing the pillow cases myself. The bathroom is adequate provided you accept that it is extremely small. I ended-up staying longer than I would have wished because it turned out that the better hotels in Montpellier were full. My room, at rear of the hotel, overlooked the main highway and there was traffic noise and at night music from a nearby disco could be heard until the early hours. Unless you are desperate I would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ from San Diego

Quiet comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: They should have told me if they could not provide shuttle service The shower was draining very slowly.
Location: It's not a central city. There are some business near by but the hotel restaurant is pleasant, food is good and inexpensive
It would have met my expectation if they have kept shuttle service to pick me up from the airport. They could not pick me up because they did not have a driver available on Sundays. I had to take a taxi.
3 out of 5
by Traveller from Tx

Did not work for me

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Veru quite
Cons: Advertize working hours for shuttle
Chose this hotel based on affordability and proximity to airport to catch a few hours of sleep before an early morning flight. The hotel description says the hotel offers shuttle service to the Airport. Should have remembered that this is France......and upon arrival was informed that the shuttle is only available after 9 am. Had to leave the hotel at 4:30 so had to book a taxi. Trip to Airport is about E10 worth, but here again, forgot that this is France! Even though the Taxi driver could have lived next door, his station was at Gare de Monpellier and by the time he showed up at the hotel there was already E 20 on the meter and by the time you make it to the airport is is over E 30! I never received the wake up call the front desk said they had set up for me, so got a call only when the taxi showed up. So I suppose part of the E20 is for the 10 min or so he had to wait for me to get going. Based on this French system where you pay from where ever the taxi is stationed when it starts rolling to pick you up, you are better off spending the extra money for an Hotel right at the airport or make sure the hotel you choose has a shuttle service operating according to your schedule.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxed atmosphere

Posted May 1, 2013 on Hotels
Not a bad 2 star hotel. Nice people. Could do with a refurb