Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to old port

Posted May 14, 2016
Very nice hotel with very big room. Really charming. Close to restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellente situation pour la ville historique

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Excellente situation pour la ville historique. Chambre spacieuse.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Beautiful room with a lovely view! Would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great place to stay in the heart of Old Montreal!

Posted Apr 22, 2016
The room was awesome with a view of the old port. Large suite which was clean, cozy and inviting. Close and walking distance to Montreal's historical monuments, scenes and restaurants to please your culinary delights. I would certainly go back to the Auberge de la place Royale for a longer stay. Thank you!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Great location, nice change from regular hotel rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful auberge on the harbour in old Montreal

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: As above
We loved this place. Small, quaint, many nice additional touches (games for kids, guitars on the landing). Walkable to everywhere in Vieux Port Montreal. Great staff. Completely lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Quaintness of the hotel, beautiful room, location
Cons: I would have liked to have be met by an actual person
Location: Restaurants, shopping, old Montreal, waterfront. Short tai ride to train station and casino
Wonderfully spacious room that easily accommodates a family. Beautiful old building on the waterfront, close to restaurants and the cathedral of Notre Dame. a bit odd that no staff were there to greet us or say goodbye, but excellent accommodations and a plan for getting in and out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant surprise and a break from the normal

Posted Mar 14, 2016
I booked Auberge de la Place Royale after searching Expedia for a hotel in Old Montreal. I have stayed several times in Montreal and on most occasions traditional Montreal hotels are nice and fair value for the money. However Auberge de la Place Royale went beyond my expectations. From the friendly greeting at the small front door reception, to my name on the chalkboard on the door of my room, the hotel is clean and welcoming with a fantastic Old Montreal location, a spacious room and one of the best sleeps I have had in recent memory. A thoughtful minibar and in-room snacks offered at reasonable prices, a tastefully furnished room and a modern utilitarian ensuite bathroom with high end workmanship and attention to detail and quality. The hotel is not ostentatious, but comfortable and friendly and a price that excels for staying downtown.
5 out of 5
by Charissa from New York

Personal and Quaint

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
It's a beautiful small hotel - very homey feel. They write your name on the door so they have a great personalized touch. Provides free wifi, guitars to play, a computer on the middle floor for boarding passes/etc. and slippers to wear walking through. There are no elevators- stairs only, and 4 rooms to a floor. If you are looking for other amenities - room service, continental breakfast/buffet, concierge - you won't find these here. But the rooms themselves are beautiful you feel you have your own little apartment for your stay, and that's worth it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nashville

Wonderful place. Small, friendly, efficient, fun.

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Great location in old town Montreal, next to River. A place with character and soul. Very clean.