Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great bed, super cute boutique hotel.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: The shower head in my room needed to be replaced, the pressure wasn't great at all.
Hotel has a ton of character, and is located perfectly in Old Montreal. Parking isn't great, you'll need to find a lot or use the science museum across the street ($24CAD/night).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Perfect location in old Montreal.

Posted May 3, 2017
Was very pleasantly surprised by the size and charm of the room. Nice big bathroom too-unusual for a hotel in a building as old as this one. No elevator so you must be prepared for that. Parking is across the road at the public parking for the science centre. ($25/day). Tea, coffee and a fridge in our room. Other snacks priced reasonably. Lots of bars, cafes and restaurants all around. This is a great spot if you are looking for a little authentic charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, in old port Montreal

Posted May 3, 2017
Rooms/suites are large. Great location, easy instructions when you arrive (might not be any staff but they leave you all the information you need outside the door). Beware that the mini bar/food is NOT free. Prices are on a sheet, hidden under one of the baskets of food. A bit loud if you have a room with windows facing the water. Great views though. I would book again, if on sale (booked a $300 suite for $135 with taxes).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Great apartment hotel in old Montreal

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The romantic decor of the hotel. The warm reception and the thoughtful convenience baskets of toiletries and phone/laptop chargers.
Cons: Although the names written on the doors make it convenient for checking in, I feel it lacked some privacy for the guests. Stairs need to be levelled.
Location: please see above experience
Can't say enough about the location. It is close to restaurants and little boutiques. It is across from the Science Centre. The hotel room was very spacious with a jacuzzi and separate shower. We had 5 large windows facing the water. The decor was very romantic. Walking around the area felt like we were in Europe with the cobblestoned roads and heritage stone buildings. There were even horse drawn carriages parked near the Notre-Dame Basilica church. We've been to Montreal hundreds of times, but staying in the old quarter made it feel like we were in a new city. We fell in love with Montreal all over again. We discovered new boutiques and a lovely tea house beside the Basilica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful to experience "old port" in Montreal.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The charm without loss of comfort.
Cons: Nothing
Location: As mentioned, in the old port - close to all of the tourists sites as well as many, many restaurants. Also shopping, entertainment. Bell Centre etc.
Our room was wonderfully decorated. Comfortable beds and staff were very, very accommodating. Short distance to key tourist spots in old Montreal as well as many, many fabulous restaurants to choose from . . . all within walking distance. Short taxi cab and you are in Montreal city center and all that has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice and comfy place in the heart of old Montreal

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: clean and comfy
excellent clean place to stay in the a walking distance of all major attractions of old Montreal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in old Montreal

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Beautiful room and bathroom. Walking up 3 flight a bit of a drag, though stairway was kind of fun. Strange that there was not any real lobby, and that there was not someone there at the entrance all the time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy accessibility.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
I got into the city via train during a blizzard. I called the hotel and the staff was very helpful. Instructions on how to get into the building was very clear. Unfortunately, taxis were not available so my wife and I ended up sleeping in the train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cranston, RI

Place Royale

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Great hotel!!! Very comfortable! The tv was old and just basic cable, but not a big deal. Full of charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Cute little hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Really cozy place, big rooms with lots of seating area. Very nice staff. Awesome natural lighting in my room. Really enjoyed it.