Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Charning littleninn. Cozy room. Great location. Great decor. Excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Ab

Great value, fantastic hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Everything about this hotel was fabulous,super clean and great employees. Booked an economy single room for 4 nights but something went wrong when I arrived due to some room issue going on. Really appreciated the much bigger room upgrade at no extra cost! Just across the street from where I needed to be, close to metro, bus stop, grocery stores and shopping, lots of options just a few blocks but still a quiet neighborhood! Brilliant location! I was able to check in quickly, the staff Rony was very helpful and knowledgable suggesting where to go eat and visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio, USA

Chateau St Marc

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Adorable boutique hotel! Downtown, close to everything. Staff was very helpful. Parking was underground in a private lot- no street parking (especially important because of the amount of snow on the street!) Royal Suite has two separate bedrooms and two bathrooms, and a garden tub. Lots of character! Absolutely love the decor!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Staff was great and the hotel is in a great location in the downtown area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Misleading

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The beds were comfortable
Cons: Marketing more honestly. This is an old home with all kinds of weird add ons which makes the set up very strange.
I booked a 2 bedroom suite with jacuzzi. It wasn't a suite, it was 2 connecting rooms with a glass door separating the rooms which didn't allow for privacy. The jacuzzi didn't drain. There was dirty water in the jacuzzi on arrival. Breakfast was also disappointing. Croissant were stale. It felt more like a B &B then a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Abe, Hotel Management
Hello Thanks for your stay. Jacuzzi Drain was blocked earlier with materials outside of our control. We fixed the issue and also we will address other issues. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Low quality hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
I'll start with saying I'm an easy person to please in terms of a hotel. This was the last hotel we stayed at at the end of our trip just for one night before our flight, if it was any more than 1 night I would not have stayed there. The "reception area" (if you can call it that) is a skinny little hallway and every cabinet and fridge in the room is locked by chain and padlock... there is no 24 hour reception, when you try to come down to talk to somebody they're nowhere to be found and you must go back up to your room and call their "reception". Here are a couple notes I jotted down when we were there: Huge amounts of s ust everywhere. Shower flooded after using it for 15 mins. They had a soap and shampoo dispensers, the soap was about 5% full. Speaker wiring was atrocious and didn't work. The front door of the hotel is locked at all times and you need to be buzzed in or use your key to get into the hotel... little weird seeing as the street isn't sketchy per say. Light switch out of the wall (and didn't work) 2 light bulbs on out of about 10 on each chandelier Zip ties holding the shower head together. For the positives... They had fast wifi and the location was good, street away from at Catharines street. Overall I would not recommend anybody this hotel, the others we stayed at were almost the same price range and 15x nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Fady, Hotel Management
Hello Thanks for your stay. Some of our guests dont like too much lights so we tend to loosen some of the bulbs for comfort since you have many table lamps to control amount of lights in the room. Maintenance issues minor or major are always checked and fixed at a high frequency rate however sometimes they happens too fast and usually the repair is already planned. We would like to thank you for your recommendations and we will address them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Only issue was the tv in room as it only had a very basic package and people living in the building are very rude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Cozy place. Breakfast was nice. Check in was a little sketchy but no problems overall. It was a little dusty. I'd stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Wally, Hotel Management
Hello Dear We thank you for your stay. We just hired new professional cleaning team and inspection personnel and we are looking forward to new much more neat and clean environment than before. Our team at Chateau St Marc never stop to make your stay more enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not really worth the price

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly and willing to accommodate us.
The place was cute, but it felt like a lower end bed and breakfast. We stayed in the basement space, which felt like an afterthought room. We had to carry our stuff down this tiny spiral staircase to a room that was tucked behind the kitchen. It was comfortable but my allergies started acting up, which suggests there was an animal in the space previously (or nearby) though the owners insist there wasn't. The shower was also incredibly tiny to the point that I slammed my elbow into the soap dispenser when I lifted my arm. Not a bad place, but felt we paid too much for what it offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Abe, Hotel Management
Hello Dear We appreciate your stay and we would like to thank you. We are in the process of enhancing all aspect of cleaning and maintenance. We hope to see you again as we promise your future stay will be more comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui, Hawaii

Easy walking distance to metro stops

Posted Jan 29, 2017
I enjoyed staying here. I had a king suite called the Imperial Suite. There was a jetted bath tub that was quite nice. A breakfast/dining area with a Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave. There were two flat-screen televisions--one in the dining area and another in the bedroom. The bedroom had a very comfortable king bed with a sitting area and writing desk. In good weather, there are doors opening onto a lovely balcony with chaise lounges and outdoor table...There are some quirky things about the suite....the fireplace doesn't work, a large moveable cot in one corner, and some funky wiring in the room. None of that bothered me, but it could bother some. I had no interaction with the staff except at check-in, not even when I checked out. I just left the key on the reception desk. Overall, for the reasonable price and location, I would definitely recommend and stay here again. It was nice to have such spaciousness complete with a marvelous bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Wally, Hotel Management
Hello Dear Thank you for your stay. Please be assured that we will never stop to make your stay more and more enjoyable.