Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Place Des Arts location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Great location but hotel needs some TLC. Room had a very unpleasant odour during our 4 day stay. Price was very good for being so close to downtown.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Convenient, easy access

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Convenient, mall close by, lots of store and things to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice budget hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Excellent accommodations for the price we paid. Downtown in the entertainment district. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Jasmine, Administration, Hotel Management
Dear JB, Thank you for your wonderful rating and feedback. We really appreciate your kind words towards our staff, our rooms and our location, which I have shared amongst our teams and is highly appreciated, thank you. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at our Hotel Abri du Voyageur. Sincerely
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Good location and that's it !

Posted Dec 22, 2016
No parking available nearby; except if you are willing to pay $25/$30 per day; Mattresses are not confortable, very old and there's "electricity" between the sheets ; No pressure in the shower which is a nightmare if you have long hair ... and the final humiliation is when they ask $8 for a "plastic breakfast" ... For the same price you can have a lot better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by Hop Ho, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear about your displeasure during your stay, please know that we take great care in reading your comment and will investigate immediately about the points that you've mentionned. We are located in the middle of downtown and on the main street of Montreal. As such we do not have an assigned parking but we are always more than glad to indicate to our guests the available options nearby our hotel. Our mattress have been changed recently but as the rooms are cleaned daily and often ; the sheets are often freshly cleaned from the machine and dryer and unfortunately it may happen that a little static is left but nothing that may hurt our guests. As per the pressure inside the shower head; the concern has been brought up to our janitor who will investigate to immediately remediate to the situation. We are always on the lookout to improve our services and as you know we are currently offering a continental breakfast ; with Eggs, Freshly baked croissants, Bagels, Brown breads, Cakes, Fruits, Yogurts,Cretons,Milk,Juices and Coffees. Please feel free to write us any suggestions you may have as we take great pleasure in reading our guests recommendations and improving the quality of our breakfast. Thank you again for your time
3 out of 5
by Terri-lynn

Good one night stay Hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
There is no elevator, or washrooms inside the rooms. You have to leave to use it and shower... the floors creak a lot! and the stairs are very steep (not likely for children). Walls are thin and you can hear people all around you. I would not stay here for more than 2 days. Good overnight place.. Overall it was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time in writing your comment. As we are located inside an historical building, we cannot unfortunately be allowed by the city of Montreal to build one and our floors are made of Hardwood (No carpets). If we may also add that you had reserved one of our Budget rooms (that comes with a shared bathroom) but we can definitively offer you on your next stay with us one of our Superior Rooms that do have their own private bathrooms and are well decorated. Also our rooms come with a freshly served continental breakfast. Also being at the heart of the downtown area and the famous ''spectacles neighborhood'' it can make it sometimes noisy at night but it is a small price to pay in comparison with all the benefits of our location. We are but a few meters away from so many museums and attractions, holidays markets, subways stations etc Keep in mind that we fully understand thought and that is why we have available at our reception desk 24h/7 ear plugs for our guests who may desire one. Thank you again as we took great pleasure reading you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kingston, ontario

Excellent location

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The location was perfect... Close to Place des art for the ballet, to many restaurants, and lots of shopping. As for the hotel, the room was clean and the staff was great. The bed and pillows were a tad hard but we weren't really there for complete r&r.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time in writing your comment, we are glad to know you liked the location of our hotel. Indeed we are but a few meters away from all the museums and spectacles rooms. We are always on the look out to improve ourselves and we are taking dully note of your comment about ours beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Within walking distance of everything

Posted Dec 15, 2016
I had a great experience at the hotel. It was just what I needed and it's the perfect location to almost anything. Uber rides and taxi's are everywhere. The concierge AND the staff are wonderful. Would definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your lovely comment ! We take great pleasure in reading how we succeeded into reaching your satisfaction with our hotel! We hope to see you again sometimes soon..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Nice hotel close to shops

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Walking distance to just about everything. Continental breakfast was included with rate, not a huge selection but delicious croissants and other pastry's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely comment, we are always looking to improve ourselves and are glad to know that our breakfast was pleasing to you. Please feel free to contact us in order to let us know of any suggestions you may have for it ! We currently offer : Egss, Croissants, Bagels, Breads, Fruits, Yogurts, Cretons, Jams, Cakes, Juices, Milk and Coffee. Thank you again for taking the time to write us today!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The location is great

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The room shown on Hotels.com does not reflect the room they gave me. The are was a bit noisy during the night but I was able to rest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your comment, we are always 100% honest on the pictures that we have about our hotel. Please know that they reflect the different categories of rooms that we have ! The budget one with the shared bathrooms, The Superior Categorie with their private bathrooms and of course our Studio Rooms with private bathrooms and equiped kitchenette. Please feel free to contact us anytime if you need further information about which rooms would better suit your needs. Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice overall experience. The only thing I didn't like was the parking fee. Although parking are more expensive downtown, but there should be a reduced fee for the clients of the hotel. It was 50$ for to nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time in writing your review. We are glad to hear you had a nice experience with us. Unfortunately , we have no control on the parking fees charged by the company who owns the parking near our hotel. The company charges 25$ for the entire day with the advantage that you can come and go during the day without having to repay for it. As our location is straight inside the ''Quartier des Spectacles'' of Montreal, it makes it impossible for us to provide free parking to our guests. Parking on the streets is always a possibility with the flexibility of paying as you go. If not two parking lots are available one behind our hotel at 25$ and the Complexe Desjardins has underground parking at 21$ but they will recharge you if you exit and come back again. If you ever choose to come back to us, we can provide you with all the information required to find the best parking spot suited to your needs