Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midland ON

Hotel Review

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: See my experience
Cons: Judge from my experience
Location: Location was perfect for sightseeing, downtown shopping, activities.
Comfortable bed, Loud bathroom fan. Shower on the small side. Nice A/C. No fridge in room. View not great out rear of building. Good breakfast. Curtain wouldn't close properly. Quaint building. No parking nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice downtown hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2015
I loved my stay in Ambrose Hotel. The staff were very polite, the hotel & room was very clean. I would recommend my friends to that hotel ! 5 stars!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Ontario

Great hotel. Old with lots of character.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Great location to all modes of public transportation. Located within walking distance to great Montreal eating and nightlife. Great price. Simple, straight forward rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2015 by SC, Hotel Management
Thank you !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brampton, On

Good hotel at downtown Montreal accessible to all

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Location is close to metro, very accessible. But hotel lobby could use a bit of updating. Experienced the French ambiance, which we really liked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, CA

Great place in a central place

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Cons: The room was very hot and stuffy being on top floor. Cracking the window open helped.
Overall a great hotel with a lot of charm. The bathroom looked newly renovated and was in perfect condition. The hotel is also in a location that's walking distance to most attractions and offers parking which was a big plus for us. Hotel staff were also very kind and helpful and even went out of their way to call up and inquire about event dates. Will recommend to others. Keep up the great job!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, California

My 3 days stay at Ambrose Hotel in Montreal

Posted Jul 3, 2015
I appreciated the closeness to downtown Montreal, the staff friendliness and the room cleanness. The breakfast was very good. However, with no elevator, it was a bit challenging to climb those stairs with any luggage. But the most challenging was to park my rental car. I would have appreciated nearby reserved spaces for hotel occupants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Nice and cozy, very well located

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Location and price were great.
Cons: Some interior maintenance or upgrades.
Location: Location is great, a couple of blocks from the heart of downtown Montreal with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants nearby.
Arrived early and could have an early check-in. The Staff was very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A nice surprise

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location ideal to see many of the sites of Montreal, close to some affordable restaurants and the metro
Cons: Breakfast was rather poor, but as I hadn't realised it was included in the price I cannot really complain!
After reading the reviews I have to admit I was concerned before arriving at the hotel. We arrived early and only had to wait a little while for our room. The room was on the 3rd floor, and yes that is around 60 steps from the pavement to the room! We were offered help with our luggage. The room was a nice size and included 2 chairs and a desk. the bathroom was quite large and included a very deep bath and extremely clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Le ménage quotidien des chambres est bien fait, mais l'entretien général de l'hôtel laisse à désirer. Tout devrait être repeint (plein de taches et de marques partout) les tapis des aires communes sont affreux. Je comprends pourquoi au moment de quitter le personnel ne m'a pas demandé comment j'ai trouvé mon séjour... Ils connaissent la réponse!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Cute hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2015
The staff was great, and the location could not have been better. We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and we enjoyed our stay.