Ratings based on 2,825 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel, nice location, friendly staff!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Beautiful deco, beautiful view. Beyond my expectation
Cons: Has to go up and down stairs a little, hard with heave luggage. The location is hard for uber driver to find, but the taxi service is very convenient
Location: St Catherine street
Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, location is perfect, walking distance to St Catherine street for shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kailua, Hi.

Great place

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: everything. great value
Location: right in the heart of Montreal. excellent location
Wonderful spacious rooms with two beds and great mattress. the heated pool, which we swam in with snow all around was a highlight
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for Bell Center

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Hotel was more then satisfactory and I would definitely return if I am attending and event at the Bell Center. Only a 5 min walk and felt safe at all times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in downtown Montreal.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Excellent location for downtown and immediate area; lots of shopping and great restaurants.
Cons: Clearer directions and explanation of just where the actual entrance is, especially if you are driving in.
Location: Old Town and Downtown are within walking distance, lots of restaurants nearby and underground as well. Centrally located but beware one way streets
We arrived in the early afternoon -- took a while to fine the hotel as its entrance was not clearly marked from the street (it actually sits on the top floors of the main building). Service once there was excellent, the staff always friendly and helpful, especially giving advice on where to go and how to get there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Close to Bell Centre. Beautiful room. Very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plattsburgh NY

St Patrick's weekend at Montreal Bonaventure

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: pool and hot tub
Cons: add robes to the room closet for aid to reach the pool outdoors
Location: St Patrick's parade route, St Patrick's Basilica, Chinatown, Le Keg, Bell Center (Canadiens beat the Senators on Saturday), Cathedral next door.
Bonaventure is a great location. It is a 5 min walk to St Patrick's Basilica and 10 min to Chinatown. The Penthouse hotel is nice and we used the outdoor pool and hot tub for an hour. Hotel was built for Expo 67. It is all concrete. The top 2 1/2 floors have 395 hotel rooms. We loved it there. It would be nice if robes were available in our room or with the pool attendant as they would warm us up more than just using a towel. It was too late to call for a towel to be sent to our room when we were already poolside. Nice spacious K room. Loved the color scheme and pattern in the carpet. There was a 2 min walk to Le Keg for a good steak dinner; and 3 min walk to watch the St Patrick's Parade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent location, access

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Décor, sink hot water.
Location: Underground city, downtown, old Montreal all nearby
Nice large rooms, hotel has a great location that made getting around very easy, especially in the late winter storm (underground city, subway). Facility itself could use some updating as everything looked a little tired (carpet décor lobby rooms), but we would definitely return. The outdoor pool is heated for winter use, which was not clear on their website, so we did not get to take advantage of that. Very clean rooms and washrooms. Only drawback was the washroom sink hot water took forever to get to 'lukewarm'. But shower/tub was very hot and lots of pressure. Staff were very pleasant. Was thinking of staying near the airport (less $) and driving downtown but so glad we stayed here due to the snow storm, 1 way streets, construction, and what appeared to be lack of parking lots. Much easier to leave the car in the hotel lot and walk/transit around the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great location

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The location was great.
Location: Hopping on the Metro was fairly easy to get to other destinations. Walking to the Old Port takes about 15/20 minutes.
The Hotel Bonaventure was recommended to us by a friend particularly because of the roof top pool. We found the hotel to be handy to both the Metro and Via train station and also to the highway. The staff at check in were very helpful and checking in was quick.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Friendly staff; great location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Nice comfy rooms, outdoor pool lots of fun, location perfect but highlight was Guy in the breakfast room making you feel very welcome!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pool was not enough.....

Posted Mar 19, 2017
We came for the novelty of the outdoor heated pool in the winter. Although we did enjoy the pool, the pool change rooms and facilities were pretty gross and the pool and hot tub were not that clean either. The entrance to the pool is awkward and kind of unsafe. It is a long slippery staircase straight up and then a tiny pool entrance. The rooms are also very exposed and there was not a lot of security around. Also, at the restaurant I was hoping to get a menu but felt a little bamboozled into getting the buffet, which was not the best. Overall, it just didn't feel like a four star hotel. We didn't love our stag and would not recommend it to friends or stay again.