Ratings based on 729 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great location downtown

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Style, historical location / building
Cons: more storage needed (drawers in the dressers at least) Something with protein at breakfast. Even just some cold sliced meat or something. Zero protein
Location: Downtown Montreal. Fabulous area.
Recently stayed downtown and absolutely loved this place. The beds are great, and the style of the decor is really fun and artistic. Restaurant downstairs is over-priced, but there are countless good options nearby. Room could use more storage, there are no drawers in the bathroom, or night stand, or console. Essentially nowhere to put your stuff but on the floor, or in the 1 dresser that also houses the mini fridge. The top floor has sky-lights that let in the natural light, so I highly recomend those. We were given an upgrade, and that was excellent. Happy about the upgrade, for sure. Overall: I would return here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Chez Swann, Hotel Management
Dear Dov, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Chez Swann. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate all your feedback and recommendations, and will take them under serious advisement. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chez Swann. Best Wishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Whimsical hidden hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Beautiful boutique hotel and perfectly located a few blocks from the Musee des beaux-arts and the Parc du Mont Royal. The rooms are lovely and whimsical and it's obvious much thought was put into the decor. It was clean and comfortable and the staff could not have been friendlier and accommodating. My only issue with the place is their refund policy. Basically, they don't have one. You pay up front and there is no cancellation policy which is very unusual for a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Chez Swann, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Chez Swann. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and everything our hotel has to offer. Our staff are eager to please and fulfill every request. It is wonderful to hear that they made a good impression on you. At our hotel, we have a 48 hour cancellation policy. However, some reservations made online are “non-refundable reservations.” Meaning that it would not be possible to cancel no matter how far ahead the reservation might be. We apologize if this caused any inconvenience to you. We hope to see you once again at Hotel Chez Swann! Yours in Hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We where very impressed with the hotel décor, location and the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Chez Swann, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words regarding your stay at Hotel Chez Swann. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Montreal! Yours in Hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Timmins

Quaint downtown hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Hotel Chez Swann in a great little hotel in Montreal. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are cute, clean and quite pleasant. They offer a wonderful continental breakfast. It's location, however, is what is really great. It's near a metro, rue Ste-Catherine, and everything else you might want. It's our second stay there, but definitely not our last!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Chez Swann, Hotel Management
Dear Mario, Thank you for taking the time to post such an outstanding review on Hotel Chez Swann! Your kind words towards our staff, rooms, cleanliness, breakfast and location mean a lot to us. We pleased that you chose to stay with us again, and we look forward to the third time! Until next time. Best Wishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
23 rooms over 2 floors. Spacious room, wood floors. Large shower with 2 shower heads. Robes and slippers. Mini fridge, Kerrig coffee maker but no microwave. Friendly and polite staff eager to assist you. Very quiet. Continental breakfast at Pois Penché inside the hotel. Very tasty and flaky croissants unlike anything you can find in Ontario. No indoor parking but affordable parking lot just behind hotel.No pool but who needs it in Montreal !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Chez Swann, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words and high rating of your stay with us! Our staff are pleased to hear that they were able to provide all the assistance that you required. We’re glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. As for the indoor parking, you’d be happy to hear that there is one on the same block as the hotel, located at 1414 rue Drummond. We hope to see you once again on your next trip to Montreal! Yours in Hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson Heights, NY

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Location: location was superb, close to trendy shopping and Museum of Fine Arts
Charming, nice, very well attended. I was graciously upgraded to a suite. Room was lovely and well appointed except the lighting in the bed area was poor. was hanging from metal tubular on both sides of the huge bed. There was no way to get enough light to read in bed, which was disappointing. Otherwise, it was very chic and charming and the staff, a lovely young lady in the evening, and a very handsome young man in the morning who helped me troubleshoot the tv were totally charming and gracious. I'd like to stay here again, but I would bring my own portable reading light. There could have also have been more choices for ordering out food, other than the one expensive restaurant attached to the hotel. It would have been nice to have other options for food delivery.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Chez Swann, Hotel Management
Dear Monsieur Swann, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We truly appreciate your kind words and feedback concerning your experience. Our staff thank you for your kind words towards them as well. We are pleased that you enjoyed the look and location of Hotel Chez Swann. For your next stay with us, please ask a member of our staff for assistance for food delivery. We have a lovely flyer with plenty of restaurants who deliver to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chez Swann! Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Close to everything downtown. Staff was great. Nice hotel with a unique feel. Small complaint about the room was no outlet to plug in my phone or clock beside the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Chez Swann, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location, our staff, and the uniqueness of our hotel. We would like to assure you that we have recently installed more outlets and have also replaced the missing alarm clocks. Thank you for choosing Hotel Chez Swann; we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once more. Best Wishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Every room is different - and in a good way

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Decor, huge window seat, large size room.
Cons: My suite had only one comfortable chair. I was alone but a couple might find that a problem.
Great decor, comfortable and quiet. I was upgraded from a Junior Suite to a Suite which was a pleasant surprise. I wish I could have stayed longer but my plans had changed. Great location just north of St. Catherine and near great shopping, restaurants, and the Galleries. I will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Chez Swann, Hotel Management
Dear Marlene, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Hotel Chez Swann. We are pleased to see that you left such a high rating. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the decor, comfort level and location that our hotel provides. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Montreal! Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, on

nice location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
My first time in this hotel. Location wise is great - close to shopping area. warm and spacious, nice staff, will stay again next time
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Front desk, Hotel Management
dear Man Keung, We are delighted you enjoyed our very convenient location, a minute away from some of the main attractions and shopping centers of the city. Thank you also for mentioning the service quality provided. We would be more than happy to welcome you in our walls upon your next visit in Montreal. Kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not 4 star hotel as presented in Expedia search

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Good uniquely designed room. Great staff with pleasant personality. Lot of noise coming in from people talking in the hallway. Average morning Continental only breakfast. I am still wondering how Expedia identifies this hotel as 4 star property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Front desk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, The feedbacks of our guests are essential as it constantly helps us to improve. We do therefore thank you for sharing your thoughts on Expedia. We do, however, feel very sorry and surprised that your breakfast was not to your convenience and that some our our guests disturbed your stay. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance. The breakfast is complimentary, we offer a various choice on our buffet and we apologise that it wasn’t up to your taste. Please do not hesitate, next time, to ask the breakfast staff for anything additional for your meal. Best Regards,