Ratings based on 1,436 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Please stay somewhere else.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
When we arrive, we were a bit early and have been told to wait 3 to check in whoch was fine. We asked to be in a non smoking room if possible. The lady(alexa) told us she had some available for an upgrade of $15. We agreed to do that and came back at 3 pm for the check in. It was a guy then that checked us in. I took the credit card details and made us sign the contract. The same day we had an electivitu black out that lasted the all day. No hot water. No lights, no breakfast (that we paid for) and beat of all gor stuck in the lift as the blackout happened. the next morning We realised our credit had been charged $60 for tje upgrade (not $15 as promised by 2 staff members ) and that they had waited for us to go in our room at the check in to take the money so we couldnt see the amount taken. I complained to the manager or director who kept changing his position... He said that we have signed the contract agreeing with all fees charged by the hotel!!!! Couldnt and qouldnt do anything to help. He couldnt care less about the electricity problem either and was not willing to compensate for a messy day !!! He kept saying it s not his fault and that i should write an email to an info@ adress!!! Joke. Please do not stay there. They are deceitful and nasty as soon as you realise it. Location isnt great either, dodgy rundown street, even though only 10 minutes from the city center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Alexa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We understand the blackout that lasted a few hours was not pleasant, but the whole neighborhood was affected by it and it was out of our control. We did serve breakfast that morning but we could not serve coffee or toasts, everything else was available, croissants, bananas and juice. When you got stuck in the elevator I immediately contacted the emergency # but you managed to get out by forcing the doors and we are sorry you had to go thru that. For the upgrade charge you were informed at check in of the 15$/night fee to be put in a non smoking room. At check out you questioned the final charge that I explained to you and everything seemed fine. Next time if you do not want to have any extra charges or upgrade charges, we suggest you reserve the room type you want instead of taking a reservation that is cheaper but that doesn't offer you the liberty to pick the room type you want. Respectfully yours
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: dicht bij metro
standaard kamer met basic ontbijt in een verwaarloosde buurt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Alexa, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location near the Place des Arts...
Cons: The rooms and other facilities need to be remodeled ASAP...
Location: Three blocks from the Place des Arts...and the Montreal Metro that can take you almost everywhere that the tourists and visitors hang out...
This hotel was selected as there were very few reasonably priced hotel rooms available on the weekend we were there (last weekend of the Montreal Comedy Festival). While it is conveniently located to the Place des Arts, the hotel is very much dated from the 1970s. While the hotel was relatively clean, it was certainly not worth the money we spent to stay 1 night in Montreal. The free breakfast is okay...as long as the 24 hour coffee availability in the lobby if you need it (we don't drink coffee). Otherwise, I would recommend other hotels in the center of Montreal that are reasonably priced, yet nice accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Alexa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us and have a nice day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal . mtl

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Ideal pour une nuit sans que ca coute une fortune mais sans plus , personnel impeccable parcontre , une mention au receptioniste
Comment from Hotel Management
by Alexa, Hotel Management
Merci pour vos commentaires et au plaisir de vous revoir!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoriaville

Quartier douteux, chambre pleine de moisissures

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Vraiment pas très chic, même pour le prix. Plafond moisi dans la chambre de bain, tapisserie qui décolle partout... pas besoin de vous dire qu'on a même pas osé prendre le déjeuner fourni.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Alexa, Hotel Management
Nous sommes désolés que votre expérience n`était pas à la hauteur de vos attentes et merci de prendre le temps de nous donner votre avis.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Central Hotel next to stores, restaurants

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: St-Catherine Street for shopping, St-Denis Street for dining and walking distance from the old part of Montreal; closed of subway
I had read some negative comments and was a little bit worried but after staying there for 2 nights I have to say that my own experience is very positive. Very nice, clean, helpful staff and excellent location. The first night we had a smoking room so the next morning we asked for a non smoking one and they gave us a great room with jacuzzi. The continental breakfast was substantial. I recommend this hotel without any hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Alexa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again in the future. Have a great day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Greit hotell med kort vei til det meste.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Pris og lokasjon.
Location: Kort vei til metroen og selve sentrum.
Ble positivt overrasket. Leste anmeldelser fra andre og var litt i tvil. Innsjekk gikk smertefritt, ingen problemer. Hadde bestilt røyke rom selvom vi ikke røyker, men merket ikke mye til røyke lukt på rommet. Frokosten var så som så, noe frokostblandinger, brød og bagels, men lite av av pålegg. Anbefales om du vil bo billig, sentralt og ikke har for store krav til et hotell.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Great location and friendly staff
Location: It is in the Latin Quarter. Within walking distance are St Laurent and St Denis streets with lots of shops, restaurants and vibrant street life.
This clean hotel is only a couple of blocks from the St Laurent metro stop but is still very quiet. It is in the Latin quarter with many restaurants and shops accessible. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was not cramped. If you want luxury go elsewhere and pay the luxury price. If you want a clean and well located place from which to explore Montreal, this is the place for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by Alexa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Positive Experience

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Staff which was friendly and helpful
Location: Great Location
Hotel des Arts fit our needs. We just needed a place to sleep, not a spa. This hotel is in an excellent location which is right in the city. If you have a car you will have to use a Parking garage which is close by but I am sure that is typical of most inner city hotels). The rooms are a bit dated but ours was clean, and comfortable. Our experience with the staff was excellent. The lady at the front desk was very patient and kind with my many many questions (this was my first visit to Montreal). I also had some questions for the gentleman on the evening shift and he was just as helpful. They have a very nice continental breakfast set up in the lobby which offers coffee, orange juice, cereals, bagels, toast, and croissants. If we decide to go back to Montreal, we would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Alexa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for you kind words. It was great having you here and we hope to see you again in the future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Location-Great, HotelStaff-Great,Hallway-BitSmelly

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location & Hotel Staff
Cons: Cleanliness of Hallway & Rooms
Location was perfect. Hotel staff was very helpful in terms of where to park since nearest cheap parking was full. Hallway to our room had weird smell to it. It's great budget hotel in a nice central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by alexa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!