Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The hotel was in a great location. Exceptionally clean, spacious and comfortable rooms and bathrooms with great amenities. The desk staff were excellent - polite, courteous and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Friendly, considerate, good location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Room and facilities excellent, and staff so welcoming and helpful.
Location: Walking distance to the main tourist attractions, metro very close, plenty of cafés handy.
Staff particularly open and friendly, welcoming even when I was unexpectedly delayed and arrived at midnight. Offered coffee and my luggage delivered to my room, walk-up 4 floors. Nice restaurant and popular, always busy but not too busy to be welcomed and attended to. My room was large and very comfortable, coffee machine, stovetop, frig, spacious and well appointed bathroom, king size bed, lots of pillows. Light and airy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México

Hermoso

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Me encantó el hotel, el staff es muy amable. Me encantaría quedarme en él otra vez.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place, great location, wonderful staff.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
They made our trip to Montreal immeasurably better. Traveling with an infant is always tough, but they made it so much easier. Also, the attached restaurant Le Nil Bleu is some of the best Ethiopian food I've ever had, and I have Ethiopian food often in NYC, DC and Philly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut, usa

unique hotel in montreals latin quarter

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: the sister Maghreb restaurant was very good, the flatbread accompanying each meal was new to us and i'll be seeking that out again in the future.
Cons: a couple of light fixtures [ incandescents] were loose but we didn't need them.
Location: within walking or short cab ride of downtown and other points of interest. many nearby restaurants of all descriptions.
my wife and I were bowled over by the room. a suite with an understated african motif. it had a full kitchen , a king bed and a comfy sitting area. it was large. the bathroom had ceramic tile flooring and walls with a 2 person whirlpool bath equipped with a rain shower showerhead.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Vicky from Hull

Nice Boutique Hotel in a Good Location

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
The room was well laid out and the limited space was well used to create a separate area for the bedroom and a small kitchen and intimate dining area. The bathroom was separate and had a gigantic bath which was a big hit. Soap, shampoo and candles to set a romantic mood were provided. Although a free breakfast wasn't included in the price, the fact that there was a coffee maker, hob, fridge, crockery and cutlery made it easy to self cater and there were nearby shops including a fantastic bakery a few doors away which allowed a cosy intimate breakfast to be had with no time restrictions. The hotel was clean and decked out it an African theme with zebra and elephant pictures and zebra striped bedding which I quite liked. There was air conditioning, free use of an in room safe, a large TV with a decent selection of channels. The bed was queen sized and comfortable but was a little high so a child or someone short may need a step to get onto it. Reception staff and the cleaner were all helpful and friendly and kept me well supplied with coffee to use in the coffee machine. The only slight niggle with the room is that it had a partially tiled floor. A few of the tiles were cracked which could be a bit of an issue if you were to walk around in bare feet.
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Location: Location was in a neighborhood on a main street which gave more of a Montreal flavor.
The staff was very helpful. It was a quiet hotel with only a few rooms. The only drawback was the stairs. Not a hotel for folks who can't manage them.
5 out of 5
by April from Moretown, VT

Lovely little boutique hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
We were in town for an overnight away from the kids. Hotel Kutuma was perfect. Cozy little room, very clean, quiet, comfy. Adorable little kitchenette (complete with mini fridge, stove, sink and microwave) that we did not have time to utilize but would have had we stayed longer. An easy walk to about a million restaurants, bars, shops and cafes. The only bad thing was that we weren't there long enough to try the Ethiopian restaurant downstairs that smelled AMAZING. I would totally recommend Hotel Kutuma to anyone, and would definitely stay there again. Just be advised: there is no elevator, and the building is tall and narrow, with only a few rooms on each floor. If the idea of walking up and down several flights of stairs whenever you come and go is daunting, or you are physically unable to navigate stairs, I'm sad to say this may not be the place for you...which is unfortunate, because it's lovely!