Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great hotel. Excellent experience.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Great hotel. Excellent experience. Staff was very accommodating. Room had all the necessities even extras features. (stove, microwave, coffee machine etc.) Definitely recommend 10/10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Wonderful!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The second time around, the Kutuma was just as pleasing and well-run as it was on the first visit. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable in every way. You can't beat the location on bustling St. Denis a couple of blocks above Sherbrooke. If you like a European feel, you'll enjoy the Kutuma. Super nice staff! Don't miss the Blue Nile Ethiopian restaurant on the first floor - packed every night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Jia, Hotel Management
Thank you Ellen and hope to see you back at the hotel! - Reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: staff, rooms
Cons: not copies of photo id and parking
Location: tons of things just outside your door!
Manger went out of his way to get me a meal even though the kitchen had just closed. Room is extremely nice. Great Sleep Only 2 things they ask for passport or copy of photo id to keep which I would not do - they have my credit card info parking is not very good - street parking has extreme limitation and valet parking cost is extremely expensive which eliminates the great room price and service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Great hotel, perfect location for the metro or shopping!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Jia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Hope you come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hidden gem

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Large, interesting space. Close to old Montreal with good restaurants within easy walking distance. Very nice and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Jia, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Marc!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The hotel was in a great location. Exceptionally clean, spacious and comfortable rooms and bathrooms with great amenities. The desk staff were excellent - polite, courteous and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by kutuma, Hotel Management
Thank you, we hope to see you again in the near future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Friendly, considerate, good location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Room and facilities excellent, and staff so welcoming and helpful.
Location: Walking distance to the main tourist attractions, metro very close, plenty of cafés handy.
Staff particularly open and friendly, welcoming even when I was unexpectedly delayed and arrived at midnight. Offered coffee and my luggage delivered to my room, walk-up 4 floors. Nice restaurant and popular, always busy but not too busy to be welcomed and attended to. My room was large and very comfortable, coffee machine, stovetop, frig, spacious and well appointed bathroom, king size bed, lots of pillows. Light and airy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Jia. Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Jenny!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place, great location, wonderful staff.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
They made our trip to Montreal immeasurably better. Traveling with an infant is always tough, but they made it so much easier. Also, the attached restaurant Le Nil Bleu is some of the best Ethiopian food I've ever had, and I have Ethiopian food often in NYC, DC and Philly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut, usa

unique hotel in montreals latin quarter

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: the sister Maghreb restaurant was very good, the flatbread accompanying each meal was new to us and i'll be seeking that out again in the future.
Cons: a couple of light fixtures [ incandescents] were loose but we didn't need them.
Location: within walking or short cab ride of downtown and other points of interest. many nearby restaurants of all descriptions.
my wife and I were bowled over by the room. a suite with an understated african motif. it had a full kitchen , a king bed and a comfy sitting area. it was large. the bathroom had ceramic tile flooring and walls with a 2 person whirlpool bath equipped with a rain shower showerhead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Location: Location was in a neighborhood on a main street which gave more of a Montreal flavor.
The staff was very helpful. It was a quiet hotel with only a few rooms. The only drawback was the stairs. Not a hotel for folks who can't manage them.