Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jane

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
One of the best hotels I have stayed at. The staff was absolutely incredible! Spa was out of this world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Even a brief visit is worth it

Posted Jan 12, 2017
I was only in Montreal for 24 hours but the comfort, coziness, cleanliness and old-world-charm of the hotel made for an enjoyable stay. Terrific staff, and beautifully appointed room. Restaurant, XO, is pretty as well.
5 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by donna

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
We were pleasantly surprised when we were double upgraded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

exceptional experience!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: beautiful ambiance, exceptionally well-trained staff
This was one of the best luxury hotel experiences we've had... and we've had some great ones! From the very friendly and accommodating front desk and bell staff who provided a great welcome, to highly attentive restaurant staff and great food that was brilliant plated, our stay exceeded all expectations. We have found a new favourite hotel whenever we come to Montreal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

St. James Hotel/ Montreal, Canada

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The staff is the best I have ever seen. Service to them is everything. The attitude and professionalism is unsurpassed. They were having problems with getting hot water to the rooms which was disappointing but the incredible service calmed that. However, since we booked through Expedia and Expedia paid the St. James, there was no way for the St. James to compensate us for the lack of hot water. Something to remember when booking through a second party.
5 out of 5
by Craig

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
We received an upgrade on arrival to a junior suite and were very happy about that. The hotel is in a charming, historic neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Excellent staff provided excellent recommendations to restaurants and things to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Exceptional Hotel, great location

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Location is very well situated. Right at the edge of old Montreal, great shopping, restaurants and sightseeing, and also at the edge of downtown.
Staff was excellent. Discreet, attentive, bilingual. Concierge was exceptionally knowledgeable with excellent restaurant recommendations. The room was extremely comfortable... we enjoyed spending time right in the room. It was quiet. Room service was excellent, particularly the duck poutine and the lobster cobb salad. Old Montreal is right there for unique shopping and sightseeing. I have no suggestions for improvement whatsoever. I would happily stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, Arkansas

Great stay in Monreal

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: The hotel upgraded us to a junior suite. Great room, great location, and great service! Had a wonderful meal at hotel. Will definitely be back!
Cons: I can't think of anything that I didn't like. I liked everything about the hotel
Location: Location was great and close to the old part of Montreal.