Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Even a brief visit is worth it

Posted Jan 12, 2017
I was only in Montreal for 24 hours but the comfort, coziness, cleanliness and old-world-charm of the hotel made for an enjoyable stay. Terrific staff, and beautifully appointed room. Restaurant, XO, is pretty as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

exceptional experience!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: beautiful ambiance, exceptionally well-trained staff
This was one of the best luxury hotel experiences we've had... and we've had some great ones! From the very friendly and accommodating front desk and bell staff who provided a great welcome, to highly attentive restaurant staff and great food that was brilliant plated, our stay exceeded all expectations. We have found a new favourite hotel whenever we come to Montreal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

St. James Hotel/ Montreal, Canada

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The staff is the best I have ever seen. Service to them is everything. The attitude and professionalism is unsurpassed. They were having problems with getting hot water to the rooms which was disappointing but the incredible service calmed that. However, since we booked through Expedia and Expedia paid the St. James, there was no way for the St. James to compensate us for the lack of hot water. Something to remember when booking through a second party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Excellent staff provided excellent recommendations to restaurants and things to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Exceptional Hotel, great location

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Location is very well situated. Right at the edge of old Montreal, great shopping, restaurants and sightseeing, and also at the edge of downtown.
Staff was excellent. Discreet, attentive, bilingual. Concierge was exceptionally knowledgeable with excellent restaurant recommendations. The room was extremely comfortable... we enjoyed spending time right in the room. It was quiet. Room service was excellent, particularly the duck poutine and the lobster cobb salad. Old Montreal is right there for unique shopping and sightseeing. I have no suggestions for improvement whatsoever. I would happily stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel in/near the old city

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Exuded old world charm.
Staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Walking distance to any of the Old City points of interest. Have never before used concierge services, but the staff here went above and beyond in securing reservations at top level restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Very convenient location, nice walk all around, go south for the old city and nice restaurants and go north for the busy down town with all shopping and businesses. hotel hosts are all friendly and decent always smiling and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Presently surprised

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Beautiful bitique hotel . 5 stars
We booked this hotel trough Expedia mistery , and I was glad we get this booking ! Highly recommend and next we will go Montreal we return .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whistler

Wonderful staff and beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2016
We loved our stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous and friendly. The bar staff were also very professional and pleasant and the hotel was located perfectly for us on a three day visit. Concierge was superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bc

Beautiful downtown hotel in Montreal. A bit $$

Posted Feb 28, 2016
A beautiful hotel with good service. Parking is underneath the building and seperate from both hotels.