Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenora Ontario Canada

Great central location in the heart of Montreal

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location location location.....older rooms and facilities were very quaint. Part of St. Catherine St. were pedestrian only. Limitless # of restaurants
Cons: I don't think this place could be retrofitted for an elevator so the 31 steps up to the lobby could pose a problem for people with mobility issues.
Location: Since you are in the heart on Montreal, everything is within close walking distance. Metro only half a block away.
This is an older hotel that has no elevator, but it was fine for us. Had the basics with a friendly staff and the 24 hour man when we arrived was most helpful. You get what you pay for.....very inexpensive.... and even included a AM continental breakfast - something you don't always get at higher priced hotels. Stayed for a week and thoughly enjoyed the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, Scotland

Good value hotel in decent location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: Easier to maintain a comfortable room temperature. Air conditioning and heater seemed to work against each other.
Location: Location not great for families due to number of sex shops, however if that sort of thing doesn't bother you then the location is fine.
Room was clean with all the amenities you would need, including fridge/freezer, microwave and cooker. Decent location - 10-15min walk to Old Town and similar to the Eton Centre/underground city.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Jasmine, Administration, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thank you for comment. We are happy to read that you were pleased with our location and that our amenities were to your taste. We are taking notes and will share all of your concerns with the proper person in charge in order to solve the issue right away. We hope we can welcome you back again during your next stay in our beautiful city,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barcelona, Cat

Combination of things made my stay not great

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast
Cons: Wifi nor the TV worked in my room, staff didn't care at all. There is a contruction in front of the hotel, noise at 7am
Location: Good, walking distance from old Montreal and down town. Shopping and restaurants nearby.
I was there as a solo traveller for 4 nights. There was nothig seriously wrong with the hotel, just a combination of little things that made my stay not as great as I expected. Wifi nor the TV worked in my room and staff didn't care about it, just said that this happens sometimes. Even checking in/out I had the feeling I was bothering them. There is a contruction in front of the hotel, not their fault but when works start at 7am it is anoying. Moreover, I gave them a laundry bag, was told that they would leave it in my room when clean and 3 days later I had to ask for it because they left it somewhere else, all was clean but creased and pilled in a bag. The bed wasn't particularly confy and shower couldn't be smaller. On the good side, breakfast was quiet nice with freshly baked pastries. Location was good for a tourist as well, walking distance from main attractions, shops and restaurants. Overall, it wasn't horrible but I wouldn't stay there if back in Montréal.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by administration, Hotel Management
Dear Ester. Thank you very much for expressing your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. My sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused regarding the service and experience you had while staying with us. I deeply regret that this has negatively affected your stay with us. We will transfer this information to the person in charge and we hope to bring all the necessary corrections to our staff. Sincerely Jasmine,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Satisfied repeat customer

Posted Apr 14, 2017
This was our second stay here and it was as enjoyable as the first. Very pleasant staff, easy check-in and check-out, nice accommodations, free wifi, and walking distance to lots of good food and entertainment. Will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Administration, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion regarding your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your time at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff ; we hope to welcome you again and again when your travels bring you back to Montreal ! Kind regards, Jasmine
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, but very old building.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Very good location. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to be close to the action. There's a subway station right close.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Jasmine, Administration, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment and review. As we are greatly located , we are pleased you found it pleasant and convenient! We are indeed located inside an historical building but that adds to our décor and flair. We hope we may welcome you again during your next stay with us in our beautiful city. Sincerely yours,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from QC

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Nice hotel, very well located. Very close from the city center which was pretty convinient!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Jasmine, Administration, Hotel Management
Dear Jacob, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed our location and the service we provided you with. On behalf of the entire staff at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, we hope to welcome you again when your next travel brings you back to Montreal. Kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business practice? Yuck

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
The advertisement at Hotels.com fails to mention that this hotel has no parking. Nearby overnight parking in Montreal is unlikely enough, and after a snowstorm is virtually impossible. Also, the ad. and reviews fail to mention it is in one of the seediest parts of Montreal, with a strip joint next door, and unseemly loiterers. Finally, even though I tried to use a Hotels.com coupon, it was not notified on the site that to 'pay at hotel' means not to have use of the coupon (an advertising fault of Hotels.com). I tried to change the booking method and was refused because even a week before the hotel was already fully booked, and Hotels.com didn't have a means of changing the payment method without releasing the room and trying to rebook !! Then, despite the hotel's apparent popularity and lack of difficulty filling rooms - probably because umpteen other bookers went for price not knowing these things either - when I tried to cancel the day before, Hotels.com contacted the hotel which disallowed cancellation within the 'window'. This is a situation of 'roping in' without due consideration by both Hotels.com and the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017
Good day and thank you for taking the time in writing us your review. Allow us to clarify that on the Expedia website, on our hotel page and listed under the section : '' You need to know''. It clearly states that our hotel doesn't provide free parking. Our pictures do not lie on our location, by looking at picture nu# 62 of our hotel front you can have a clear view of our establishment and it's adjacent buildings. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Unfortunately our policy is clear on the delay given and it remains that any cancelation must be made 48 hours before the check-in. Since you only contacted Booking.com 24H before, we were unable to accept your request. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by Richard

Clean room & good continental breakfast

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Best part was the continental breakfast. Room was clean but a strange design where the washroom is divided in two rooms where the toilet is is one room by itself and the sink and shower is in another room at the other end of the room. It was very noisy on the street side of the hotel. Did not slept very well. The remote control for the television was working only to tun the TV on or off. I reported the malfunction and was told that they were aware of the situation. I was told to change channels manually using the buttons on the TV.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017
Thank you for your review, indeed we are very proud of the breakfast that we offer and it's diversity of produce. We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction about the television. Unfortunately it is the way the remotes are currently programmed to work with the sets. We will bring it up to our maintenance team as to see how this can be improved. We do understand though about the noise, indeed being located at the heart of the downtown area and in the middle of the "entertainment district" it means that it is lively and animated at all times of the day. For this reason, we offer at our reception desk - earplugs that our guests may request for free- in order to help with any discomfort caused by the noise. We would like to thank you for taking the time in writing us your review. Have a nice day
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good location

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Very cute eclectic hotel. Noisy though. Walks are thin. Hotel staff were very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Hop Ho, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time in writing us your review. Have a nice day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017
Thank you for writing us your review, have a nice day !