Ratings based on 1,447 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Close walk to good restaurants, bars, museums and shopping areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

High quality in unassuming package. Total bargain!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The rooms and hotel are impeccably clean. The mattress was unbelievably comfortable. Staff was incredibly nice. The location is perfect for anyone wanting to explore all aspects of the city: walk to the Old Port, the funky Plateau or posh shopping area at the base of the Mont du Royal. The room is a bargain by any measure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Cute hotel on a great street

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Me and my college friends wanted to experience Montreal on a budget and this hotel was awesome. We had a great room that was nice and spacious which was nice because there was four of us. We went to many bars and restaurants all within walking distance. Such and awesome trip!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy neighbors, awesome upgrade

Posted Mar 16, 2017
My boyfriend and I stayed there for four nights and five days, but after the second night of super noisy neighbors waking us up every hour after midnight we decided to tell the front desk. The woman working the front desk that morning was so kind and immediately upgraded us to a suite for no additional charge and had it ready within two hours. We told her we didn't even need a new room, just maybe talk to the people next to us, but she insisted. It was so nice the new room and she was willing to assist us with any problem or question we had about the hotel or the area. However, on the morning of check out, there was a different man working and he had no idea what was going and seemed to have no clue what to do. So, our checkout set back our departure time by 20 minutes in an effort to beat a snow storm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

sketchy hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The keurig machine was neat. The price was great, and the location incredible. The parking was close by.
Cons: Clean the rooms, and add soundproofing.
Location: There were many things nearby, musuems, jazz restaurants, shopping centers. .
The hotel was ok in terms of location and price. The room clearly was dirty. There were hairs still on the bed and dirt in mattress. There was no soap in the room for washing hands. The kleenex box was used, they didn't even put a new box in the room. The toilet paper was so rough that it was irritating our skin. The sink was clogged. You could hear everything the people beside us were saying. Every word, every flush, every thing. So not peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Close to the interesting restaurants, staff are very friendly, professional and helpful. Small, but cozy hotel. UQAM is just crossing the street, feels the city full of energy and fresh air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RK

Nice hotel in town

Posted Jan 22, 2017
It was a really great experience in Montreal the hotel had guides for us to use so we went to different awesome places close by and drove around town to some really great place to take photos we had a great time at the st Denis hotel and we thank them for their hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scranton, PA

Great Little Hotel, Stay At This Place!

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Cons: The one thing that could be improved is the ENTIRE city needs to buy snow shovels and shovel in front of their businesses and houses!
It's a great little hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. It's a block from two different Metro stations, the next couple blocks up are filled with great places to eat. The bed was so comfy it was hard to get out of in the morning. There's a bank around the corner for currency exchange and it's a short walk to Old Montreal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant hotel - near all the action on St Denis

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Close to the St Denis action. Short walk to Old Montreal. Clean, comfortable but most importantly, the hotel staff were truly brilliant
Cons: Nothing to improve - was brilliant
Location: Pubs, restaurants, Old Montreal - all within walking distance
This was a truly brilliant experience at the Hotel St Denis. Affordable room near the action of St Denis Street and a short walk to Old Montreal. But what was truly amazing, was the hotel staff and management. They were without a doubt, the nicest group of people that I have ever met on my travels. Offered to help in any way possible, were truly professional and diligent in every aspect. The hotel room was clean, bed very comfortable, quiet surroundings and like mentioned earlier, close to both St Denis street and a short 10min walk to Old Montreal. For those looking for a Hilton - keep looking and pay serious $$$.. But for those looking for an experience like I have had in my many travels in Europe.. a hotel in city center for a decent price and with a hotel staff / management that are truly beyond compare.. St Denis is definitely my future choice for any upcoming visits to Montreal. My sincere thanks to Francois and the ownership of the Hotel St Denis for making this visit to Montreal truly brilliant ! FYI, I didn't get the names of the remaining hotel staff that I spoke with, but my sincere thank you for the one lad who went on an extended search for a wine corkscrew, with a smile on his face and did everything possible to help us out. Again, thank you so much !
3 out of 5
by Vivek

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
This is an affordable and very safe hotel on Rue St Denis near UQAM. However, I would not call this part of Montreal a family friendly area. Nearby food places are scattered through Rue St. Catherine amongst adult entertainment places. However, if you are not with family this works well.