Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

First impression

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Staff was nice and helpful. Location was at least convenient.
Cons: Exterior. Entire area leading up to the room where I stayed.
Location: Locaion was convenient but the particular area where the hotel is located was a bit sketchy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: location close to downtown
Cons: Needs a complete overhaul.
Location: Restaurants and shopping
- torn shower curtain -one window could not be closed -no telephone in room - leaky shower faucet bed sheets did not appear to have been changed; with hairs found on them -paper thin curtains - a quarter of a toilet roll and no extra - no maid service
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple hotel in good location.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We picked Star because of its price and location. You definitely get what you pay for here. Lobby and stairs very dirty, smelled like smoke. Room was ok, nothing fancy. Bed was clean, bathroom had hair on the floor and empty shampoo bottles in the shower. If you have low standards and are not looking for anything fancy then I would recommend this place. Just go into it with the mindset of staying at a hostel or motel, not a hotel. Staff were friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Worst hotel ever.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Disgusting hotel
Cons: Put this bldg down and rebuilt
Location: Location is good
Room was not ready, waited 3 hrs for the room. Dirty hotel, no heat, no hot water, no insonorisation. Very dirty
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommending

Posted Aug 29, 2015
I wasn't crazy about this hotel one bit.....no bathroom facilities, continental food is just bread and coffee/chocolate ...not even eggs .....too much of a luxury I guess...Bad Advertising and staff were a little rude just cuz I asked for soap.... The only good thing I have to say is the location is good and there are some really nice restaurants around....check out St Hubert.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Hotel smelled very bad. The room is very uncomfortable; no amenities. It's very hard to find parking if your are driving.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lousy location

Posted Aug 25, 2015
No bath soap, water barely trickled out of shower, ripped sofa, extra pillow did not have pillowcase
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia

Posted Jul 14, 2015
When we arrived reception not there, door locked. Very small family run hotel. Visitors must be flexible Staff, when there, delightful. Breakfast excellent. Positive cultural experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable, clean, and in a great area of Montreal

Posted Jun 27, 2015
If you are looking for a budget hotel in a good part of town, this is the place to stay. Just make sure you check in before 10pm or 11pm since the service desk closes at around that time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Cons: They don't provide shampoo and there is no hairdryer in the room.
Location: Locations is great. Few steps to Metro, next block to the village and close to other main attractions of Montreal downtown.
Place is nice and cozy. Nothing really special. Good affordable stay. The only great thing about this hotel is the perfect location.