Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever stay.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Worst service, Dirtiest Room, All building were worn out. Worst of the worst is the front staff. He is so rude and no respect to customer. Parking lot space is too small, I almost hit the fence. I strongly not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Sandra E., Hotel Management
Dear customer, Firstly, I offer you our deepest apologies for your experience and let you know that this is not representative of our establishment. Secondly, we apologize if there was a problem with the cleanliness of your room. We try to offer the best service to all our clients. If you wish to discuss the matter further, you can reach us directly. We hope that you choose to book with us again so that we can change your opinion of our establishment. Kindest wishes, Sandra E.
3 out of 5
by Yu-Han

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
I was disappointed with the wifi speed. The room was fine and spacious, more like an apartment style instead of hotel. The location was great and the reception staff was very helpful and nice. I had a great stay there overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017
Dear Yu-Han, Thanks for booking at Hotel Terrasse Royale! We appreciate that you took the time to leave us your comments. We are sorry that you had issues with the speed of our wifi. But we are happy that you enjoyed your room and its amenities, and our location! We hope that you book with us again! Kindest wishes, Sandra E.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Grand Forks, MN

Clean room in a nice location for my needs.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: My room overlooked the Oratory of St Joseph. It was kept clean.
Cons: Television needed repair in my room. Maintenance came but the problem persisted. Unable to charge my phone -fuse? or old wires? Privacy compromised.
Location: Location was nice-access to Restaurant Olivieri from building and a very busy popular street of typical needs frequented by students and locals.
I was happy with the location, the room, and the stacked kitchenette- dishes, glasses, settings..( discovered at the end of my stay) . This could be a longer term stay hotel.. For me , close to METRO, bookstore, the Oratory, friends to look up in the heart of Montreal.... etc..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Sandra E., Hotel Management
Dear Mona, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Your feedback is important for us. Thank you for letting us that you had a problem charging your phone. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your room and our location! We hope that you choose to book with us at Terrasse Royale again! Kindest wishes, Sandra E.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Room was nice and clean, hotel was decent and close to different restaurants and the University of Montreal (the reason for our stay)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Sandra E., Hotel Management
Thanks for choosing Hotel Terrasse Royale! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your room and our location! We hope that you book with us again! Kindest wishes, Sandra E
3 out of 5
by Karine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dishonest

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
The room itself was fine. The hotel very dishonest though, and didn't honor my reservation as submitted through hotels.com. I made a reservation for three adults, and the hotel rate through hotels.com was adjusted accordingly at the time I submitted my payment. When I got to the hotel however, and when asked how many people in the party, and when I said 3 ; I was asked to pay $20 extra for the third person. I disputed the charges, but the man at the desk told me that "...the room I paid for was for two people...", that I needed to be moved to a bigger room to accommodate three people, hence the charge. "...and that I am getting a discount even with the $20 extra." It was late, I didn't have the email confirmation with me, and paid the $20. Later, when I was able to retrieve my confirmation, everything was there: the reservation for three people, the adjusted rate, even a photo of the same room I eventually got for an extra $20.
4 out of 5
by Marc

Convenient and clean

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a different area than all the touristy hotels downtown, but this is a very good option for this area of the city. It's near the Oratoire and has lots of options for restaurants and great bakeries next door. Our room had a pretty new kitchenette and bathroom and it was clean. Even though it was New Year's Eve, we could not hear much noise from our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted Nov 21, 2016
This was my second stay at this hotel. It is in a great location with everything you need nearby and easy access to the metro down the street. The rooms are simple and clean and the price is good. If you're looking for luxury, this is not it. But if you're looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably-priced home base for a couple of days, this is the place!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly insulated, smoke in non-smoking rooms

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is lacking in a number of respects. 1) Very poor noise insulation. Throughout the night, I could hear noise from the adjoining rooms, as well as from the street. I live in a city, so street noise normally does not bother me, but the windows here are so thin that the street noise was a serious problem. Similarly for the neighbors: small noises seem to be amplified through the very thin walls. 2) The ventilation system is shared by smoking and non-smoking rooms. I could smell smoke on a number of occasions. 3) The towels were very old and harsh to the touch. 4) General state of repair: many things are old. Doors do not open easily. Electrical outlets are so old that plugs fall right out. And so on. In short: take your money elsewhere.