Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Grand Forks, MN

Clean room in a nice location for my needs.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: My room overlooked the Oratory of St Joseph. It was kept clean.
Cons: Television needed repair in my room. Maintenance came but the problem persisted. Unable to charge my phone -fuse? or old wires? Privacy compromised.
Location: Location was nice-access to Restaurant Olivieri from building and a very busy popular street of typical needs frequented by students and locals.
I was happy with the location, the room, and the stacked kitchenette- dishes, glasses, settings..( discovered at the end of my stay) . This could be a longer term stay hotel.. For me , close to METRO, bookstore, the Oratory, friends to look up in the heart of Montreal.... etc..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Room was nice and clean, hotel was decent and close to different restaurants and the University of Montreal (the reason for our stay)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted Nov 21, 2016
This was my second stay at this hotel. It is in a great location with everything you need nearby and easy access to the metro down the street. The rooms are simple and clean and the price is good. If you're looking for luxury, this is not it. But if you're looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably-priced home base for a couple of days, this is the place!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly insulated, smoke in non-smoking rooms

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is lacking in a number of respects. 1) Very poor noise insulation. Throughout the night, I could hear noise from the adjoining rooms, as well as from the street. I live in a city, so street noise normally does not bother me, but the windows here are so thin that the street noise was a serious problem. Similarly for the neighbors: small noises seem to be amplified through the very thin walls. 2) The ventilation system is shared by smoking and non-smoking rooms. I could smell smoke on a number of occasions. 3) The towels were very old and harsh to the touch. 4) General state of repair: many things are old. Doors do not open easily. Electrical outlets are so old that plugs fall right out. And so on. In short: take your money elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and good

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
location is great very accessible for commute. Room is clean, just need more improvement, even though we're in a non smoking we can still smell little traces of smoke fumes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, but Not Worth It

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room, but linens and towels were AWFUL. Wish I'd brought my own sheets and towels. The towels are teeny and like SANDPAPER. Housekeeping came in to clean our room, which we did not request, and they did not give us a fitted sheet for the bed. That means a top sheet was thrown on, to slip and slide all over the place. Not cool. The shower is set up in a way so you have to be standing IN IT to turn it on. I was looking forward to a bath in the tub. Nope - the stopper did not work at all. The water just ran through. Good thing I brought my own Kleenex, too, because they had the cheap, scratchy kind in the room. Gym could be nice, but they don't care and don't maintain it. Sign on the mirror basically said "Elliptical is always broken, but you're welcome to try and use it." Nothing provided to wipe down the equipment. Sad. The guy at the desk (I had to interrupt his playing on his phone) had me sign a waiver before I used the gym, and said "Please be careful - we don't want to clean up the mess if something happens to you..." The treadmill just came to a screeching halt in the middle of my workout. Luckily I managed to stay on, or they would have had to clean up the mess...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PEI, Canada

older hotel needs to be updated and freshened up

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Location was ideal for our visit to Montreal. Spacious room gave us room to entertain a few family members we were visiting.
Cons: The staff were less than friendly and not very inviting. We felt we were an inconvenience to the staff.
Location: Great location and lovely cafes and restaurants nearby for meals. Metro access just around corner.
Room was spacious and furniture was comfortable, however needs to be updated. Walls and floors need new coverings and/or paint.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice amenities, friendly staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Nice neighborhood, not too touristy but plenty of amenities. Got a good sense of the city and had good views. Relaxed, friendly staff, comfortable room - could use new rugs and updating but basically clean and well kept. Good value for the money. I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels