Ratings based on 1,360 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Great staff, location and ambiance

Posted May 17, 2017
Location was amazing but staff was better! Great place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Lovely hotel & the best of Old Montreal

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: The lunch and dinner menu for Suite 701was very limited and a little too pricey.
Location: Lots of boutiques, sights, and great restaurants in Old Montreal. The hotel is also right around the corner form the beautiful Notre-Dame Basilica.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Le Place d'Armes - the staff was wonderful & attentive. I was surprised upon my arrival to find that my room had only one small window but they immediately accommodated a change when I inquired at the desk. I had a junior suite with a wall of windows! The room was comfortable and cozy yet sophisticated. The breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced (I thought the dinner menu was a little too pricey though). The hotel was quiet, even though it was at the corner of two main streets. The hotel provided a great base from which to explore Old and new Montreal. And Rainspa was fabulous - an absolute treat. I'd definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character, elegance and service in Old Montreal

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location, service and the wonderful character of the hotel from inside to outside.
Cons: Better service in the Japanese restaurant. I meant to tell the manager that the light in the front cupboard of the Penthouse suite doesn't turn off.
Location: Very fun for walking around Vieux Montreal, also not more than 20 minute walk to downtown, and close to St. Laurent for walking through the Plateau.
I lived in Montreal a long time ago, but didn't get to Old Montreal much. We decided to base there when visiting with our 2 teenaged sons. What a great choice this hotel turned out to be. I booked the Penthouse suite then cancelled through Expedia and booked the Executive Suite. When we go there the hotel had no confirmation of the cancellation. Thankfully I showed the very professional and friendly young woman at the front desk, Olivia, my cancellation and she handled it. She disappeared for a few minutes and then ... Surprise! She had upgraded us to the Penthouse because the miscommunication about the cancellation had been between the hotel and Expedia - not us. We were thrilled! The three days we were there we had nothing but courteous and polite service. French is my second language, and I really wanted to practice - despite my mistakes they always answered me in French which I really appreciated. The room was comfortable, with turn-down service everynight. Beautifully cleaned for us when we were gone, and very quiet at night. The location was fabulous. Around the corner is an artisinal cafe for croissant and a good diner breakfast nearby at Eggspectation on Notre Dame Ouest. We ate at the Japanese restaurant Kyo in the hotel. Very good food, REALLY slow service. Followed by a billing error. Manager did her best to make up for the error. I would definitely stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Very nice hotel, great location, friendly staff.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The hotel has the best localcation in old Montreal. Not only close to every walkable restaurant in old Montreal, but also close to subway station and China town (if you want to see different things in Montreal). Hotel restaurant is great! Good price for Valet service, very helpful and friendly staff. Definitely recommend this hotel. BTW, hotel address on google map is wrong, if you need GPS lead you to hotel you need to search hotel restaurant address "Suit 701 Restaurant".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Perfect Location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Right across the square from Notre Dame and walking distance to the metro, Chinatown, and great restaurants. Great service from the staff and perfect room for an Old Montreal experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Excellent Location and hotel!!!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We had a 4 night stay in the penthouse suite, room 2705... amazing! From the second we arrived it was perfection! Room was great! Spacious for a family of 4. Location was in the heart of old town Montreal and walking distance to the waterfront. Hotel restaurant was amazing... salmon tartare was to die for! Staff were all friendly and helpful! Always offering assistance! Fresh waters delivered every night to the room. We will be back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff at the front desk had great customer service. The doormen were very helpful and friendly. One of the doormen Alex, brought us coffees and water while we were waiting for our (very late) tour bus. He also called the tour company for us to make sure they would pick us up. This hotel is very conveniently located to the Notre Dame Basilica, Old Port, and several restaurants/museums. We had a very spacious room with double queen beds. My one complaint is that the beds were harder than I am used to making them a bit uncomfortable. The hotel restaurant Suite 701 had good food although it was a bit pricey. Overall it was a great experience and we would love to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Great location, lovely rooms with luxury bathrooms

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Steps from Notre Dame, a few blocks from the Metro, and close to the water and streets of Vieux Montreal. Wonderful staff, Nespresso coffee maker in the huge room (we had a junior suite). Would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice staff, close to subway, Beautiful Notre Dame

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Robin Square local restaurant small and great and L'Original local restaurant very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location Great bar Great front desk

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Very enjoyable pleasant experience