Ratings based on 1,203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay St. Louis, MS

Escape in Old Town Montreal

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The moment we asked for something it appeared. The room was perfectly clean and spotless. The spa was amazing. The restaurant/bar was great.
Cons: For the first hotel stay in my life I'm going to say nothing. That says a lot, because I'm one of the pickiest hotel guests that you can find.
Location: Across the the street from Notre Dame Basillica. A few blocks from the Old Port. Near China Town, walking distance to great shops and restaurants.
The moment we arrived we were greated curbside by the bellman to take our car and our immense amount of luggage. The prompt and spot on service continued throughout our stay. The hotel did everything from recommending great restaurants to making sure that we used all of our discount coupons that they gave us for hotel services we used. Very refreshing. I am a stickler for cleanliness. This was probably the cleanest room I have every stayed in. The only downside was that is was near a fire station so we did hear a couple of fire engines, but in Old Town Montreal it seems that everything is near something that makes some noise, so that was really not an issue, and I'm a light sleeper. The hotel was so service oriented that they apologized in advanced that a room service order was going to take 20 minutes. It actually only took 15. The Rain Spa was amazing. The best massage I have every had. As a side note, the hotel was fully booked, but didn't feel crowded. It felt like a place that both a business traveler, a honeymooner, or a family would feel equally at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Nikolas Salouros, Hotel Management
Bonjour David, Thank you so much for this outstanding review. We are delighted to read that your first hotel stay was to your satisfaction and hope you will be back soon for a second stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindly, Nikolas Salouros
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Beautiful hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The location and wonderful staff.
Location: It's near Notre Dame and all the restaurants and shops in Old Montreal. You can also walk to Old Port.
We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The hotel staff was amazing! The room was clean and comfortable with nice amenities and an expresso machine. You couldn't ask for a better location in Old Montreal next to Notre Dame. The hotel is close to the Metro but you can walk to shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious, clean and lacked for nothing. The bathroom was beautifully tiled and laid out with separate walk in shower and a Jacuzzi tub. The service was outstanding, everyone made us feel welcome. We ate breakfast and dinner at Suite 701, the food was wonderful and even though there was an option to sit outside and enjoy spectacular weather, it was an experience to sit inside and soak up the atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed having afternoon cocktails on the Rooftop Terrace, I would highly recommend the 'White Sangria'. This hotel manages to cater splendidly for all kinds of travelers, from those visiting Montreal on business, to those like us enjoying a relaxing city break. The spa was wonderful and I wish that I had had more time to enjoy their many offerings, but the pedicure was an excellent choice given all the walking we were doing. If you get the chance, stay at Le Place d'Armes when you visit Montreal, we were so glad we did.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Excellent central location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Location, Excellent Room Size...
Location: located in Old Montreal, so its within walking distance to all of Viuex Montreal has to offer.
Location of this hotel is excellent... We came (from Quebec) to Montreal via train, hotel was a (approx) a 5 minute taxi drive from Montreal's Central train station. If you fly in, you'll be 25 minutes away from the airport. Place D'Armes is an old hotel, property is spread over 3 connected buildings built in the late 1800's, but don't let this fool you.. Once you set foot inside, you'll see hotel's interiors were recently renovated; every single modern amenity is there to greet you. Room was extremely roomy and with modern amenities... Wi-Fi, which in hotels can generally be "Iffy" is strong. Hotel's staff was extremely pleasant and helpful... From a tourist stand-point, location could not be better.. hotel's located in Old-Montreal quarters, so you'll be within walking distance of all its attractions, and right across from Place D'Armes, which is in front of the majestic basilica of Notre Dame.. We took advantage of the "Hop-On/Hop-Off" bus, which has a stop all of a half-a block from the hotel... this is the way to see Montreal....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location in old Montreal

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Staff, location and comfortable accommodations.
Best service I have ever encountered from hotel staff ever!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Boutique Hotel in Ideal Location

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Friendliness and competence of staff. Location, location, location. Vibe of a modern facility in repurposed older buildings.
Cons: Breakfast buffet: add organic yogurt and granola, smoked salmon and cream cheese.
Location: Sights of old Montreal; metro to Botanic Gardens--a must see; galleries and shopping in city.
Wonderful experience. Our reception was warm yet efficient and we were automatically upgraded to a large room overlooking a treed area. Place des Armes is a boutique hotel situated in an ideal location to stroll through old Montreal or to access the Metro to visit other sights. Located a few steps from Notre Dame, we easily to walked to each of the unique restaurants that we booked for our dinners. The day of our arrival we visited their roof terrace to relax outdoors and enjoy a beverage and snack. Dinner was at their Japanese restaurant--incredibly fresh and tender sashimi! The concierge was so helpful and appeared to love his job which made asking for assistance a pleasure. Regular cooked breakfast was delicious and much better value than the cold buffet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location old montresl

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Accommodating staff, grand hotel, great active restaurant, next to Norte dame cathedral, opens on the square, perfect for Old Port vacation. Large rooms with large bathrooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2016
It you're looking to stay in old Montreal this is the perfect place. You are just a short walk away from the notre dame bacillica, the pier and one of the best pastry shops in the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Nikolas Salouros, Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you for your comment. We are very happy you consider us the perfect place to stay in Old Montréal. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindly, Nikolas Salouros Director, Room Division
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and beautiful character

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Loved the building, style and comfort.
Cons: Housecleaning staff to wait for someone to answer door.
Location: Great location in old town. Everything within 30 minute walk.
Fantastic hotel from start to finish. Received a free upgrade on arrival to Superior King. Room beautifully decorated and very comfortable bed. Loved the roof-top bar. I will stay here every time I visit Montreal. Only issues were 1) the second floor of the main hotel building connects to the high ceiling lobby -so there is a bit of noise and 2) Housecleaning staff knock once then enter -need to use internal lock/have do not disturb sign out!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Nikolas Salouros, Hotel Management
Bonjour, Very happy to read that we are now your go to hotel in Montéal. We apologize for the situation with housekeeping and will assure to review procedures with all our staff. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindly, Nikolas Salouros Director, Room Division
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Moms birthday weekend

Posted May 2, 2016
Incredible from the moment we arrived. Staff was helpful and kind we got chocolate deliveries each afternoon and a night time turndown service with chocolates and water. This place is close to all the best parts of old Montreal. I will definitely come back !
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Nikolas Salouros, Hotel Management
Bonjour ashley, Thanks for your great review. We are happy that you had an incredible time during your moms birthday weekend. We look forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Kindly, Nikolas Salouros Director, Room Division