Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Didn't work out

Posted Sep 26, 2016
this place constituted one of the most erratic experiences i've ever had as a business traveller. one the one hand, as others have noted, the Majestik is not a hotel. it is a set of apartments in a fairly typical old walk up apartment building. it was a late booking, but i paid over $200 a night, not including a $20 parking charge at a lot down the block that had no in/out privileges. obviously there is no room service or breakfast. as others have noted, the Majestik makes an awful first impression. the carpet on the stairs is not just dirty--it is filthy. the wifi was very very spotty--the signal was dropping constantly, and was slow. the apartment i stayed in was fairly nicely appointed, but it definitely had that anonymous feeling that one gets when you stay at an airbnb that is solely used for rentals. the real deal breaker for me though, was that starting around 12 noon the apartment completely filled up with the smell of greasy food being cooked in the restaurants that face Sherbrooke. (there are 4 restaurants on the ground floor of the building). if i opened the windows it was worse. the smell of greasy fast food got worse and worse over the course of the day. there is literally no fresh air circulating in the apartment. the smell was coming out of every vent in the apartment. it got to the point that i felt nauseous and had to open the door to the hallway to try to get a bit of fresh air. based on this i definitely couldn't recommend this place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worked for Us - Close to McGill

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Proximity to McGill.
If you are looking for something close to McGill and don't need frills...this is your place. Found the entrance and style of the building charming and quite European. The original tile floors in the hallways are beautiful. The apartment itself was sufficient. Had everything we needed; sleeping space for 4 and was clean. Parking was located just around the corner on Parc and provided safe, garage parking that we could exit and enter if we wanted with ease.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location to downtown.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Close to downtown - able to walk around easily
Cons: Maintenance issues
Large rooms however attention required to maintenance issues such as loose taps, loose toilet bowl and leaking air conditioner. Wifi was spasmodic. No elevator would make it difficult for heavy bags.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Nice convenient hotel very close to the university

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The hotel is conveniently close to the university and to a lot of nice restaurants and stores. Clean and roomy. I would have rated the hotel higher if the air conditioning worked. Was transferred to another room with the same problem of air conditioning kicking out so had to spend the night turning air conditioner on everytime it kicked out. The adjacent parking charged US$35 instead of advertised $20/night. No one available to correct air or parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, On.

Great location

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Close to amnesties. Walking distance to university bars and downtown attractions. Small details could use improvement in room; low water pressure, providing variety of utensils (only had 4 spoons, but made due). Staff was very polite and helpful when making recommendations. Great location for tourism. Only caution: there's lots of stairs-42 from ground floor to room level. Got a good workout in. Asides from that, thoroughly enjoyed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the fence about this place

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Found this place for a last minute trip to Montreal. Sounded good. I would say it used to be an apartment that is now a hotel. No official lobby but someone is usually available or you have to call a number to check in. It definitely could be great...but isn't. Suites are cute, self contained units. Ours had full kitchen, separate bedroom and also a pull out couch unit in living room. Bathroom small but worked. Coffee machine broken but replaced right away when I mentioned it. Tv didn't work but we didn't need it. Websites say breakfast is included - it is not. There is no restaurant in the building but some next door and nearby. The carpets on the stairs are the dirtiest I've ever seen in a hotel. I don't think they ever vacuum them. Maid service was decent and we had fresh towels and coffee each day. There is no sign at the entrance - you wouldn't even know it was a hotel so make sure you know the address. Air conditioning worked well. The building is old and the wood floors and doors are loud and creaky. Slippers would have been nice. We were on top floor. There is no elevator. This is where things got odd and I won't recommend this place. I added an extra night which was no problem. A fellow brought the machine to my room ....it was 10:15am and checkout was 11am. Once paid, I know for sure that they cut the power to my room. Everything else worked except my room. I assume they wanted me to leave so they could clean it early. Coincidence? Nope. Rude? Absolutely
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice apartment!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Grocery stores and Metro station at your door.
Cons: The water pressure in the shower could be a little better.
Location: great central location
Nice I bedroom apartment with well equipped kitchen. Stainless steel appliances including a dishwasher. Hardwood floors through out, comfortable bed and couch. Ice cold air conditioning. Good Wi-Fi and cable television. It was really quite amazing considering the price. I would definitely return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Près du quartier des spectacles

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Je suis arrivée au mini bureau et personne n'y était, une note ayant un numéro était là j'ai pu rejoindre l'employé qui m'a rejoint, une très forte humidité règne déjà dans le lobby. L'employé n'avais pas ma réservation en note mais m'a quand même donner une chambre au prix inscrit sur ma réservation expédia. Une fois les clés en mains mon conjoint et mes enfants sont venus me rejoindre, la chambre a été rapidement nettoyer, plancher encore collant dans le salon , plusieurs graines sur le sol et le divan, le plafond de la douches décalotte de peintures par gros lambeau! Il y a eu une grosse orage qui a fait remonter et agiter le niveau de la toilette, j'ai voulu aller voir l'employe en question pour lui parler de tout cela et en montant au 3 E et dernier étages, une dizaines de plat et de chaudière accumulais de l'eau coulant du plafond !! Voilà les terribles odeurs d'humidité ! Vraiment nous étions mal pris ce fut un hôtel de dépannage et plus jamais je ne vais m'y rendre !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sainte-Anne-de-la-Pérade,Qc,Canada

Hôtel Majestik

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Air climatisée ne fonctionne pas et pas de stationnement inclus, j'ai déboursée 30$ de plus...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bates Motel would have been better

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Dirty, potlights hanging from wires, no water, dirty was terrified to stay