Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rankin Inlet

nice hotels

Posted Jan 18, 2017
overall it was an nice hotel but the room I stay in was bit too dark,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent price, good location

Posted Jan 16, 2017
This is an eccentric, eclectic hotel. It is clean and quiet with a few quirks. For the money, you can not beat the location and we felt safe there. The staff is friendly and helpful. This is a decent choice on a tight budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Just what I needed.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Fast wifi, good location, cheap
Cons: I think the hotel could do a better job managing expectations. I think people expect a 1 star price and a 5 star experience.
Location: 10 minute walk to everywhere, 5 minute uber to many more places.
I needed a cheap place to stay while I was in Montreal. I read the reviews and was hesitant to book this place but I took a chance and did it. I am happy I did. Celebrities is not a five star hotel but it does a great job at providing a basic hotel experience. Everyone was nice. The room was clean. The wifi was fast. The room was cleaned every other day. It is close to all the major tourist places, convention centers, and other landmarks. I would not stay here if you expect a five star experience. If you just need a basic place to stay for cheap money this place works great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Cute, cozy hotel!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: It was charming, different and felt authentic. The location was easy, the room was cozy and the street was very quiet.
Cons: The shower didn't have a door, just a curtain, and the shower-head couldn't be angled in a way that prevented water from soaking the floor outside it!
Location: A quick few blocks from the north end of Old Montreal, near the Marche Bonsecours and city hall. The other direction had shops and food closeby!
Cute hotel in an excellent location between Old Montreal and the Mile End. Very close to a subway station, shops and restaurants. The hotel building looks like an old, French-style house, with its dark wood lobby and exposed brick in the rooms. The street it was on was very quiet, as were the other hotel guests. I stayed with my boyfriend in a private room; it was a great spot for couples. But the dorm-style rooms would be perfect for lone travelers or students.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Security issue

Posted Nov 18, 2016
A unknown drunk male entered my room at 3pm. No staff on site and he refused to leave
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Great Room for the Price you Pay.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: I enjoyed the "Junior suite" with the king bed. It had a separate sitting room with the washroom. As well, the window seats were great. Also, super close to Old Montreal and downtown. Lastly, there is a beer store next door, if that's of any benefit to you!
Cons: The walls are paper thin in the rooms. But that's only a problem if you're looking for a good night's rest.
Location: Old Montreal is very close, as is downtown. Just north on Rue Saint-Dennis is a great blues bar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bug

Posted Oct 20, 2016
I found a bed bug around 2:00 at night and I cannot sleep on this bed. I kept awake the whole night. In the morning I went to the reception and complained about this situation. They refunded me the fee for this room and told me they will try to improve this situation. The staff is nice. However, the room is quiet small and there is bed bug. For people like me who is extremely afraid of bed bug, I really don't recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from US

Walking distance to St. Catherine's & Old Montreal

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Walk out the door and go right for St. Catherine's street or take a left for Old Montreal, both are a few minutes walk away.
Hotel reminded me of my college dormitory, including the lack of elevator to the fourth floor. Had to park up the street but the price was very reasonable and the hotel was close to everything, including a Convenience store and restaurant next door and two doors down respectively. If you're young, don't mind climbing stairs and want a reasonable room close to everything in Montreal, then this is the place for you. The "pull out couch" was a futon that was just the right size for my child, but a normal sized adult would find it uncomfortable. The toilet was enclosed but the shower was glass and part of the living room in the suite we rented. The staff does speak English too. The parking stymied me when I tried to get the car out on Canadian Thanksgiving: The usual entry door was locked. Learned that there was a code on my parking ticket and punched that in, along with the # sign, and the doors opened, everything else was easy. We were there on the weekend but we avoided the numbered parking spaces in the garage and found a space that didn't seem to be reserved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great place to stay to enjoy the beauty of Mtl

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Situation, feel and coziness. Also the staff...
Cons: TV remote didn't work.... but so what!!!
Location: See the old town, Chinatown, and great to walk around to see this beautiful city... like Harold. ... I'll be back. ...
Great, cosy and practical to see the old Mtl and the city. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. ... if in Mtl again I will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can be great with some luck.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: I stayed in the suite, and it was clean and had enough space considering the location.
Cons: The room wasn't ready until 7pm.