Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Mystery Hotel Dirty

Posted Nov 1, 2016
First, let me say that normally my experience with expedia flights and hotels has been fine. This is the first time that I tried their "mystery" hotel process in which you find out what hotel it is that you are staying at after you book and pay. It was too good to be true, a 3 star hotel by the Montreal airport with a free shuttle to the airport for way less than what an airport hotel would cost - yes, indeed, too good to be true. After paying for the mystery hotel, and finding out it was the Travelodge by the Montreal airport, I was very taken aback by the other reviews but like any experienced traveller, I decided to experience it for myself and make my own judgment. From the outside and the reception area, the Travelodge appears to be a decent 3 star but not so after leaving the reception area and walking to my room. The farther I got away from the reception area, the more the hotel deteriorated with shabby walls and dirty carpets, and there was no exception with the hotel room either. The couch was filthy with spots and stains on it so I wouldn't even sit on it, as was the chair at the desk. The side tables, coffee table and desk were worn and covered with ring marks. The carpet was filthy, so much so that I didn't feel comfortable taking off my socks...even the little pad of paper by on the side table by the bed had a small stain on it. I will not stay here again nor use the mystery hotel process again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

close to airport, cheap

Posted Oct 24, 2016
A little hard to find this place, but it was nice and more importantly close to the airport. They couldn't have found a room farther away from the front desk for us though, and gave us no instructions as to if we could have parked closer to the room. Apparently it was built for Expo 67, when the codes limited the height of the building so it is REALLY spread out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sub-standard Hotel and I will not stay here again,

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: NONE. I normally stay at Holiday Inn, unfortunately it was not available at the time. in fact, very disappointed, and the staff is not very friendly
Cons: Outside look alright. But, the rest are sub-standard, earth smell, old and not very clean. I had to ask to move to the better section, the Clerk was not very friendly and willing but finally made it happy for my last 3 nights. Not very well kelp, rundown inside. We did not eat in at the Hotel, because the restaurant has some abnormal smells and feel not sanitary...
Location: OK, for my work
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Hotel was adequate for an overnight stay.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Cons: Terrible wifi. Outdated.
Location: Too far from everything but airport. You need to take the bus + metro to get downtown.
The hotel is deceiving, the lobby and common areas were very nice, when you get to your room that's another story, it was clean but needs a makeover. Old and outdated. Wallpaper and paint is peeling and bathroom is mouldy. The door didn't was so warped it wouldn't even close. You can hear other guests in there rooms and noisy plumbing. DO NOT eat here, the menu for breakfast has only 2 items, I had the omelette. They only have white toast( butter on side). I haven't eaten white bread in 20 years! The waitress was so put out when I asked for a take out coffee! The breakfast was only ok. The wifi was very terrible, it was always dropping out. And I needed to constantly log back in. The staff is friendly and the front desk girl accommodating. Overall only stay here if you need to get in and out of Montreal fast! Won't stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from j

Comforters haven't been washed. Needs renovations

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Hotel needs updating. The 1970s bedspreads haven't been washed in a long time. Very dated. Limited bathroom supplies. Front desk was having a bad day. Bed was comfortable though. Need a quick place to stay well this is for you. Looking for a bit more than 100 dollars a night better try another. This is a 60$ hotel charging 100$ on a discount
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Hotel was not close to anything. Expensive taxi rides to downtown Montreal and back.
Restaurant not open on weekend. Had to order out and get delivery to hotel as too far from anything. Hallways were never vacuumed when we were there. Garbage under our beds and needed to be vacuumed. Only friendly staff was at front desk. And when the restaurant opened Monday the lady was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Disappointing

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Nothing. It kept the rain off.
Cons: Change the staff for people willing to serve travelers, improve the quality of the linens. Upgrade the WiFi so it works throughout the building.
Location: This location was near the airport. Not a lot to do nearby but closer to relatives we were visiting than downtown.
This hotel needs attention. The sheer curtains in our room were slashed. The bathroom sink could not hold water; the plug mechanism was detached. The room was clean but depressing. We had trouble getting more than two rough and skinny bath towels, as in no bath mat, no wash cloths, no hand towels. Also we were placed almost as far from the desk as possible. The WiFi did not work in that area. The desk staff claimed that they would reset it but it never worked in our room, only in the lobby. The desk staff bordered on rude. The clerk told me abruptly that we had a smoking room; fortunately I had printed the reservation that specified no smoking. She said I was lucky she still had a non-smoking room. Very rude tone. The staff was generally dismissive. Oddly, the room cleaners were far more pleasant than the desk staff. Of course we did not immediately address them in French and we have an English name (which doesn't mean we can't understand or speak French). They were clearly not interested in communication and we had to drag information out of them. Each occasion was excrutiating, like being slapped. This was not my usual experience in Montreal. I would never willingly stay in this lodging again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newmarket, on

Get what you pay for

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Decent hotel. Maid service could use an upgrade, rooms weren't vacuumed, bathroom floor was dirty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Very friendly staff

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Very quiet location
Everything was very nice. Awesome beds. Decent breakfast. Most friendly staff ever.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Poor customer service dirty rooms

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Though we arrived @3we had to wait for 15minutes to check in.there was a dead squirrel just outside the main door,no drinking water in the room or in reception..etc..overall a terrible experience.