Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Warm welcome. Beautiful recently renovated rooms. Very nice place to stay. Breakfast ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The character of the hotel - very reminiscent of an old English pub.
Cons: The cleanliness of the cutlery and crockery.
Location: The hotel is right in the centre of town. You can walk around the remparts if the weather is good.
We only spent one night here on the way back to Calais. The hotel itself was full of character, the bar had the feel of an old English pub and the outside courtyard would have been a pleasant place to sit at night with a drink if we had been there for longer. Our room was very clean and tidy but wasn't too sure about the toilet being separate from the bathroom as they were at opposite ends of the room! Breakfast was a bit disappointing and the cutlery and crockery could have done with a good wash! However the staff were friendly.
5 out of 5
by Richard

A memorable experience

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Charming town. Hotel very comfortable and the breakfast selections were abundant. Had dinner at the connected restaurant and it was well served and very tasty. Receptionist was very efficient.
5 out of 5
by Julie

Lovely hotel.

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here after driving from Brittany and wanting to be near Calais. Was very pleased with hotel. Lovely people. Nice courtyard to have drinks in the sun lots to see. Not far from Calais. We will return and have a good look round the area. Our room was lovely Even had a kettle in. Finished our holiday off nicely.
3 out of 5
by Marjorie

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is excellent with very friendly staff. Unfortunately the room we were given was very small with very little space around the bed (very comfortable).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and relaxed

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Very nice stay room staff and restaurant thwarts it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Character Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Characterful.
Cons: For the price it is good.
Location: Central in the town.
Welcoming and helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Cosy lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Well located character hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: A nice character building well located close to the main square. It's a shortish drive from the chunnel, and a pretty one if you take the coast road through Boulogne and Wimereux. The rooms are clustered around a pretty courtyard with a fountain. We stayed in a more modern motel-style block; the rooms here are comfortable and spacious though a bit characterless. The beds are large and comfortable though. Since we last stayed here a few years ago, the restaurant has moved to another building next door, and the food here was very good and excellent value. The breakfasts in the breakfast room are particularly good.
Cons: The room and the bathroom in particular needs updating; the shower was broken and the finishes are by today's standards a bit ugly. Though I guess a facilities upgrade would come at a price! Parking can be rather difficult if you don't pay the 10 Euro extra to park in the hotel yard. Thursday evening is an odd time to close the restaurant, but there are other choices nearby.
Location: A walk round the ramparts is lovely and takes an hour or so. Le Touquet is nearby and a great day trip. Vinophile is a great wine shop close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good Location for a Short Trip to France

Posted Oct 9, 2016
We stayed at this hotel for one night during a short trip to France. We found both the receptionist and the barman to be very friendly and helpful. Our room was in the annexe at the back of the hotel and had everything we needed for a one night stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable however both the bedroom and bathroom looked a little tired and could have done with a bit of a "face lift". We parked our car in a the hotel garage overnight at a cost of 9 euros. The main hotel building has a lovely bar and courtyard area where you can sit and relax with a drink. Unfortunately our stay coincided with a group of around 10 rowdy Belgian men who seemed to think they could use the bar area for their own private drinking party for several hours during the afternoon and early evening with no consideration for other guests who might also like to have a drink. The receptionist and barman did apologise several times and are obviously not responsible for the bad behaviour of other guests. They did also then arrange for us to have a drink served in the mezzanine area above the bar so we did not have to witness the behaviour of the other guests, though we could still hear them. We ate dinner in the The Patio restaurant which was lovely and I will review this separately. Just to say it had a nice ambience and the food was wonderful. After dinner we returned to the hotel bar to find it now empty and so enjoyed a quiet drink with a couple of other hotel guests. Our room in
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thank you

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely town, fantastic breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff, nice property!