Ratings based on 665 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near train station

Posted Jan 24, 2018
Nice hotel located just opposite the train station. Very convenient and transport is easily access to various places of interest in montreux. Most staff are helpful, except one of them who picked our call and was very rude mainly because she could not really understand our request. Everything else is great for a stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2018 by Sales & Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear pris, Thank you for your positive review. It makes us very happy to read that your stay went well. Please don’t hesitate to contact us is there is anything else we can help you with. With our best regards. Your Suisse-Majestic team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Superb Location

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Central location
Cons: Pillows
Location: Visited the Castle and Freddie Mercury museum
Lovely hotel . Our room was right opposite the train station not that you would know. Room was a little too warm and the pillows a little too flat . Did not eat in the hotel but the views from the restaurant looked amazing even in January.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Sales & Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very lovely review. We are glad to read you spend a nice stay with us and enjoyed our location and rooms. We would love to welcome you back in our hotel for your future visit to Montreux. Don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. With our best regards. Your Suisse-Majestic team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swiss

Elegant and historic, conveniently located

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Recently renovated, the bathrooms and fit out are first cabin. Other than breakfast, restaurants in hotel were not open during our stay (New Years).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2018 by Sales & Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Brad, Thank you for your lovely review. It makes us very happy to read that everything went well. Please don’t hesitate to contact us is there is anything else we can help you with. With our best regards. Your Suisse-Majestic team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Good and easy to find , really cross the train station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great hotel in a great location!

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Should define kto be a 5 star hotel! Beautiful, clean, spacious rooms, right across from the board walk and train station in the heart of the town. We had a lake fire room which made it even better!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Sales & Marketing Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Alana, Thank you for your kind comment and review! It makes us very happy to read that your stay went well. Please don’t hesitate to contact us is there is anything else we can help you with. With our best regards. Your Suisse-Majestic team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Excellent location for views and public transport

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The hotel is directly opposite Montreux train station and sits on the lakeside with amazing views (uninterrupted on high floors). The outside reminds me of the Ritz hotel but that's where the similarity ends. Check-in was simple and staff great. The lake view room was small (by my own standards/opinion) and whilst the cleanliness was 5* the lack of coffee making facilities was disappointing and no toothbrush. Just scrapes a 4* however I would double size the rooms and upgrade to 5* The potential is there and I would pay double too
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Sales & Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear TJ. Thank you for your review that we have taken into account. It makes us very happy to read that your overall stay went well. We are delighted to read that yyou found our staff to be great and you enjoyed our confortable location in front of the train station. Please don’t hesitate to contact us is there is anything else we can help you with. With our best regards. Your Suisse-Majestic team.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county, ca

Great location but uncomfortable

Posted Oct 27, 2017
We stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon in October. They shut down the AC after summer so even though it was hot out, we were unable to control the temperature in our room and had trouble sleeping. It seems like most hotels in Europe offer double beds but other place another mattress on top of the two beds to connect them. Suisse has two beds pushed up together and they are not very comfortable. The pillows are very flat as well. I wouldn’t expect much from a cheaper hotel but since this one is pricey we hoped for more comfort, as that’s the primary reason to book a hotel...sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Sales & Marketing Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear claudette, First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback and feel truly sorry to read that your room didn't manage to reach your expectations. Regarding the temperature, we have a historical building and it takes some time to change the room temperature. We do our best to find a convenient temperature to satisfy all our guests. We will do all our best to change this experience on your next visit to Montreux and we will hopefully be able to welcome you again. With our best regards.Your Suisse Majestic team
5 out of 5
by Amy

Amazing time

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
We had a fabulous time here for my mum’s birthday. We were lucky enough to have rooms beside each other all with big balconies (we had one junior suite in the middle of luxury lake view rooms. The view is magnificent of the lake, definitely worth paying more for a lake view. We were so fortunate to have sunny weather in October. There are lots of things to do nearby: crazy golf, market stalls on Sunday, casino, a boat trip around the lake for a few hours, some shops, and you can take the train to nearby places like Vevey. They are currently refurbishing the front beside the terrace restaurant but this wasn’t an issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017
Dear Amy Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice feedback and thank you for choosing the Grand Hôtel Suisse-Majestic! We are beyond happy to read that you appreciated your room as well as our comfortable location in front of the train station and were able to spend a nice stay with your mum! We are glad we managed to reach your expectations! We will not forget to pass the message to our different teams who will be delighted to read that you also had a great impression of their services. We will be delighted to welcome you back in your next trip to Montreux so don’t hesitate to contact us whenever you will want to book your next reservation! With our best regards, Your Suisse-Majestic team
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Great hotel. Staff could be friendlier.

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. Great location. Awesome restaurant (not breakfast). Front desk service was ridiculous. No common sense and black and white rules. I guess being "professional" means you can't be friendly. Beware to check your bill as breakfast can magically appear even if you don't go. The layout of the tub/shower makes it difficult/uncomfortable to use. Just a bad design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Great location right across from train station and the lake. Jr suite was very large and comfortable. The view of the lake was awesome. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in Montreux.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Sales & Marketing Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear bondman, Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice feedback and for your recommendation! We are beyond happy to read that you appreciated our hotel as well as our comfortable location in front of the train station and were able to enjoy your room. We are glad we managed to reach your expectations! We will not forget to pass the message to our different teams who will be delighted to read that you also had a great impression of their services. We will be delighted to welcome you back in your next trip to Montreux so don’t hesitate to contact us whenever you will want to book your next reservation! With our best regards, Your Suisse-Majestic team.