Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely position on lake

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Location: chillon castle. rochers da nay. vevey.
We really enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room clean and tidy. Beds very clean and comfortable. Bathroom needed bit of attention. Breakfast good, plenty of choice. Wonderful views. We had room with balcony and lake view. The hotel is ornate and grand.Perhaps needs bit of tlc. But loved the ambience and atmosphere. We would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool England

Most majestic hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: It was on the front of Lake Geneva with the most spectacular views
Cons: N/A
Location: Steam boat trips, Freddie Mercury statue, outdoor market La Chateau all within walking distance, many shops to explore plus the Casino open until 4am
From the minute I walked into this hotel I felt special, from the majestic reception area to the two glass elevators and it's spectacular view of Lake Geneva I knew I had chosen the best hotel. The hotel staff where so helpful and took time to have conversations with me this in itself is great as they didn't try to rush you away they where all amazing. We where provided with free bus and train tickets for around the city, which also gave us discounts on tourist attractions. My room had a view right over the lake, a queen bed that was so comfortable with four pillows was some of the best nights sleep I've had whilst on holiday. The rooms where cleaned every day I was there and towels where changed every day also. I didn't eat at the restaurants but I did go to view them and they where very clean and spacious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Eden Palace is no palace

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: On the lake front.
Cons: Rooms need to be remodeled.
Location: Great location on the lake. Close to restaurants (very expensive). Casino nearby.
Rooms are old and lack good air conditioning. Our air conditioner was a portable unit occupying space inside the room. Our friends room had a wall unit. The views are great if you get a room with a view to the lake. The elevator does not go to the ground floor so you have to lug your luggage up a half flight of stairs. No one was available to help us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff uk

Nice hotel, lakeside, close to Fred. Merc. Statue

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Great location. Staff very attentive and friendly especially reception and Maitre di in restaurant Pool very quiet so perfect Only thing was the hotel needed many more staff at breakfast. Tables weren't cleared, teas and coffees not brought, people standing waiting for a very long time, even though loads if tables that just needed clearing. Due to lack of staff. Simple to put right if hotel reads this and takes notice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Nice hotel in need of updating

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: The view from our room was spectacular
Cons: Air con in the rooms and could benefite from updating
Location: Fantastic location n edge of Lake Geneva, boat available to go to little towns on the lake
This is a lovely hotel, great views of the lake. No air con in rooms, can be very hot. Quite expensive
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Room 509 is to be avoided!

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Inspection, repairs, tell guest before arrival about facilities in room being offered.
Location: Lovely walks and views. The Freddie Mercury experience exhibition.Boat tours around Lake Geneva. Lots of shops and restaurants.
Hotel looks lovely online and in brochures but is is old and needs updating. Modern facilities such as air conditioning and even adequate shower facilities were lacking in room 509. Too many excuses made by staff ultimately we felt conned! The room was in state of disrepair with broken tiles, flaking paint and a shattered sink which was not pleasant to use. Star rating for the hotel is 4 but room was not, should not have been offered until brought to standard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Furnishings seemed pretty worn.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Nice experience. Wait staff in restaurant could be more attentive. Hotel looked tired and worn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K

A stylish hotel with a wonderful view.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The position. Breakfasts, the terrace, the architecture.
Cons: A way of cooling the back bedrooms.
Location: Montreux and Vevey are very attractive towns with plenty of things to do for all ages. Lake and mountain scenery is spectacular.
We were staying here for the second time, but only after many years. The hotel lived up to our memories in its warm welcome, friendly and attentive staff and wonderful position by Lake Geneva. The fine breakfasts were a significant part of our memories and our current experience. We were in Montreux during a heatwave and a less pleasant part of memory and current experience were the hot conditions in the bedroom and the noise when the windows were open. But this was a back room on the fifth floor, in keeping with our budget, and all rooms on lower floors have balconies and many have fine views over the lake.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose

Not what it looks like

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Went to check in and my room had a noise. I called the front desk and didn't believe me. They sent a very nice gentlemen called Riu who helped that and stay and called and said there was a noise. So they changed me and the new room had a broken Air condition. They repaired it 5 times. The man riu came and was the one who tried to change my room but at the front desk they didn't care. I bought a knife and fork for picnic outside they took it away I showed the recieipt to the front desk and didn't to anything, the next day when I asked again they brought one to "borrow" but never give one back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the lake with beautiful views!!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Right on the lake with such beautiful views. The staff were friendly and helpful.