Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K

A stylish hotel with a wonderful view.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The position. Breakfasts, the terrace, the architecture.
Cons: A way of cooling the back bedrooms.
Location: Montreux and Vevey are very attractive towns with plenty of things to do for all ages. Lake and mountain scenery is spectacular.
We were staying here for the second time, but only after many years. The hotel lived up to our memories in its warm welcome, friendly and attentive staff and wonderful position by Lake Geneva. The fine breakfasts were a significant part of our memories and our current experience. We were in Montreux during a heatwave and a less pleasant part of memory and current experience were the hot conditions in the bedroom and the noise when the windows were open. But this was a back room on the fifth floor, in keeping with our budget, and all rooms on lower floors have balconies and many have fine views over the lake.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose

Not what it looks like

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Went to check in and my room had a noise. I called the front desk and didn't believe me. They sent a very nice gentlemen called Riu who helped that and stay and called and said there was a noise. So they changed me and the new room had a broken Air condition. They repaired it 5 times. The man riu came and was the one who tried to change my room but at the front desk they didn't care. I bought a knife and fork for picnic outside they took it away I showed the recieipt to the front desk and didn't to anything, the next day when I asked again they brought one to "borrow" but never give one back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the lake with beautiful views!!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Right on the lake with such beautiful views. The staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The location. Room with balcony overlooked lake. All staff very friendly and professional. Super restaurant, with dinner served in garden,
Location: Overlooking lake and situated on traffic free prom. Ten minutes,uphill walk to train station, five minutes to steamers.
Most enjoyable stay at this hotel, once again. Everything and everybody great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from India

Good location. rooms need improvement..

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location and its proximity to the riviera.
Cons: Rooms are small and lacks interior and facility. Not value for money.
Location: Close proximity to riviera
Location is very good, but the rooms are not so. Rooms need much improvement in terms of space and facility. The aircon was not working but the staff tried to mend it after we reported it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A hotel that needs to renovate!

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: There was a pass to travel around the region free which was provided and that was nice. The Dining room was nice
Cons: The whole hotel needs an uplift
Location: Long walks along the lake and 20 mins walk to Chateu Chillion and easy to walk to anywhere
Nice area on Montreux and amazing view from the dining hall and reception area. Great in the summer. The hotel looks old and needs an uplift. Was disappointed as looking forward to the stay, when arrived in the room, i thought I was in the 1950s and the facilities was so old and tired. The sink was so cracked, the carpet was so old. The cupboards and all were just 1930s old. The hallway was so empty and plain. Not worth the price to be paid! Asked for a lake view but everything was just about supplement payments even though they were not busy! There was no initiative to upgrade or anything special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, Australia

Charming, incredible views, bit tired.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Wotif
The hotel would have been spectacular when it was built, and should be again. We were blown away by the views from our balcony rooms but we're let down by the finishes. Rooms and bathrooms were a little small but practical. Breakfast was lovely and staff were fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
fine older hotel could use upgrades but would recommend, great views
5 out of 5
by John

Brilliant hotel with stunning views in great town

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely fabulous hotel in a brilliant vibrant little town (Montreux). Clean, comfortable room overlooking the gorgeous lake with an absolutely stunning view of the mountains behind it -- just brilliant!!
4 out of 5
by Amit

Very nice location

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay for 1 night. Location of hotel is perfect...can recommend lake facing room. Also the breakfast we ordered in the room was very good.