Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire, UK

Lovely spacious room

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Our room was massive which is very important to me having to share it with my two teenage daughters. It was spacious with 3 single beds, a 3 seater sofa and a table and chairs. The ceilings are fabulously high and plenty of bathroom space for all of us as well as a walk in wardrobe.There are full length French doors out to a balcony with a table and chairs and a view of the lake and mountains beyond the casino. It is a little tired in places with some peeling paint here and there and the bath is worn but it was really deep and long and the shower had really good pressure. Another bonus for us was all the UK TV channels. As I have relatives in Montreux I will be definitely using this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Grand hotel attached to fabulous brasserie

Posted Dec 16, 2017
My family (with two young girls) and I have stayed here two years running for the Christmas Market. My girls especially love the grand nature of the rooms and the ballroom for breakfast. My wife and I love dining in La Brasserie which has wonderful food and very friendly helpful staff. The accommodation and bathrooms are old style, but clean and functional, and the beds are very comfortable. Each bedroom appears to be different in lay-out and style to the others, on our first visit we had a huge suite - we will be asking for that again next time. You need to book directly with the hotel if you need the hotel's parking, otherwise, overnight parking the Casino carpark close by was CHF27.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln UK

nice location

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Lady at the reception was very helpful and gave us information about trip to Evian (France). Big Room with separate sitting area.
4 out of 5
by Yucel

You can stay after than renovation

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Nice but old style hotel.good news is it will renovation in 2018. Breakfast was poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wollongong, Australia

Wonderful stay in a grand old hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: We loved everything about it, from the breakfast to the friendly staff - despite the renovations happening at the time.
Location: Great location right in the heart of Montreux.
We have a lovely stay in a room that was big enough for our family of five. The hotel has so much charm, with its old wooden lifts and quirky room designs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Oregon, USA

Quaint hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: Warn guests if there are many stairs to climb.
Location: Train, shops, vintage church, short walk to view Matterhorn.
We would have preferred to have a room on the second floor. Didn't realize when booking it was 76 stairs from the street to our room on the 4th level. The room was clean and comfortable but too much work for us in our 70's to pack luggage up the stairs, since there was no lift. Right in the middle of Zermatt though so close to many shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

An historic hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Its character
Cons: A full cooked breakfast is not available which was disappointing
Location: It is opposite the Casino concert hall. The shops are good. Plenty of restaurants and cultural sites.
This hotel was built in 1865. It is not a luxury hotel but one which is full of character. The restaurant is extremely good. It is currently going through a program of refurbishment. It is in the centre of Montreux close to the shops and theatres and as all hotels in the city comes with complimentary passes to public transport.
3 out of 5
by RITA

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
No air-conditioning. Room is small not same as the picture on hotel.com. Breakfast not included. But it is convenient,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel needs refurbishment