Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great hotel with amazing service!

Posted Jan 12, 2018
We were so pleased to stay at this hotel over our Christmas break this year. We chose it as it was lakeside, and had a spa/sauna/pool on site. The hotel was lovely - while there are some older parts to the hotel, our room was huge and spacious, with a gorgeous balcony overlooking the lake. Our bathroom had been recently renovated, and the room had every single thing we needed. We had a chance to enjoy the bar and the restaurant downstairs, and thoroughly enjoyed our experience with both. The bar has a great vibe to it, and was fun for a pre-dinner drink and appetizer. Dinner was amazing, and the service was top notch. We also had a chance to enjoy the spa and pool - the pool is gorgeous and perfectly heated. We were a bit disappointed with the Jacuzzi, as it wasn't as hot as we are used to at home in Canada, but the saunas more than made up for it. Having free access to those services was well worth the stay at the hotel in itself. Most importantly, the staff were INCREDIBLE. They were so helpful and pleasant to deal with, and took the time to answer all our questions, and help us sort out how to travel to our tourist destinations so we were not left scrambling to figure it out. We look forward to coming back to stay again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kuwait

The hotel location,view perfect.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
I came with my wife late at night to check in. They gave me a room with 2 separate matress and 2 covers .. instead of giving me a king bed with a welcoming flours on the bed as i made upgrade for my room. I slept cause i was tired no time to tell them about the covers. The second day I asked to make it 1 bed .. and i told them that im with my wife.. but still .. i found 2 covers on the bed ... in addition there was problem with the electricity in the room .. i asked to fix it... they told me cause its late i should wait untill the morning so I slept in the room with half of the room electricity working and the other half is not ... A hotel with this location and this price supposed to give a better service I told the manager about the issue he reduced the upgrade price.. I took my car then heading to chamonix hotel my second distination .. I reached almost half way ... and i found out that the road are closed .. so i made a u turn going back to Montreux then to Geneve and again to Chamonix .. so i spend 5 hours in the car driving.. if just the hotel told us that the road are closed in this way due of the bad weather( as they supposed to know about the weather around and warn there gust about the weather )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Royal Plaza Montreux and Spa

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Fabulous Hotel, friendly and helpful staff. I stayed in a Deluxe Room with balcony and lake views which was fabulous. Got to Chillon Castle and Montreux March'es quite easy from there. Montreux is beautiful. The only criticism i have is 30CHF for breakfast. I get its a 5 star hotel, but my breakfast was included at Kempinski Grand Hotel which is 5 star in St Moritz and i didnt pay anything for it, and for what i ate at the Royal Plaza it definetely was not 30CHF worth. My dinner the night before cost me 38CHF with wine. Other places where ive had to pay for breakfast its usually between 16-20CHF max. I loved the hotel but i think that is far too high a price for breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackpool

Good but not great.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Fantastic location and views but charging 25chf for parking and also charging to use more than two coffee pods in our room wasn't what I would expect from a 5 star hotel. But can't fault the staff and beautiful views from our room. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

The PERFECT Christmas break

Posted Dec 2, 2017
If you’re looking to do a Switzerland Christmas Market then you HAVE to visit Montreux and stay in this beautiful hotel! The flight from London Heathrow to Geneva airport took less than an hour and 15 mins. From Geneva to Montreux grab the train which takes just over an hour and sit on the right hand side to see the most beautiful views of the mountains around Lake Geneva. If you stay here, you must book a room with a lake view. It’s a MUST. So breathtakingly beautiful. The rooms have a huge telly with English channels, bathrobes and slippers are provided, and adaptors if you’re like myself and forget one, oops! They also provide coffee machine facilities and a mini fridge with all kinds of goodies! (At a small charge of course). The hotel also provides you with free transport tickets for the area so you can truly go and explore. I’d recommend visiting the Montreux Chillon medieval castle. (10 min by bus). Also remember to pack your swimming clothes to use the luxurious spa! Now for what we came for... the Montreux Christmas market. It’s absolutely fantastic, just a 5 min walk from the hotel. It snowed throughout our stay which made it even more Christmassy. Overall, we had the most amazing Christmas break and it wouldn’t have been so perfect without this truly stunning hotel. Thank you Royal Plaza Montreux for having us, we will definitely be coming back! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Great view of the kake

Posted Sep 26, 2017
A large comfortable room with a spacious balcony overlooking the lake. Wonderful service from the desk staff . I was taken aback by a $21 gin and tonic embittered was soon to learn that is standard for Montreux. I found Pastis and water a much more economical cocktail with a substantial kick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great location, spacious room

Posted Sep 24, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Royal Plaza. The room was tastefully furnished, beautiful bathroom. Comfortable bed and all standard hotel accessories including Nespresso machine. The location on Lake Limon is picturesque although I did not have a lake view room. Roller shutters were a novel experience to blackout the windows. The hotel is a gentle walk to the town centre and public transport is right out the front door. Breakfast is expensive so just buy something locally.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice Hotel with AVIS on the building, very well.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
As we visited two times years before, the hospitality was great, staff very helpful also for the AVIS reservation. Restaurant good but not exceptional. Live music....no comment. ! Overall very good experience Francois Prinz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, England

A pleasant stay

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: position in the town with good views
Cons: Daily supply of morning tea items for a pre-breakfast cup of tea
Location: central; near faciilies
Well located and well equipped. Helpful staff and pleasant to all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Orbitz
It's not 5 star hotel. Should be 3.5 star hotel. Facility is old. Everything is outdated.