Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx,x,xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx,,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greeley, CO

Great ending to the 1st day of vacation

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Location was excellent, close to several dining choices and a couple of fast food locations within walking distance. Quiet even being on the highway.
Cons: Only minor drawback was waiting 5-7 minutes to get Hot Water from the faucets.
Location: Close to Black Canyon N.P. and Blue Mesa Res.
Drove in from Denver via Sand Dunes N.P. and Black Canyon of the Gunnison N.P. Motel is only 15 minutes from the entrance to BCGNP. You could tell this was an older motel from when Highway 50 was THE east/west highway. But it has been recently refurbished inside and out. Had a great check in, with a very friendly clerk who gave out dining choices and local site advice without asking. Room was clean with no broken or chipped furniture. Pool, Hot Tub and laundry areas were clean and tidy. Beds were comfortable, with extra bedding already on the shelves if needed. Did not take in Breakfast, except a quick cup of coffee on check out, but was standard Motel "Hot" Breakfast (waffle iron and cold cereal). Would come back to this place again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice little motel in Montrose.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: This motel was very easy to find and parking was easy.
Cons: They need to improve their wifi.
Location: Western Colorado has some gorgeous sights to see!
The only reason I didn't give it "Excellent" all the way down was the wifi was very limited. Access was difficult to accomplish, and then it would not stay connected. Sketchy, at best. But, we were not there much. The area is beautiful and there is so much of God's creation to see! If you haven't visited western Colorado, add it to your bucket list!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpectedly good

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Easy access from the road. The rooms were nice and clean. Staff was friendly.
Cons: The rooms were non smoking but that didn't stop people from smoking right outside their room...and mine.
Location: The Black Canyon is just a few miles away. Montrose has some good antiques. Also, Moab Utah and Arches National Park are a nice drive west.
We went off of the national chain hotel/motel trend and opted for an independent. It was a good choice. The rooms were clean and the location was central to most things.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Nice hotel with clean rooms and a very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Nice hotel. Good size room. Comfortable. Great stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins

Clean, comfortable budget place.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Clean, cool (it was a stinking hot day) and comfortable. New mattresses and pillows.
Cons: Nothing. If they made costly improvements to update it I would look for somewhere else.
Location: Walk across the street to eat at Ted's Steakhouse.
It was a very good place for the money. Most importantly, it was clean, the air conditioner worked well and the staff were very friendly and courteous. I didn't give it a 5 rating only because it is a "budget" place and didn't have the decor or elegance of a more pricey place. Great steak place about 5 min. walk.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Clean and convenient.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Room was very basic but well maintained. The motel was conveniently located. The picnic tables under the trees made a great dinner spot. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The deciding factor in staying at Black Canyon was the pet friendly atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to overnight with our dog.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Friendly staff, comfortable room, quiet, nice grassy area in front to romp in with our dog, nice pool and jacuzzi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Motel Except...

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This is a otherwise pretty good motel. Unfortunately, we smelled a very strong air refresher that we had to turn on the fan in the bathroom. A few hours later after the air fresher is gone, the carpet started to stink like urine, which is probably why they used so much air refresher. I believe it's just an exception given so many good reviews online. But our experience is not really good.