Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Very pleasant staff!
Cons: Accommodations for the physically disabled.
Overall I had a pleasant experience with my one night stay in Montrose. As a person with physical limitations, I was not impressed with the handicap parking being so far from the accessible room I requested. Although the HC bathroom was great, it would be nice if all hotels could start Tan option to the HC accessible rooms of having a reclining chair. Due to pulmonary and physical issues, it is very uncomfortable for me to sleep in a bed even propped up with pillows. The only chairs in the room were the desk chair and a small upholstered chair with no ottoman; the chair was definitely not "fat friendly". I got very little sleep and was quite uncomfortable trying to sleep in the bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Poor service and condition

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The pool area is nice, not the cleanest but all in all not a bad pool and hot tub.
Cons: Staff was rude and had no idea what they were doing. Check-in took over 30 minutes and there was no other guests ahead of me. I have stayed here many times and each time is worse than before. The room was simple but dirty. Floors were not clean and bathroom definitely needed attention.
Location: Near a Safeway if you need groceries/snacks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cortez CO

Family friendly.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Our room was very clean as was the whole hotel. The kids loved the pool and the free breakfast had something for everyone. The staff was extremely nice and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: The breakfast was mediocre at best. Consider dropping it if it can't be improved
Customer service oriented staff. Pleasant experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The room was comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly. The continental breakfast was tasty. The overall stay was nice.
Cons: Getting to the hotel was a little tricky. But, the hotel was nice.
Location: It was pretty central to everything we needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicagoland

Nice hotel in the area...

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Great cinnamon rolls for breakfast.
Cons: Take your own pillow. The hotel pillows are terrible! Food for breakfast is not good! I suggest you pass on the omelet... it will stay with you all da
Location: Good stopping point between Telluride and the Grand Gorge.
As Holiday Inn Express hotels go, this one is a bit dated, but clean. Compared to the alternative places to stay in Montrose, it is the best of them all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Closest to the National Park. Nice rooms, full hot breakfast daily, indoor pool/hot tub, small fitness center and a Business Center.
Cons: Parking a little odd as it appeared to share the parking lots with a Church and maybe a housing facility.
Location: The National Park about 20 miles away and Telluride about 65 miles
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Winner except for noise.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The reception and breakfast room staff were very good. There was a pool and whirlpool (indoor and out). Nice temp in both whirlpools.
Cons: Parking was just adequate, and the indoor pools had a choking amount of chlorine in them. We only used the outdoor whirlpool.
Location: Black Canyon of the Gunnison Favorite restaurants were Camp Robbers, and The Stone House in Montrose. Went to Ridgeway, and Telluride.
The only reason that I'm rating this lower than a 5 is because of how noisy our suite was. We had the elevator shaft on two walls, the dining and staff laundry was beneath the sitting room and our bedroom. Of course, the elevator was running consistently with a dinging bell at each floor. The second floor maid service supply room was right outside of our suite door. The maids kept banging our door with the service door, and propping mops against our door. When I opened our door the mop nearly hit me. The dumpsters were immediately beneath our bedroom window, and were collected between 0630-0700 each weekday. Had the suite not been so nice I would have asked for a change of room. Our sleep was very interrupted since staff started going in and out of the laundry area with their carts around 0430-0500 daily. It was difficult to communicate with the maid staff because ours did not speak English, and I don't speak Spanish.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by kristine

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
unfortunately i did not know that the hotel had a free shuttle that would have picked me up at the airport in Montrose. I spent $30 with Telluride Taxi to get there. Kind of a bummer for a 2 minute ride. Maybe you could mention that in your description of the hotel.