Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morrison

Clean and Comfortable

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Room, bed, parking, general great condition (must be recently renovated)
Cons: At least offer hard-boiled eggs for us diabetics. Why some S8s have full hot breakfasts (ie Alamosa) and others don't is puzzling. Be consistent!
Location: Starvin' Arvin's for cheap and delicious breakfast. However, avoid The Red Barn to the west for other meals--understaffed and overpriced.
All in all, a good experience here. Clean comfortable rooms and plenty of parking. One of the most comfortable beds ive ever slept in a budget-level hotel, and very quiet. However, old guy at check-in complained constantly about "having to pay Expedia," kind of made me feel second rate. And the free breakfast is fine, if you're not borderline T2 diabetic. Pastries and juice, that's it. And what makes Montrose so expensive? There's nothing close by, resort or otherwise, to justify these high costs--higher than Alamosa, Pagosa Springs, Durango, and Glenwood Springs--all resort or ski towns.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: A good standard, clean, comfortable. Checkin staff was terrifically helpful and friendly. Was delighted to find the hotel of a good standard
Cons: The hotel was fine, nothing negative to report. A little noisy perhaps.
Location: Out is town a little but close to eateries. Necessary to have a car
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2016
stayed for one night, good hotel, clean and comfortable. great for Gunnison national park.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, CO

Great hotel at a great price

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: It was modern and affordable.
Cons: The dining room was a bit on the small side.
We stayed here for one night while we were visiting for a wedding. The room was exactly as I had expected - modern, clean, comfortable with a fridge and microwave in the room. It was an absolutely pleasant experience and we would do it again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver CO

Excellent Surprise!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location, clean & very comfortable!
Friendly and helpful staff, especially at the front desk. Even helped us carry bags in and always said hello. Had late breakfast and hosts were still replenishing items even 10 minutes before closing. Clean and comfortable!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Everything was great; the staff was friendly and helpful. I appreciated coffee and tea being available all the time. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NorCal


Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: No hassles period. Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast items were fresh and quite good.
Location: Great area! The biggest attraction in the Black Canyon of the Gunnison. Spectacular!
This is delightful little hotel! Everything was clean and very well maintained.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay, especially great manager,Guy

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Manager and room
Cons: Breakfast. Don't leave pastries sitting out on the counter in the open.
Location: On a main routs through town so easy to find.
The room was very clean and a good size. Our TV was not working properly and the manager spent about 15 minutes and fixed it all for us. Breakfast was okay but nothing special. The location was great for us as it is on the main drag and we were just really passing through. Easy to find.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Broomfield, Colorado

Posted Aug 8, 2016
I had my doubts about a Super 8, but the staff was extreamly friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Great breakfast bar. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Clean. Great staff!
Location: The Black Canyon is well worth the short drive!
If you're headed to the black Canyon this is the place to stay! We didn't get in tell late and they stayed up waiting for us; with a friendly greeting when we finally arrived from a full day at Mesa Verde. The room we stayed in was EXACTLY as pictured and SUPER CLEAN! Can't say a bad word.