Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California


Posted Sep 29, 2016
Upon arriving were told we did not have air conditioning as advertised on Expedia. We had to pay $45 USD more per day if we wanted AC. We showed Tim the documents and the Expedia site details for what we paid for and were informed we must deal with Expedia. The room was poorly maintained. Price of food HIGH!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with beautiful island views

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Good location on Cook's Bay; not too far from the airport and ferry terminal. Free hotel shuttle to shopping area each morning. Nice restaurant.
Cons: Each cabana had a television, but there was no English-speaking channel. The only place to get any news in English was on the TV next to reception.
Location: The hotel provided a free shuttle to the nearby shopping area. Water and tour activities could also be booked.
We stayed here for two days and enjoyed our cabana and the beautiful view from the little beach. We paid extra for an air conditioned cabana. The days were really hot and we could not do without AC. It would have been good to know that AC was not included in our Expedia booking. The restaurant is very good and it is on pilings over the water giving wonderful views of fish on the coral reefs below. Taxi from the ferry terminal cost 2,800 Pacific Francs ($28 US).
2 out of 5
by Rochelle from Seattle, WA

Read Reviews!

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
When we walked into our room, there were ants everywhere & the AC unit didn't work so we had to move rooms. Our new room still had tons of ants. Sophia, the receptionist, was incredible. I was glad I read other's reviews because I brought extra towels, soap, shampoo, etc. They didn't have any shampoo/conditioner. My brother went & got coffee one morning, since there's none in the room, & was charged almost $3 USD. I was presently surprised because I read all of the reviews & was expecting the worse. For the money that you spend, you'd expect at least a 3 star hotel. The room wasn't "hotel" clean. The shower had used q-tips, soap, etc., in the corners. The hotel charges $10/day for wifi. If I were to go back to Moorea I would pay the money to stay at Sofetel. Not sure if I'm spelling it correctly. We stayed in a bungalow that faced the water. The view was breathtaking. There were kittens that roamed the premises. Another review stated that there was a "cat that was vicious & attacked". Not the ones I saw & we were there for 4 days. Get a car, that is the one thing that is free is parking at the hotel. Overall, Moorea is beautiful but I wouldn't go to Hotel Kaveka again. If you're going to "do it", do it "right". Spend more money & stay at a resort. Read others reviews!! Oh another good thing to know is that you can't keep the AC on while you're gone because you have to keep your key in the "light" slot in order for the lights and AC to work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Good location, beautiful setting, but...

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Good location, beautiful setting, good restaurant, nice grounds.
Cons: Towel bars and drinking glasses in the rooms. They need to clean their patio furniture.
Location: Some shops, restaurants, and car rentals within walking distance.
Room could have been cleaner (cob webs in the corners). Bar fridge badly frosted up and barely cold. Beach furniture was very dirty and grimy, and at least one was worn out and broken. There were no towel bars anywhere in the suite. Fellow at front desk during check-in was rude. You can't drink the tap water so they sell bottled for three times the price of the grocery store which is one kilometer down the road. I thought I booked a room with air conditioning but discovered that they charge an additional $30 U.S. per day to turn it on. On the plus side; the setting was beautiful, the restaurant was good, and the grounds were immaculate. They kindly extended our check-out time from 10 am until noon.
2 out of 5
by Thiefaine

Not worth it

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here because we were meeting with a company close by. The rooms are private bungalows. We had a garden bungalow, which worked great for us because we had the baby and we were a little further away from the other bungalows. The beach is next to a little pier where the restaurant is. We went for a little dip which was nice. The staff were extremely friendly, but other than that there isn't much good to share. I don't recommend it. They don't tell you this but Internet is $15 a day and is only available in the lobby, while the lobby is open (Not 24/7) Air conditioning in the room is also an extra charge of $30 a night. Non of this was mentioned prior to our stay. Not only that we had spider webs and spiders in the bathroom, and the shower and sink weren't cleaned very well. The bed faces the sliding glass door entrance to the bungalow and the TV is above the bed so you can watch TV when you are outside, but it puts you in an extremely awkward position if your in the bed. I have been to Moorea many times and I will not stay at this hotel/Pension again.
5 out of 5
by Barry from Winnipeg Canada

Way better a hotel than the price would suggest.

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Only there for 1-1/2 days, wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel setup as a lot of small cabins is excellent, and the grounds around them are very well kept. The views of the bay are wonderful, and the open restaurant (and the covered pier) being over the water provides an unbeatable ambiance. The staff were all excellent and provided great service. We would highly recommend the Kaveka to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tropical landscape and bungalows

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel grounds are nice topical landscape. Rooms are individual bungalows. On site restaurant food was OK however the breakfast and meal plans are over-priced as is the wifi in the lobby. $10 per day for WiFi is way too much. And they charge for everything so be prepared. You can snorkel from onsite and there is a small beach. We had ants in the bathroom - not good. Hair dryer and thick towels were not expected given other hotels where we stayed in the outer islands. Very nice of them to let us shower and clean up after we had checked out and returned from morning outing.
4 out of 5
by gilles from Faa'a - Tahiti

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Très bon séjour, le personnel est très sympathique, plage privée, ponton avec le restaurant ce qui rend les repas et petit déjeuner très agréable avec vue sur la baie de Cook.Les chambres sont équipées avec un cotam en plus de la climatisation, petit frigo, TV, wifi avec supplément. Seul bémol, le service en salle de restauration un peu lent. Tarifs dans la moyenne de ce qui se fait localement pour ce type d'établissement, bon rapport qualité/prix.
3 out of 5
by Janine from Ararat

Family stay at Moorea.

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Convenient and pretty bungalows in a beautifully kept garden. Lovely food especially for dinner at reasonable rates. There is no coffee or tea making facilities in your room and this needs to be introduced. Good pricing for a family.
4 out of 5
by Babette

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
Fûr dass es ein 2stern hotel ist, der aufenthalt incl. Frûhstûck zu teuer. Das personal war sehr, sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend. Die lage schôn mit dem bungalow direkt am wasser.