Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Whenever I book a hotel for a good rate instead of through the hotel it's self, it is usually the worst room and this one was a long way away from the reception desk. The room was okay though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for submitting this review. We are sorry to hear that you have had poor experiences when it comes to online booking. We hope that although your room was far from the reception desk, you still enjoyed your time with us and that you will come visit us again the next time you are in Moose Jaw. Sincerely, Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manitoba

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: It was very close to where we needed to be.
Cons: Customer service
Front desk clerk was not friendly at all upon intake. Didn't seem too happy that I had prepaid through Expedia... when I advised that I had brought two extra people with me she immediately told me that I would be charged more (I figured that) but said there was only two sets of towels... I had to ask her for two more. Then I asked her for a map of Moose Jaw and immediately said no and didn't offer an alternative... my whole experience felt like I was inconveniencing her... not a good way to start.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. It is great to hear that our location was convenient for you. We were concerned to read your review and investigated the situation further. As our front desk agent wanted to ensure you knew exactly what you would be charged for your stay, she informed you of the extra charge for the additional guests when you inquired about the fee. We apologize if the initial amount of towels in the room made it inconvenient for you and your guests, our front desk agent made sure to have extra sets of towels sent to your room immediately following check in. Our front desk agent regrettably realized after your interaction that she forgot to provide you with the map that you requested, which we apologize for. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this situation may have caused you. We hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional stay that you deserve. Sincerely, Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from moose jaw

Not a great experience

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Hotel was hot, air conditioner didn't work, wifi was lousy, power was out for 4 hours, free breakfast was undercooked. Only positive was that the front desk people were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw, Hotel Management
Hi Lee, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are very sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced. Upon further investigation, it appears that when you brought the issue of your air conditioner not functioning properly to the front desk, our staff members moved you to a room where the air conditioner was working. The power outage was due to a larger power outage in Moose Jaw, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We have forwarded this review along to management to ensure breakfast in the future is improved. Thank you for your compliment on our front desk staff, we are glad that they were able to assist you. We would love the chance to welcome you back so that we can show you the exceptional time you deserve. Sincerely, Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not sure if I liked the Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Close to the city pool
Cons: Room comfort Lighting Fan in the bathroom noisy
People at the front desk were OK. My room had a cold breeze coming from somewhere + I had the heat at full blast. It was a very dark room, no ceiling light.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy to hear that our pool and location worked out well for you. We apologize that you found our front desk staff to be anything but exceptional. We will be bringing this review forward to them to ensure this is improved in the future. We are also sorry for the problems with your room that you experienced. Unfortunately, due to your profile being private, we cannot determine which room you stayed in to address the issues. We will make our housekeeping staff aware of this review so that they can take steps to remedy the issues when they find them. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again, it would be our pleasure to host you. Sincerely, Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Great hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Best place to stay in Moose jaw
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Daniel, Thank you for such high praise. We are very excited to know that you value our hotel so much. We look forward to continuing to be your go-to hotel in Moose Jaw. Sincerely, Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs upgrade...

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is old and needs work. T.V. didn't work at first, but was fixed. No computer for use by hotel guests. Would of liked to look up games-scores and check flight for next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We recognize that renovations are an ongoing process and customer feedback is vital to helping us assess which areas require further improvement. We apologize for your troubles with the TV, and we are glad that our staff was able to help solve the problem. We do have a business centre with a computer for guest use, which is unlocked with a key upon request. We apologize that this wasn't clear and we will do what we can to ensure this is more clear in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to submit this review. We look forward to the next chance we get to host you. Sincerely, Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Prince Albert, SK

Needs a renovation

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Swimming pool and hot tub, easy access to restaurant.
Cons: Service was slow at the front desk, and the rooms on the second floor were very hot. It was hot for November and I was informed that air conditioning was turned off. Our room sat at 25 Celsius with only a window to cool it down late at night. The beds also were lopsided and uncomfortable.
Location: Major retailers are a 2 min drive away, and there are alternative things to do within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw, Hotel Management
Hi Brian, We appreciate that you took the time to leave us comments about your stay. We apologize that our service at the front desk was slow. With regards to your room, the maintenance staff has winterized our chiller. We attempt to set all of the rooms at an optimal temperature for our guests during the fall and winter months. We apologize that your room was too hot for you during your stay. We have begun the process of updating our mattresses in the hotel. A number of rooms have been updated to pillowtop mattresses, and we are updating more as needed. Thank you for your comment on your bed, it helps us to determine which ones need to be changed. We apologize that it resulted in an uncomfortable sleep for you. We are happy to hear that you utilized the many amenities close to the hotel. If you choose to stay with us again, we would love the opportunity to show you the exceptional stay that you deserve. Sincerely, Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Nice hotel TOO HOT!!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The hotel and staff were nice enough but the room was boiling hot and had no ac and no way to cool it off. It was almost 30 degrees the whole night and needless to say I had a very difficult time sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw, Hotel Management
Hi Krystal, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry that the room was uncomfortable for you because of the heat. If you choose to visit us again, please do not hesitate to reach out to our staff with any concerns you may have. We are happy to make the adjustments necessary to ensure that your stay is enjoyable and comfortable. Once again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to the next opportunity we have to provide you with the exceptional stay that you deserve. Sincerely, Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Not enough bang for your buck!

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Air conditioner blowing on to bed. Room so small. Breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our suites are larger than our standard and premier rooms, and may potentially be a better option if you would appreciate more space. Unfortunately, we could not use your username to locate which room you stayed in so that we could look further into the air conditioning situation. Our house keeping staff will continue to keep an eye out for any issues that may arise so we can remedy them immediately. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. The next time you are in Moose Jaw, we hope you will give us the opportunity to show you an exceptional stay. Sincerely, Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to shopping and food outletr

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Nice on check in food was good with exception of Salad bar it had small varity for the high price Food was good service was friendly but asked us if every thing was ok to often
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and we are glad that you had a great stay. We will pass your comments about our prices and service along to our restaurant staff. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre Moose Jaw