Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very clean hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: breakfast
excellent breakfast, omelets, waffles and maple sausage
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Monique Pittman, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, and thank you for taking the time to rate your experience at the Hampton Inn by Hilton Morehead City. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us! I am happy that our breakfast was excellent during your stay! I hope you had an opportunity to enjoy some of Morehead City's excellent restaurants, scenery, and local attractions while you were in the area. We greatly appreciate your business, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property on your next trip to the Crystal Coast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from morehead city NC

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Stayed here 2 nights. It was very clean and rates were great. Breakfast was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Sara Taylor, Hotel Management
Good Morning Kelly, Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that we met your expectations with superior service, cleanliness, a great rate, and wonderful breakfast. I hope you had the opportunity to visit some local attractions while in our area as well. Have a wonderful day, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards, Sara Taylor Director of Sales & Marketing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

thin walls

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Checked In and customer service was great. Everything went really well until I went to sleep. 1:30am couple in next room argued for about an hour I can hear everything. Not the hotels fault at all and no I didn't call it in to complain. It was 1:30am I was exhausted so I put a pillow over my head. So my complaint is that the walls are thin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Sara Taylor, Hotel Management
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are so glad your check in went smooth and we appreciate your kind words about our front desk staff. We apologize for the inconvenience of the thin walls, and hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future. Kindest Regards, Sara Taylor Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great after Thanksgiving retreat

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Quite
Location: Great food nearby, shopping, waterfront and beaches , fishing and diving.
A comfortable quite retreat after Thanksgiving. Great restaurants nearby, one within walking distance. Short drive to Morehead City waterfront with its many seafood options, shopping, and attractions. Atlantic Beach is also a short drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Sara Taylor, Hotel Management
Good Morning Donald, Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay with us! We are delighted to see you had a great stay and enjoyed some local attractions during your after Thanksgiving retreat! We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon! Kindest Regards, Sara Taylor Director of Sales
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
We made a mistake and rented this for our grown children and picked his Hampton Inn and we were in Atlantic Beach Hampton Inn. When hotel.com said we could cancel If Hamton Inn would allow so we could get our children over to our same hotel. Hampton Inn said they had no way to talk to their management and they would put us down for a NO SHOW! Very poor customer service for a HH member!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize you had issues when cancelling your room and customer service was not able to honor your request. We always do what we can to accommodate guest requests, so I am surprised to see the outcome of the situation. We do appreciate your loyalty as a Hilton Honors member and hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future. Kindest Regards, Sara Taylor Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. maid service was efficient
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by laura.phillips2@hilton.com, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you so much for choosing the Hampton Inn by Hilton Morehead City on your recent visit to the coast. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the housekeeping service was efficient. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again, Laura Phillips
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find Another Hotel.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed here one night. But honestly I must say this hotel is way over priced. They only offered queen size beds and there was a huge patch of mold on the bathroom ceiling. The shower also didn't work properly and was only shooting water out of three nozzles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon and thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn by Hilton Morehead City. I do apologize for the issues experienced during your recent stay with us. These issues are not typical of our hotel and I will definitely bring them to the Housekeeping Manager. I did want to let you know that we do not have queen size beds at our property. We have rooms with 2 double beds and rooms that have 1 king bed. Thank you again for the feedback. Have a great rest of your week. Laura Phillips General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and clean hotel. Breakfast was great. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you so much for completing a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn by Hilton Morehead City. We are so glad to hear that breakfast was great and the staff was friendly. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Laura Phillips General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

The room accommodations were very welcoming.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: It is close enough to go fishing at Atlantic beach pier. There were good seafood restaurants on the waterfront.
The breakfast was extravagant and very delicious for a continental breakfast. Fruit was always available and to-go bags were waiting at the front desk for early arisers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for choosing the Hampton Inn by Hilton on your recent visit to Morehead City. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the area. We hope you will be back soon. Thank you again. Laura Phillips General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect for our stay as we planned on attending the NC Seafood Festival.
Cons: The room we had, along with the bathroom can use updating. Quite surprised for a Hampton Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for completing the review regarding your recent stay with us in Morehead City. I do apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us and that there were issues with your guest room. We want all of our guests to be happy and I know our staff works very hard taking of our guests. We do hope that we will see you again. Thank you Laura Phillips General Manager