Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, VA

Nice hotel except for housekeeping

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The receptionist was helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was good and the person providing it was very pleasant.
Cons: As stated above, bathrooms need help.
We stayed two nights; our room was never "refreshed," but a "do not disturb" was placed on our outside doorknob the second day and no one entered to make beds, etc. We had to go to the desk to get coffee and towels. Also, the bathrooms need renovating. The grouting around the toilet was deteriorating and gross.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Good for overnight on the way to Ocracoke ferry

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Very courteous and friendly staff, totally adequate accommodations, breakfast a step above most of this type. Only drawback is that room had an unpleasant stale and musty smell. A reasonably priced place to spend the night before catching the ferry.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel at beach

Posted Mar 31, 2017
It really needs to update the mattresses--way to soft; and the pillows were awful. The tile in the tub/shower had mold and mildew in the grout. The room had a musty smell.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

The Price is Right

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Microwave and fridge in the room. Excellent free Wi-Fi.
Cons: Rooms, especially the bathrooms, need maintenance by a qualified contractor. Also wouldn't hurt to brighten the rooms up.
Location: 30 short blocks to the harbor area. Quick drive, though.
Old, with signs of multiple repairs by unqualified staff. My "view" was a brick wall, but the alternative was the back of Tractor Supply. Considering the condition of the room, it was as clean as it could be. Nice lobby / breakfast area. Water-saving shower barely did the job. If all you want is a clean bed and a low price, this would fit your bill.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this is a zero star hotel not a one star

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for business this was the worst place I've ever stayed. Got the room when inside the smell of mold and mildew was overwhelming and set my allergies into a fit. You could actually see where the water had some out the carpet in the room I talk to other people that stayed there as I was at a festival event and everyone on the first floor complained of the same problem. I called the front desk As soon as I walked in the room an was told they had no other rooms to move me too. The continental breakfast was cereal the waffle machine to be broken, the first floor ice machine was broken, and I was told by the front desk that if the one on the second floor didn't have ice in it that may be broken also. wi-Fi does not work, and it look like people were renting it by the week to live into as I walked around to try to find the ice machine.They need to just tear this rat hole down. I called around Morehead city and because of the weekend there was no other hotel rooms available. I would never stay there again. Only reason I get this hotel I want star is because it was nothing lower than that the customer service sucked as I could move me to credit refund me she just couldn't do anything. She knew when nothing was at how to give you a direction to anything that was associated with the hotel such as the ice machine, drinks or snacks, where to park at as all rooms face the parking lot Second floor has stairs only no elevators and is built in four sections.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Heating unit made too much noise. Not recommended for family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good deal. Close to fishing

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great place to stay. Friendly staff. The bed was rather uncomfortable but i feel that if I had complained, they would have rectified the issue
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Rooms are not completely cleaned. Found trash and broken outlet covers
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rip-off

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
This was not our first hotel choice. The check-in clerk was unpleasnt, uncaring, seemingly hated her job as much as hating any customers with which she dealt (me and the customer before me). The room was horrible.Dirty, old, musty, huge cigarette burns on chairs, black stains on carpet, pine needles and leaves built up to greet us when we entered the room, old nasty bed spread we didn't want to touch, very thin towels (wish more were stocked) and nasty curtains that didn't close completely on one end.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels