Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the town centre

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The hot water was hot.
Cons: Rooms could be made more appealing.
Location: Right downtown so very convenient if one is there as a tourist.
This is a functional hotel....basic clean rooms. Room was hot and no AC
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
I stayed two nights but at night time was a lot noise and in the mornings same thing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Good hotel, but my wallet was stolen in the lobby

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly
Cons: Daytime security needs to be implemented. Security door needs to be secured between bar on the third floor and rooms on third floor.
Location: Excellent location across from the main plaza and cathedral
We enjoyed our 3 week stay at the hotel and found it to be clean and comfortable. The property was centrally located and our room was kept spotless by our hardworking maid. The staff was friendly and helpful, but spoke almost no English. Cons: the wifi in the room was almost useless , there are no English TV channels and there is a very popular bar on the third floor which can be noisy. There is no security between the bar and the rooms on the third floor so that is an issue. While I enjoyed the hotel, daytime security needs to be improved. I was in the lobby using the computer with my purse at my side when someone pushed my chair from behind and I looked away. When I looked back my purse was open and my wallet was missing. The lobby was busy with visitors for Samana Santa and I reported it to the staff immediately. They reviewed the security tape but said that the camera doesn´t tape that angle. Although I asked to have it reported to the police they took no action. There should be a security person on duty at all times, in my view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best view of the cathedral

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Magnificent #loveit. This hotel is very clean and the breakfast is dilish
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Hotel right on the central place

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: We were in the center of the city wich is wonderfull
Cons: Internet acces
Location: Every thing was very close by
Internet connection was very bad and the receive a group of teens and the noise was horrible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Close to the Cathedral & Zocalo

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Close to the action.
Cons: Fan only. No aircon and with no window, this room would be very hot in summer.
Location: The Cathedral, Zocalao, Mercado de Dulles (sweet Ariel), walk to the acquaduct
A comfortable hotel set right over the Cathedral & Zocalo. We stayed over a weekend and though the area is busy and noisy, it quitens down by midnight and no one wakes early. Our room was comfortable but was an internal room with no window or natural light. It was a bit depressing to wake to pitch black. Wifi was also patchy given thick walls of the building but we were able to tap into the wifi of the hotel next door (Casino) as we had dined there are had the passcode. We stayed 3 nights and if we had been staying longer, we would have requested a room change. Staff were helpful though their English is very limited. Overall, a comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice hotel with views

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The views.
Cons: Breakfast variety and presentation.
Location: It is near the statue of the "Pipila", a local landmark. Go downtown for fun and food.
The El Vista hotel is new, the room I got is large, the bed is comfortable, TV and wi-if works well and the room was clean. The views are beautiful to the city down the hill. It is a 5-10 minute walk the steep hills lol down to the city. Take the funicular back up, $25 pesos each ride. It closes at 9:45 pm so take a taxi if needed. Breakfast offers only fruit and coffee and the silverware/presentation of the breakfast table should be better., that is my suggestion for improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old building

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location, architecture or the building
Cons: Some of the staff were not helpful, but some were very helpful
Location: Visit cathedral, take tram tours of the city, sit in the square, shop at the nearby candy and craft market,
Five of us stayed here in this beautiful old building just across from the cathedral. It was very central, close to a couple of good restaurants, including one on the hotel rooftop
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Good choice!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Loved our room. Spacious, clean, loved the balcony and view. Housekeeping ladies and the evening bell guy were very polite and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Plus it's located less than half a block from the Cathedral. Everything is with in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful building

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Nothing more to add. Good experience. Lovely old building, close to good restaurants