Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by cheryl

Away from the hub

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice location away from the noise and busyness of the downtown area. The staff were very friendly, the room clean, safe and secure.
4 out of 5
by Victor

Conveniently good location

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Clean good service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Great Location 10 Minutes from the Cathedral

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Good location, very nice staff.
Cons: Our bed could be upgraded.
Location: The Catedral de Guadalajara and the long pedestrian mall is only 10 minutes away. Bus stops to access the Tlaquepaque Arts district are nearby.
With 75 rooms on 2 to 4 levels, Hotel Real San Juan is deceptively large. It was established 30 years ago in what was once three residences. For that reason, it is built around four separate patios, three of which have fountains. All rooms are located around the perimeter of the patios and are accessed via hallways that are open to the patios on one side. The patios provide peaceful retreats from the busy city outside. Our room was fairly small but had a lovely small balcony overlooking a quiet patio. There were some renovations going on in early March 2017 but they were no bother as they only took place during daylight hours while we were away. Our room (#223) was recently renovated and had a modern bathroom with a large shower. Our bed was OK. WiFi access was good. We didn't get an included breakfast but there is a buffet breakfast available for purchase. The buffet is not cheap but worth checking out. Filling up there could tide one over until supper. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk to the Catedral de Guadalajara, the heart of the historical part of the city. We found the staff to be very polite and helpful and would stay there again if we return to Guadalajara.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rebecca

Clean, affordable hotel, breakfast is a scam.

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed here during our road trip through Mexico. A big plus was that it had a parking garage next door so we could comfortably leave our motorcycle parked without having to worry about theft. Good location too, within easy walking distance of the historic district. The hotel itself was nice and clean. Our room was right outside of the breakfast area, an issue I read about for other people. Thankfully, we stayed during the slow season so there weren't many guests other than us so it was relaxing and quiet. The room was large and clean with a nice bathroom, plenty of towels, and free toiletries. It had multiple windows with screens looking into a sitting area. The room also came equipped with blackout drapes that worked wonders. We stayed in a double room with two beds which gave us even more room. One of the beds was totally sunken in in the middle, but the other was just fine so we slept well. The wi-fi was spotty during the whole trip, but we were able to use it here and there. My biggest complaint was the "free" breakfast. It literally was one piece of toast each and weak coffee with powdered creamer. We ended up asking for the hotel's menu and ordering food. For 2$ each we each got a nice omelette but I still can't believe a hotel can post they offer free breakfast when it is a piece of toast. My husband and I literally laughed out loud when the guy brought it to us. Other than that, it was a fine, affordable, clean hotel and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by aura

UNESCO Heritage site

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Some of the staff were friendly and pleasant: the ladies who clean the rooms, the morning receptionist and the lady who serves breakfast. We got the breakfast upgrade for only MX$15 (US$0.75!!), that included scrambled eggs, beans and tortillas, in addition to the fruit, toast and cofee. A bargain!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was difficult to get in the building

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The location is great a block and a half from the San Juan Market.
Cons: Answer the door when people ring the bell. We were starting to get worried that nobody was going to come after waiting for 15+ minutes.
Location: San Juan Market, La Lucha (coffee shop), Calle Madero is 3 blocks which is the main street, The Cathedral is about 10.
We waited outside for 5-10 minutes knocking on the door to have someone let us in and then check us in. Eventually we just unlocked the door from the inside and walked in. After 3 minute someone finally came. When I got there they gave us two double beds when my reservation was for a king. They said they didn't have any king beds left and said we could have a free breakfast. They did not however change the price which I saw was less for a double bed. We waited outside for 15+ minutes for someone to let us in at 11:45 pm. They told us that someone would come let us in if we rang the bell but it took a long time before that happened. Luckily our ride waited for us because if we'd have taken a taxi we would have felt pretty uncomfortable waiting outside for them to let us in that late at night.The decorations were nice but the bed had some hair on it before we got in. Not what I want to see when I get into bed. I would have given two stars but the guy that served me breakfast was very friendly and helpful. Also it is in a good location. I doubt I'd stay there again but would if I can't find anything else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Nice quiet hotel walking distance from the parks and activities in el centro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

2nd Time Here: Just Right

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Great price! Great location!
Location: There's a market about two - three blocks away. Great for good/quick/cheap food! Little dark at night, but always felt safe.
This is my second time at this hotel. It's cute, quiet, close to the main boulevard and clean. No frills, basic rooms, basic lobby. Very reasonable priced. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First impressions count as well as great service!

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second stay at HRSJ having had a great experience on my first. Having said that, upon arriving to my room # 109 there was an awful smell of sewage apparently coming off the bathroom sink or the shower. I immediately requested my room be changed for I was not going to stay in what I felt was a dirty room. Although there were no rooms available for the night, the receptionists made efforts to make my stay as pleasant as possible. After a bit of negotiating and haggling and calling the Hotels.com help desk, the hotel was able to accommodate me in a 4 star hotel for the night. Crises averted as was happy with the results. Nonetheless, I did suggest to the receptionist that the hotel should be more careful with first impressions. No one wants to stay in a room that smells like sewage. Since HRSJ did everything possible to make my stay pleasant, I would still give a 4 star rating with reservations.