Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aliso Viejo, CA

Did not meet our expectations

Posted Jun 13, 2016
The rooms are old and smell kind of musty. In the room we were originally assigned the toilet would not flush properly. We complained so for the second night we were moved to a much nicer room. However the window in this room was stuck and would only open about an inch so the room was very warm. No air conditioner. The Full English Breakfast served as part of your bed and breakfast package was kind of skimpy. I asked for eggs, bacon, and mushrooms and was served two eggs, one piece of bacon, and a small portobello mushroom. Huh?? Overall the place is cute and the grounds are pretty but pretty expensive and I would say the value for the money just wasn't there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby, UK

Great location for a break in the Cotswolds

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Particulary would like to mention the staff and the food, but there was nothing that was not of a high standard.
Cons: Nothing, although the WiFi was slow.
Location: Great location to explore the Cotswolds as you are quite centrally placed.
We stayed one Saturday night as a surprise for my wife's birthday. Everything was perfect from the location to the staff, the hotel and the food. I arranged a box of chocolates and a teddy bear which were in the room when we arrived. Both before arriving and during our staff the staff were outstanding. When I'd booked dinner the Mulberry restaurant was fully booked so had reserved the Brasserie. On arrival the staff checked and found they were able to fit us in which was much appreciated. We organised the turn-down service and for a small charge they drew my wife a bath with oils and candles to be ready after dinner. Dinner was first class and we both enjoyed all four courses. Breakfast in the morning was well cooked and very tasty.
2 out of 5
by Ruth from Boston

NO WIFI

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I recently (end of September) stayed at Manor House for three nights. One of the reasons we booked this hotel was because its amenities include "free WiFi. We were unable to connect to WiFi for our entire stay! The hotel cited " problems with some U.S. devices" vis a vis settings, particularly iPhones. Between us, we had two tablets and one smartphone (not an iPhone) and the hotel was unable to get us connected on any of them! So...IF you are from the U.S., and IF you want or need access to the internet during your stay in the Cotswolds, DO NOT stay here! (We stayed in several tiny guest houses during our two week stay and never had difficulty connecting to their WiFi!) Good breakfast...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Convenient Affordable Luxurious

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Lovely hotel. The dining room was our favourite. Bright fresh colour scheme with airy garden outlook. We ate dinner and breakfast in the dining room. The meals were well cooked and beautifully presented by well trained staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Lovely Modern Room

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: The decor in the bedrooms, nice big television, excellent food and very good staff. Best G&T ever tasted, loved the touch of lavender in the drink.
Cons: Maybe a bit of signage showing you how to get downstairs as it was very narrow and lots of hallways.
Location: Was in an excellent location, 15 mins from Bourton-on-the-Water and other places were very nearby.
We had a lovely stay at Manor House Hotel. We were there for two nights. Unfortunately for us it rained the whole time. The staff were excellent couldnt fault them at all. Our room was a bit on the small side but very clean and a very comfortable bed. The only downside was as there was a wedding on they put us in a quiet room which was on the second floor, at lot of narrow stairs and the road outside was very noisy. The restaurants were excellent. We enjoyed our meal in the Mulberry Restaurant the best. The food was absoutely gorgeous couldnt fault it. It was my birthday and they even wrote Happy Birthday in chocolate on my dessert which I thought was a really nice touch. Breakfast was good, grill up was not bad, no bacon (the other half was disappointed with this!!).
5 out of 5
by Sylvia from Christchurch

An excellent hotel, we will certainly recommend it

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely stay, everything about it was excellent
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Stafford

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
I decided to treat us on a night away at a good hotel, after having moved house recently and just needing a bit of a time out. Location was easy to find. Staff were very friendly and helpful and showed us to our newly freshened up room in person. Definitely a case of you get what you pay for, was a little luxury at a much needed time. Thoroughly enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
by Janet from Soundwell South Gloucestershire

Disappointed.

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Could not get shower to work, told reception that also no hot water in hand basins, had to boil kettle to wash no one came to investigate or explain how shower worked. On second night toilet blocked phoned reception again but no maintenance working, had to go down stairs in middle of night to use toilet. Was not impressed. Also unable to sit in lounge, they had a huge log fire burning on a very hot day, why? Quite expensive, expected better communication from staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luton

An excellent hotel in the heart of the village

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Its central location and the restaurant
Cons: A chair In the bedroom / light over the bathroom mirror / a small oblong mirror in the bedroom
Location: Situated in centre of the Cotswolds - ideal for exploring. The Falconry centre 2 miles away was good
We had a good time , the staff were attentive and the food was excellent