Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WV

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Outside appearance and history
Cons: Sanitation, better bed.
Location: Rural historic.
Walls dirty, hinge missing on door to bathroom, very small room. AC worked but smelled musty.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joseph from Atlanta

Tired and Worn

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
This is a restaurant with a hotel attached almost as an afterthought...all rooms are on the second (maybe higher). It's not a bad place to stay if you have to. The room we stayed in was worn. It had quaint furniture...almost antiques...and then a wine refrigerator inexpicably was stationed on the nightstand beside the bed (leveled out with a piece of 1x4...classy!). The sliding glass doors on the tub/shower would not close; missing/loosened laminate on the sink repaired with packing tape; neither the digital clock nor the cable remote worked. With that said, the room and bathroom were clean. Skip the "continental breakfast" (cold cereal, instant oatmeal packets, packaged Danish) and hit the coffee shop and small family restaurant on Price Street. The place was empty when we arrived and ran into the housekeeper who led me to the manager to check in...not sure I would've been able to find him on my own. The manager was uber-friendly and gave us a larger room on his own. Depending on your state of mind, this inn could be considered quirky (if you have low expectations) or a disaster (if you require crisp and new).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Bad example of a B and B!

Posted Nov 14, 2014
I arrived in the evening to a horrible parking area full of ruts and holes. I went in a door and had no idea where to go, so I had to just walk around. When I finally found my key at the front desk I went to my room. The walls were paper thin and people were talking loudly. I could hear a phone conversation in the next room, including the person on the phone! The carpet was filthy and had bugs crawling on it. When I pulled back the covers to the bed the blanket was stained and the sheets were gross with spots of black and stains. It was a horrible experience. I love B and Bs and this one was disgusting!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels
Great little place full of character and charm. If your in the area then this is the place to stay. Its a little old and certinly not one of your sterile chain hotels. The host look after you like your a family guest. Will definately stay here again if I get a chance for a return visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Last room available with 20 miles of WVU football.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Cat on the roof was odd as we pulled in. Low battery on smoke alarm beeped all night. No bugs, but carpets were dirty. Direct TV had no signal during stay. I would not recommend this B&B, unless it is the last room available for a one night stay after a WVU football game.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice town.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The outside porch.
Cons: Where could I begin?
Location: Morgantown, to a Mountaineers/Baylor football game.
Kingwood is a lovely town. The location of Preston County Inn is beautiful. The hotel itself not so much. They used a lot of duct tape, curtains hanging part up, part down, cobwebs everywhere. Was not really clean. Now with the price of $79 per night, it was cheaper than closer to Morgantown, We would not return to this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Annette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Barb eckman from New jersey

Awful!!!

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
The inn was very dirty, had a lot of mold in the bathrooms and the ceiling fans had an inch of dirt on them. Slept on the bed, not in the bed, because it did not look clean. There were cats, which I hate, in the inn and on the front porch. We were greeted at our door by a cat one morning. Breakfast was served in a very dirty kitchenette at the end of the hall. Did not eat. If you have an aversion to dirt, mold, rust, and cats do not book the inn. Hated it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by fred from nederland

oud gezellig hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
Leek een oud sfeervol hotel,wel wat duur voor de prijs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Becky from Batavia

Getting Some R & R

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels
The Preston County Inn is a quaint Inn located in a small town The new owner is in the process of remodeling the Inn a little at a time. More importantly, the owner is making the Inn part of the community. They are having more and more community events on the Inn's property. We got a good night's sleep. It was very quiet. The rooms are decorated with wallpaper, furnishings, bedding and curtains during the period of the early 1900's. The other rooms of the Inn are filled with beautiful antiques, pictures and memobilia. It will take a lot of work and time to bring the Inn up to the standard the owners wants it to be. We would stay there again. There is a new deck where you can sit outside and enjoy your dinner or a drink. The front porch has rocking chairs where you can sit and enjoy the view.