Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel as a whole is tired and worn, it badly needs a lot of TLC in the public areas. The cooked breakfast was lacking, not only in presentation, but more importantly in the amount of food on the plate. Whilst my partner and I are not big eaters, this was pitiful for a meal to start your day!!! On a positive note, the staff were very friendly and efficient. Sadly I will not be visiting this particular venue again unless things improve drastically.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

For a four star hotel expected better

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Hotel looks very tired, cobwebs in the bedroom. Soft/hot beverages were overpriced. The hotel lacked atmosphere and hospitality. We have stayed in better Premier Inns.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in a grand building

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Shower settings could be improved. Water temperature kept changing whilst in the shower. Wonderful grounds and a comfortable clean bedroom, although the classic double was a small room. Breakfast was delicious and had variety. Liked very much that the hot food was brought to you. Spa facilities excellent and stayed opened to 8pm each night. Lovely grand rooms ideal for relaxing. As a non Facebook and Twitter user, I hope they bring back postcards or postcard of the building so that you can send to family and friends and let them what a lovely stay you are having here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Spa needs updating - not very clean.
4 out of 5
by Graham from Grantham

Meal let down

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the meal in the restaurant, however on our second night we were not told that we had to book in the 'pub' restaurant. We were told that it was full but were then allowed a table. Many items on the menu were not available. I had scampi and that was over cooked. My daughter in law had what was called a steak and ale pie. Not a pie at all! The gravy was like water. So we ended our lovely stay rather disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Country manor house hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Room was far too small for two people. Restaurant was outside the building and was I fact a pub. Had another restaurant in the hotel was a gourmet seven course meal!! Had to pay £3.00 to pay your bill if paid by credit card. HOW ELSE CAN YOU PAY!! They wouldn't want cash and would not accept a cheque!! Had already swiped credit card so they knew how we would be paying!!
2 out of 5
by Lyndsey from Sunderland

Disappointing

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Overall for the price I thought this hotel was poor value. The pool area was small, dated and disappointing, the steam room didn't really have any steam. However, massage booked in the spa was very good. The communal areas and grounds are very nice. Overall the service was very good despite every member of staff telling us there was a 'wedding on' as if to excuse any delay in ordering/checking in etc. The room was average, bedside lamp didn't work and the wardrobe door was broken.
4 out of 5
by Jim from Belfast

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
clean and comfortable but all a bit tired. Remote location but very pleasant grounds. Restaurant had decent food and good service and quite reasonable
3 out of 5
by paul from Seaham

Good points and quite a few bad points

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent surroundings lovely food. However room was tiny, pool, steam room and jacuzzi were dated and needed Tlc. Staff at reception come across as though they weren't interested, olly on the cocktail bar was really welcoming and friendly on the plus side. I wouldn't stay there again as I feel there were too many disappointments. For 162 pound per night I would definitely go somewhere with more up to date facilities and more friendly staff. Can't stress how lovely the area is though.
5 out of 5
by Belinda from Manchester

Trip mum

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
We had a really relaxing night here away from everything it felt like another time staff were friendly nothing was a bother would love to come back again