Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Nice hotel food was great nice staff

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Nice hotel right in the middle of Rothbury close to all the shops
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The food; evening meal and breakfast were both good
Cons: the mattress was terrible - we negotiated a 25% discount for this without ill feeling with professional and friendly staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north yorkshire

Food brill

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Very conveniently positioned very friendly. Good restaurant and bar areas.
Cons: Beds uncomfortable lack of sleep
Location: I was on course so can't sorry great area though cragside and walking my friends did this and very impressed
Room clean. Beds very uncomfortable family room. Big enough but basic. Can't open windows. Did not see any other rooms though. Tea and coffees in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E Yorkshire

Great Location fro Cragside House

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Great location for Cragside House, also Alnwick castle and gardens (about 10 miles away), and Wallington House at Cambo is nearby. Very nice pub, great food for included breakfast and a good choice in pub restaurant for evenings. Comfy clean and well-equipped bedroom. Our only disappointment was that the ladder radiator in the bathroom didn't work, making the bathroom very cold! Staff friendly and helpful. Pub had "open mic" night while we were there and was heaving - great atmosphere!
Cons: bathroom radiator was not working at all even though we tried to get it to work. bathroom therefore freezing! radiator in bedroom had a mind of its own, coming on and off when it liked, so even though there was a thermostat sometimes it was off when we wanted it on...? weird.
Location: national trust houses Cragside (1 mile away) Wallington (6-7 miles) and Alnwick castle and gardens (10 miles away)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: Bring bedroom up to date by improving fixtures and fittings
Location: Town centre location, good for walking along the riverside
Room tired and in need of updating , the first morning for breakfast service and food not up to expected standard . On the second morning staff and food much improved.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A clean convenient and friendly hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean and adequate for our visit, the food was good and the bar served a good range of drinks. We had an enjoyable stay while we visited the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool

All good

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room, good price, good food, friendly service. Only downside was breakfast was a little late, luckily I was not in a great rush. Rothbury is pleasant for a stroll too
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Good very central

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Very central
Cons: The service
Location: Nice walks and plenty pubs
Room was supposed to be ready at 1.30 not ready till 2.30.went down for breakfast we waited for someone to serve us my husband had to knock on kitchen door and ask for service .There was dirty tables when we went in dinning hall and they wer still there when we left that .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overbite stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Ware it was situated
Cons: The staff for meals
When we arrived we wer. early ,we new the room would not be ready till 1.30.,it was not ready till 2.40. The next morning we went down for breakfast and had to wait 10minutes for someone but as no one arrived my husband knocked on kitchen door for some service,the dining room was not full but the dirty dishes on the other two tables wer left all the time. As we checked out the next morning they said their was a bill I know it had been. paid as when you took the money it made me overdrawn so it was embarrison it was not he hotels fault they wer shocked to find out it had been paid .
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Edinburgh

Great wee hotel, 90's night not required!!!

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
I found the Queens Head very comfortable,the food very good I stayed for three nights, unfortunately on Saturday night there was a 90's disco in the bar below my room this went on till 2am! during this period all smokers and party goers seemed to keep the part going outside and below my bedroom window (all in all they seemed to be having a great night)