Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Quaint guesthouse

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Coziness and staff
Cons: Stairs a little too steep
Although our Nav man sent us in the wrong direction, after two phone calls to James at Coquetvale Hotel we were put on the right track. Not only did James wait for us to arrive but seeing that the restaurant was closed phoned a local restaurant to make sure we had something to eat. Top marks to James!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

An enjoyable stay

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: The location and the staff
Cons: The entrance hall and stairway is rather chilly and not very welcoming but soon forgotten, the room, restaurant and bar were find.
Location: Cragside (NT) is a few minutes away and we spent a very interesting day there. Rothbury is an attractive village.
We spent two nights here visiting the national trust property Cragside and Northumbria - the location of the hotel was perfect. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Our room was rather dated (we understand it was due for renovation) but spacious, clean and comfortable. Minor issues with the heating and television were dealt with promptly. The outstanding feature of this hotel is its staff - hard working, charming and friendly. We met the owner, Lee, who told us of his plans for the future and we wish him every success.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by joy from Grimsby

Northumberland Getaway

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
We are a retired couple who stayed for 5 nights, excellent service, nothing too much trouble, food excellent had succulent steak evening meal 1st night, with live music played by man with guitar and singing. Breakfasts are good with very varied choices, help yourself to cereals -fresh fruit, juices tea/coffee etc. Hot breakfast of your choice ordered and cooked to your liking. The only thing to note is that there is no lift, and it is 3 storey, but very comfortable, there is outdoor garden to sit and drink if required. We visited lots of places ALNWICK Castle and gardens not to be missed, MORPETH great for shopping, the coastal run is great we went as far as a day at SEAHOUSES a great little port, and shops with tasty fish/chip resturants, reasonable parking rates. We also went to the sunday market at Amble keyside and had cream scone/tea in nearby café.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol.

Nice hotel, great Staff, beautiful countryside

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: The staff, setting and food.
Cons: Our rooms are in need of a little tlc.
Location: Alnwick castle, Warkworth Castle, Lindisfarne, Bamburgh castle. Crag side House.
Stayed 2 nights, room was spacious and clean. Ate at hotel restaurant. Very good. Staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly. They made it a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

nice hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Lovely refurbished resturant and bar area, and lovely food. Our room didn't have facilities to open the window and it became quite stuffy, also it was Fairly noisy as it was above the kitchen. There was a strong smell of food throughout the room which was quite off putting. The room was very spacious however. Apart from that, and quite thin walls our stay was enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Yogesh

Nice stopover spot in Rothbury

Posted Jan 2, 2013 on Hotels
Served the purpose of our visit. friendly staff and informal atmosphere. Floor boards in bedroom creaky and need attending to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ann and Stuart

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels
A huge, imposing building that has been very sensitively modernised inside. It's immaculately clean and everything you could want is there. Brilliant staff, relaxed and helpful. The Italian restaurant is a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham

A good night's stay.

Posted Aug 29, 2012
Pros: Relaxing - a lovely building
Cons: Hard bed
Location: Popular restaurant on site
Cleanliness Good, Very friendly staff, happy to help with anything. Lovely hotel, better than most we've stayed in. The bed was a little hard and was too small for my husband (he's over 6 foot). It was very hot in the loft room, but it was a hot day. We would recommend and return again if we are in the area. The restaurant was lovely and had a relaxing atmosphere. The food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Little Gem

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels
Really surprised at this lovely hotel - had expected nothing more than a bed for the night for the price but my wife and grandson experienced exceptional service in a generous family room with superb breakfast included. Really sorry didn't have time to try the Italian cuisine in the restaurent but we will definitely make a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2012 on Hotels