Ratings based on 2,031 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bishop, California

Very nice Hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Close to the marsh. Clean and comfortable.
Location: Easy walk to the marsh and a nice cafe.
We have wanted to stay at this hotel for many years. We had a very nice room that looked over the pool. Nice little patio of the room. Easy walk to the marsh to bird watch and eat at the Bayside Cafe. We would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Quiet beach hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Location was good, grounds were pretty, right on the beach but actual access to the beach was very limited. There was some construction going on so some of the places to sit and watch the view were off limits. Room was adiquate, but very dated and had a funny smell. The fiollowing morning could not find an available staff member to direct me to a good cup of coffee, and the complemenerty coffee on the lobby was empty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Cari, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. We love our guests and hope to see you back soon. So sorry about the coffee...I would have made up a pot just for you! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our room was like a sauna. They did provide a fan.

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: Ocean views
Cons: The temperatures in the room were horrific. No A.C. and the windows couldn't be opened due to no screens.
We had made reservations for dinner at the restaurant, only to discover the bar and the restaurant are all in one. The food was good, but not hot. Very limited menu was provided. When we ordered drinks, we were told that would be the last because all the liquor had been locked up and no one had the key. The best part of the stay was catching an amazing sunset from the bar windows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. We love our guests and hope to see you back soon. As you know you visited the coast during an extreme hot spell...not typical for Morro Bay. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morro Bay, CA.

Great location.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Great location and it’s nice to see there are renovations going on for this place was once and could still be the best place to stay in Morro Bay. Awesome views from our balcony and from the patio restaurant and dining patio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Charlie , Hotel Management
Dear Tab, It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and noticing the improvements! We are always working to improve our Inn. Love your pictures!!! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager Inn at Morro Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Ok accommodations

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Hotel shows it was remodeled/renovated but it was lacking in user friendliness and amenities. For the price you can more than likely find a nicer place to stay. Great view of Morro Bay and great location to SLO, Morro Bay and Hearst Castle. Not a bad place to stay but it needs a better upgrade from the recent remodel. I would only sort of recommend, we had a nice stay nonetheless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Doug, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. We love our guests and hope to see you back soon. Please note that we begin our room refresh this spring...great improvements coming soon. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice location, hotel is tired

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: more comfortable mattresses and no dogs, heard dogs barking
Location: good location
the hotel is locate in a great location but the hotel needs an update like more comfortable mattresses and new tile in the shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the historic Inn at Morro Bay. We strive to offer our guests the finest on the coast, and room renovations begin this winter! New beds and a bathroom renovation too! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager Inn at Morro Bay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel next to beach

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Paid extra to get a room next to water. Small room. Not enough towels. Cobb webs in the entrance. The rooms on the other side of the inn looked nicer from the outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. We strive to offer our guests the finest on the coast. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager Inn at Morro Bay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona CA

Nice view of the Rock

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: The location and proximity to town. The room towards the back of the property on the second floor was spacious.
Cons: The bed seems to be to hard. Maybe a little pest control.
Location: Morro Bay town is fun to walk. Hearst Castle is less than an hour north of Morro Bay and San Luis Obispo is 20-30 minutes east. Camria is also north.
We stayed here twice in the past week on our way to and from N. California. First night we had a room by the pool. The advantage is that the room is a few steps from the pool. The room, however, is smaller than other rooms that we have had at this property in the past. We also had an issue with ants that got into our snack bag and were found on the coffee maker tray. The room on the return trip was second floor towards the back of the property and it was 2x the size of the first room. It also has a fireplace and a deck looking out towards the rock. The only issue was the coffee maker stopped working after 1 cup of coffee. I understand that equipment in rooms take a beating at times, and the first cup of coffee was good. The location is great as it is across the road from a golf course and a few minute drive into town. There is an easy walk to the bay and the a small museum. The beds seem harder than I remember during a visit a couple of years ago. Also be sure to ask for a fan on hot days, especially if you are on the bottom floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Wayne, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager Inn at Morro Bay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from corrales NM

Nice Hotel. Rooms very with location and price

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Have stayed here for many years. Disappointed this stay with small room. No fireplace and parking lot view. Enjoyed the environment- birds, State park nearby & restaurant ‘s extended happy hour available for sunset viewing this time of year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Gail, Thank you for your recent return stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. Great pictures! We love our guests and hope to see you back soon. Please ask for a room with fireplace and view next visit...we aim to please! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel...such a great place to get back to nature and we love the birds too! Just a note...we are hosting the Winter Bird Festival this January! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We only stayed one night, but it was very nice.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
It is located within a State Park, so the grounds around the area are beautiful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon...and stay a bit longer next time too! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager Inn at Morro Bay