Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

The old hotel with old furniture

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: The view from the window is amazing. You may see Ostankino tv tower. Very close to metro.
Cons: More receptionists. New furniture.
Location: You may visit https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VDNKh_(Russia)
Stayed for 2 nights. Everything is very old. Carpet on the floor, furniture, windows... Was cold in the room. (December) It is only 3 *.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel needs renovation

Posted Dec 3, 2016
This hotel is nice located and has great views but room number is not that comfortable: bathroom has no hair dryer and other hygiene stuff, now water bottles and bed is too hard. I liked breakfast good choice of food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Moscow trip

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Only its location
Cons: Literally everything in this hotel has an enormous room for improvement: literally from drive-in to check-out.
Location: No decent cafes & restaurants within walking distance. The hotel houses 2-3 restaurants, disco-club, gentlemen's (strip) club & 2 concert halls
The only good things about this hotel are its location & its history (kinda legendary Soviet-era hotel). Rooms themselves and room facilities are decrepit and worn out quite a bit. Doors, when shut, shake if hall door opens/shuts or that of your neighbor rooms. Beds, pillows, mattresses are old, you can actually sense and feel their ancient age. Horrible WiFi internet, though devices show strong signal the actual internet speed is horrible (it should be a shame for such so-called legendary hotel). Unless your check-in/check-out times are early in the morning or late in the evening be ready for quite a queue to check-in/out. Overall feeling: owners must be so greedy that they don't invest at all even in room maintenance, not to mention renovation. Because of its location and proximity to Exhibition center the hotel enjoys high occupancy rate, so the owners don't care at all about customers, since this hotel is the only one within walking distance to Exhibition center.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel with plenty of restaurants and facilities
Cons: Wifi spotty at best. Bed not comfortable. No AC control in room. It is hot most of the day and you need to open the window to cool the room in the winter.
Location: Near metro station. Exhibition center and park. Cosmos museum. Nothing else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

The Hotel definitely demands to be renovated.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: there is a beautiful location, but it doesn't cover the quality of old Hotel.
Cons: That must be completely renovated.
Location: There are a lot of spots worth enough to be visited. The most popular is the Exhibit of National Economy and more other.
There wasn't electricity on time of arrival and we had to wait for a few hours just in order to get check in. Moreover, we had to get our luggage on third floor (the reception location) as the elevator was blocked by power absence. Finally we got a dirty and badly equipped room. The five other rooms that was suggested instead were in the same condition. So, I preferred to loose the money for planned ten days staying and move to other hotel, that completely satisfied me for the same price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Go Somewhere Other Than at The COSMOS

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location. In northeast Moscow convenient to the All-Russian Exhibition Center, Stalin's World's Fair. Also a Metro subway station across the street.
Cons: Room-controlled a/c temp which works! Until they fix that don't stay there. Their front desk staff could learn a little about Customer Service.
Location: Mentioned earlier. The Metro will get you downtown in about 20 minutes and is an attraction in it's own right. Historic exhibition center nearby.
Had stayed there 20 years ago. The place wasn't great then and has generally gone down hill. It's a cheap place to stay, but "cheap" has two meanings. Typical Stalin-era service with documentation required to go almost anyplace in the hotel. Buffet breakfast was decent for a shabby hotel. Reminded me of a military mess hall. Outside was hot about 90+F while there. Yet the central air conditioning not controlled in the room except via an open window only ran when it wanted to apparently after gaining approval from the People's Commissar of Comfort (or lack thereof) somewhere in The Kremlin. Forget ordering room service unless you have Rubles in the room. Room was uncomfortably hot most of the time. Worst was checkout. When I asked for a paid bill making sure no surprise charges later, the front desk clerk speaking crude English at best demanded Rubles to pay for hotel Internet access via their Intourist office the previous day. I dug out and showed him the paid receipt for that connection. Speaking in Russian with another front desk clerk, he still needed 10 minutes to let me go! If you're into it, prostitutes roam freely among the lobby and bars late at night. Some were really cute! Wonder how often they are checked for VD?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very Nice .. Important to read

Posted Jul 31, 2016
I would like to start my review by denying all other negative comments that talk about dirty rooms and dirty atmosphere .. My general comments about my stay ( 5 nights x 3 suite rooms ) there is : 1) great building .. very nice lobby 2) reception staff were tough and never smile especially the old aged ladies .. not once .. everytime 3) rooms was nice .. clean .. homemade staff very nice 4) alot of bars and restaurants inside .. club .. karaoke.. bet club .. which means you don't need to go out of hotel sometimes 5) I pay alot for parking my car while I had 3 suites reserved .. we shouldn't pay for parking .. or at least lower the price .. I don't need to pay everytime I go out .. one fixed price for all day 6) moscow is full of beautiful girls .. and if you are there girls will be friendly to you and try to talk to you and some of them for sex and that's not only in this hotel .. it's everywhere .. but management control it in a very good way that they don't allow them to pass security line to guest rooms unless you want it 7) machines for snacks and drinks everywhere in floors . So in general am very satisfied but I wish they can fix my negative comments especially reception should always smile whatever the customer need .. and the parking Goodluck
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Worst - the hordes of Cinese mainlander tourists and the lumpy thin mattress. The best - reception gave me a great room with a view, breakfast, and the abundance of facilities such as Intourist and restaurants and bars - the latter convenient but pricey.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2016
i dident like this hotel and i think you chit me with photos becuse i reserved king bed room but my room was not king, cleaning was so bad. stafs dident know english. . .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weehawken NJ

Posted May 17, 2016
Cons: There was no temperature control in the room. It got pretty warm at times. All you could do was open the window, and it only opened a little way.
BIG hotel. It had everything. Free breakfast was also BIG, and amazingly good. Glad I stayed here.