Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Right next to Red Square with plenty of food.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Great location and plenty to do nearby. The hotel is a lilt old but well kept and the staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

At the heart of it all

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Can't beat the location - 1 minute walk to the Red Square and Kremlin, 2 min walk to Bolshoi Theater, 2 min walk to Metro, 1 min to the restaurants, it is all there. Attentive staff, clean and shiny. The rooms are a bit on the smaller side, but not by much. A great hotel with much history.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near red square

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The room was fine, but the view was not, second floor facing building roof. I thought that I paid for a better one
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

location LOCATION amazing

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Very good you can move arround pretty much the most important thing from us the red Square, the gum mall, st. Basil church!!! ! The hotel the beds are super comfortables, really nice view to revolution square from are room!! clean!! And some the staff really nice!! Only thing people in the city not all speak english but definelly stay again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston, Massachusetts

A magic place of Russian hospitality .........

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: everything especially wet sauna , fit room , pool , lobby lounge area , room service decor well done classic daily weather report and choclate on pw
Cons: perhaps restore the library and reading room ...........otherwise great and terrific ..........
Location: perfect location on the train at front door of hotel to connect to the garden ring...for a self tour , pushkin museet , bolshoi center , great seasona
Upon arrival from the doormen to the bellhop i felt very special and welcome to this historic architectural gem in Red Square and Kremlin. I had a bad cold and the agent at desk sent up tea with honey and lemon....I expect to visit Moscow again and this wonderful place and wonderfull staff far exceeded my expectations as a visitor to this part of the world that i knew nothing about but came away pleased by my visit . I look forward to being a guest soon
4 out of 5
by Wakim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
They pretended in reception that do not know about "the room with the view to Kremlin"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eat Location. Right beside Red square.

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: As above.
Cons: The whole billing system when you have to change dates. I booked with breakfast included and the hotel said it wasn't. Not earth shattering though.
Location: As above
I like staying in this authentic Russian Hotel. Make sure you get breakfast included in your deal as having breakfast in the dining room is a real treat. The staff are all lovely and have a great grasp of English. This is my second stay and this hotel and when I go back it will be my third time I have stayed there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yerevan, Armenia

Perfect host to get to know Moscow

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Location: It is all there. The perfect location to visit the main points of interest, shopping locations and, of course, the Kremlin.
I had a 2-day trip to Moscow with my wife (her first time in Moscow). I wanted to show her the city and chose Metropol because of the location and the style of the interiors resembling old Empire palaces. It was a good shot, as the whole atmosphere, the friendly and helpful staff and the comfortable rooms made the trip as successful as it could be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Stylish hotel in great position

Posted Dec 4, 2016
The hotel is within very easy walking distance of the Kremlin, Red Square, and the Bolshoi Theatre, which is why we chose it. It's also close the the metro. There is lots to do in the vicinity. We went to the opera and the ballet, walked to the Tretyakov gallery, St Basil's Cathedral etc. The rooms are spacious and warm. The hotel bar and restaurant are first class, and the staff are friendly and helpful and have excellent language skills.